We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Riverside Towers Hotel Today”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Tower Hotel
Ranked #388 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    216
    195
    72
    92
See reviews for
179
126
79
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Rooms are tiny. There's a cheap looking desk and a mini-fridge at the bottom of your bed; your bed is not against the wall and there is no headboard. There is no hairdryer, iron, or ironing board in your room.

The room was basically clean, but the lobby was another story. The ceilings were dirty with mildew, paint was chipped, fixtures were rusty. The whole place exuded a strange smell. You are at pain to fit more than two people in the extremely sketchy elevators.

At the end of the day, if you are a young traveler looking to save money, and a private bathroom is a must for you (as it is for me), then you might consider this place. I would be mortified to recommend this to anyone, however, and certainly would NEVER let my parents or anyone I cared about stay here. I saw an old couple and a mother with a teenage daughter and I just felt sorry for them. I don't know how this place has a 3-star average; it is a total dive, and a rip-off at $150/night including taxes, even in NYC.

Note: I did find street parking after driving around for ten minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
6 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Riverside Tower Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
You have selected the wrong hotel. You are a superior person that belongs in a luxury hotel like the Waldorf Astoria where you can have exactly what you desire for $500 or more per night.

We have rooms for ordinary, normal people that are satisfied to stay with us and pay only $129 a night. Such people give us good reviews for every category.

Don Lewis, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Yes, the room was small, but for father/daughter on a budget in NYC for 3 nights, it was great! Clean room, clean tiled shower, fridge, tv, microwave, wi-fi in lobby and maybe on lower floors. It was close to the subway (1 train). The staff was pleasant and helpful. They are clearly in the process of making building improvements. If you just need a place to crash and clean up, the place is currently excellent value!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Riverside Tower Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
You are our ideal guest. You fit our profile. Thank you so very much for your kind review.

Don Lewis, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for..a room with a bed to sleep in. Tiny elevator, tiny room, very very very old, sorely in need if renovation. Wore my flipflops in the shower it was so bad. If all you need is a place to lay your head, it's ok. Great location. In the middle of the night we heard a fight in the room next door where a man was screaming out "I should kill him, no, I should kill YOU". He stormed out and left.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clearlakelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Me and my boyfriend wanted a room for privacy ;) last minute and at the time I thought I was lucky to book the Riverside Tower until we got there It was $185 for 1 night and let me tell you it was certainly not worth the price at all! I rather stay at the super 8 in queens or a holiday inn for around the same price point. The location is riverside drive which is a more quiet area, i'm glad it was, because the room and the hotel scared me.. We had the "suite" I think on the 12th floor which has 2 tiny adjoining rooms. Awkward layout- We had 2 beds, one room with a twin and a one with a full with a miniature bathroom in between. The shower you couldn't turn your body it was so claustrophobic. There were 2 sinks in each actual room but not the bathroom. The sinks were from the 60's or 70's.. The bedding is the cheap and scratchy kind although I checked and did not appear to be dirty or have bed bugs ( I didn't get bit) The tv in the room is a joke it's basic cable 13 channels max but it's not the room for that kind of entertainment I guess (so I wouldn't recommend for families unless you literally need a place to sleep and don't mind the layout or lack of decor) The TV set in the main bigger room was unplugged on a unusable dresser directly behind the bed. The closet has a filthy dusty old AC unit so you couldn't hang a coat or it would touch it. The walls are pretty thin because when someone opened the door it seemed like they were opening ours. I woke up in the middle of the night paranoid because the door looked so cheap like someone could open it with a knife or something. The guy at reception was not friendly at all by the way..The carpet in the hallways smelled moldy. The room itself didn't smell however. The only good things about the Riverside Tower are the location (although i'm not a huge fan of mom and pop stores that are in the area) the fridge/ microwave in the room,(we just used the fridge) and the excellent view from our room. I wouldn't stay again overall, not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steph101NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family of four stayed at this hotel the week before Christmas and loved it. We also had friends traveling with us (they had their own room). I cannot stress enough that this is a BUDGET hotel. While I tried to explain to our friends (who are not usually a "budget" travelers) what to expect, at check-in I had felt like I failed them. This place is small. The lobby is cramped, the elevator is super slow and old. The rooms are tiny but clean. Our friends compared it to a "pay by the hour motel." I wouldn't quite take it that far but it is an old, out-dated building. If you enjoy hotel decor (sarcasm) do not stay here. Expect your shower to go from hot to cold to hot again during a 10 minute shower. Do not wake up and expect free coffee and stale pastries. There will be none of that.

What you will get is friendly, helpful staff who seem to enjoy conversing with excited tourists. You will get a great location and everything you need just a short walk away. Riverside Park right across the street is great for families who need a break from bus riding, subway catching, and other exhausting activities.

Our kids 6 and 8, had a blast and wanted to live there. We stayed in suite and the kids had their own room and loved the trundle bed (a novelty for them). Our friends ended up loving the hotel purely based on location and they have pledged to stay there when they visit NYC again. Bottom line, there is not a more affordable option in a better location in all of Manhattan. And if there is, we will never experience it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank katiehbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trenton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel was in a previous life dorms for Columbia University. The rooms are small, very small, like dorm rooms in the '60's. The location is EXCELLENT. New York is at your finger tips. Walk to the Met through Central Park. Get to the subway. Shopping. Restaurants. Walk through Riverside Park. Overlooks the Hudson and New Jersey. This is a place where your living is outside. The room is only for sleeping. Yes, I'll go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnagTrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#390 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Tower Hotel

Property: Riverside Tower Hotel
Address: 80 Riverside Dr, New York City, NY 10024-5725
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Tower Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Riverside Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Tower Hotel New York City
Riverside Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing