We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Tower Hotel
Ranked #387 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home in NYC”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and keep coming back. Love the neighborhood love the staff and keep returning. I want a place to sleep and be comfortable when I come to NYC. I am out and about in the city. If I wanted "luxury " I would stay home. THe price is right - convenient and kindness is the best part. Will be back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnadenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    219
    200
    73
    93
See reviews for
188
127
78
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill on Sea, UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel is in need of total modernisation.... but were that to happen, you would be paying two or three times as much. Okay, it's basic and looks like it hasn't been modernised since the Great Depression, but the plus side is it's cheap by New York standards, clean, the beds are comfortable and it's warm. Bathrooms are a bit quirky forming a connection between two bedrooms in a 'suite'

It's a nice location in a safe and affluent neighbourhood. 79th Street Subway station (Line 1) is less than five minutes walk and the American Natural History Museum less than ten. There are various shops, bars and delis two blocks away on Broadway.

If you want to get out and explore the Big Apple, it's ideal if you just want somewhere to sleep without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My best friend and I just stayed here overnight on 10/23/13. We read many reviews so we knew what to expect. We actually went with very low expectations so what we found was probably better than what we had imagined. Your options here are a single room or a "suite" which is two single rooms joined by a small bathroom containing a stand up shower and a toilet. Each room has it's own sink basin. The location of the hotel is very good. The nearest subway stop is at West 79th St. and a very short walk away. Central Park is just a couple blocks away as well. We had breakfast at nearby Zabars a block away. The hotel is a 17 story narrow building with only a handful of rooms on each floor. You enter a very small lobby where there are one or two people seated at a desk. They are dressed very casually and most appear to be college aged students. There are two TINY elevators in this lobby. They are so small, it's actually funny. We stayed on the 11th floor and on our first trip down, our elevator stopped at the 8th floor and two men got on. I have no idea how the 4 of us fit in there but we did. The rooms themselves would remind you of really old dorm rooms. I'm assuming that all single rooms have a twin bed because our suite had a single in the one room and a double bed in the other BUT the double bed took up a good portion of the room and covered the door to the room. You can see this in some of the pictures attached to tripadvisor. So, whoever stays in that side of the suite has no choice but to come and go from the other room. This is something to keep in mind if both people in hour party wish to come and go separately. The twin size bedroom also had a trundle bed underneath it so you could put another person in there. There'd be no room to walk if you did that. You'd have to slide down to the end of the beds to get to the bathroom and you'd have to put the trundle bed away to get out the door. I'm not sure but I'm guessing this hotel does not meet fire codes with the blocked door situation in the one room and the potential to block the other door with the trundle bed. The bedding was clean and we did a thorough search for bedbugs and found nothing. The comfort of the bed was ok, not great but after a long day of walking all over the city, we didn't care. Everything is very dated in the room and you can tell that there are many layers of paint on the walls and in the bathroom. The shower had a very weak stream so it was hard to rinse your hair. Although it appeared to have been cleaned, we were hesitant to step in it because it was just so old. We opted to put a hand towel down to stand on. Bring flip flops if you remember. But the water was hot so that's good. You can hear other people in the hotel very easily. There were people next to us that we could hear when we went to sleep but we were so tired, we didn't care.
The price is right here. You aren't going to find a price this good in a nice location anywhere else in the city. If you can handle the tiny space and the items I described above, you'll be fine. There is a TV in each room. They are small and mine seemed to have a couple of colors missing in the picture but that wasn't a big deal. We mostly wanted a safe place to sleep and keep our things while we shopped and walked around. The Riverside worked for us and I think it would work for many. We were able to laugh about some of it. Others that have a taste for only the high end things in life would not do well here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyD518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Riverside Tower Hotel is in an affluent residential area on the upper West side looking over the Hudson River.

We were travelling as 2 couples in mid August and when we were looking for NYC accommodation on our £50 per couple per night budget, the next cheapest options were literally in the basements of Chinese restaurants, so to see this at such a good price, above ground, with a view and separate bedrooms for us instead of 2 beds in the same room, it seemed definitely worth the risk.

As mentioned, this hotel is in a good residential area, with 2 streets of really nice bars to serve everyone's tastes and pockets and the best supermarket - Zabar's - we've ever been in. We felt really safe walking around at night and the locals were actually pretty friendly despite the NYC cliches. You can even join them, for a jog along the riverside or in the park where everyone walks their dogs.

The compromise for the price was really just that the hotel was very, very basic and the rooms were small. But you're in New York - why are you staying in? We took heed of the notice in the foyer to make sure doors were locked and valuables stowed away, as the security was literally just a person on reception who did not check if you were a resident or not, so could have been anyone. The locks on the doors were basically like the push button, round handled toilet door locks. The bedrooms had their own TVs, fantastic views of the river and New Jersey, and a shared toilet and shower between the 2 bedrooms - we were in a 4 person suite.
We were within walking distance of Central Park where we had breakfast each day, sometimes eating the goods from Zabar's, and the tour bus route stopped really close by too so it was effectively our taxi for the days.

If you are on a budget and planning on going out exploring, and maybe not leaving diamond jewellery or computers in your bedroom, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Good location
Friendly staff
Very very cheap
Brilliant view

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank murraym00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I come to New York often. It is an expensive city. Gone are the days where I want to call room service and be pampered while in bed, while there are so many nice restaurants in the area, spas, coffee shops, clothing stores along Broadway nearby. The location is amazing with lots of history along Riverside Road, beautiful monuments. There is a cafe coming downstairs, you can get some really nice treats and coffee. I met the new owner of the cafe very nice lady. I endorse this hotel completely. For a sensible person who understands the value of today's dollar this place is great. I was not noisy when I was there, but for $1.99 you can buy earplugs and you would need them at Trump, Hilton or Plaza just the same. Riverside area is quiet with not so much traffic and lights coming into your room.

Room Tip: look for the suites, more room for you they start at $139 a night, you get two rooms and bathroom in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girlonadolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
636 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#319 of 467 in New York City
1,536 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#300 of 467 in New York City
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 467 in New York City
843 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#393 of 467 in New York City
1,608 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#430 of 467 in New York City
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Tower Hotel

Property: Riverside Tower Hotel
Address: 80 Riverside Dr, New York City, NY 10024-5725
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Tower Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Tower Hotel New York City
Riverside Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing