We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #183 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire,UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel”
Reviewed April 1, 2007

We stayed here for three nights around the end of March.
The style is a mixture of contemporary and art deco and manages to convey a feeling of understated class with a relaxed atmosphere.
We stayed on the fifteenth floor and had a view out onto 7th Avenue. Plenty of hustle and bustle going on outside 24/7 but we were never disturbed by this as the soundproofing is excellent.
The staff were very friendly and our maid even left us a thankyou note for the tip we left her each day.
The location is excellent for the Broadway theatres along with plenty of restaurants and shops. The Olive Garden is right underneath the hotel (hotel starts on 2nd floor) and there is a great juice bar called Jambas next door.
Also handy is the main stop for the Gray Line open top bus tours (just across the street). We found this very handy for seeing pretty much the whole of Manhattan in a short period. The subway station is also next door.
The Rockefeller Center is a couple of blocks away, so is easily walkable. The Top of the Rock is a must-do visit.
All-in-all we found our stay very enjoyable with the hotel providing a comfortable and friendly stay with a touch of class in a great central location.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of drawer space
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    800
    220
    63
    34
See reviews for
695
696
67
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2007

This property was centrally located in Times Square and the rooms were nice. The beds were very comfortable. They hotel also carried the LATHER products, which smell great. I was a little disappointed as this hotel is advertised to be a 4 star. It is not. This is your typical 3 star hotel with nice amenities and nicer rooms. This is a smaller hotel and the staff was not as attentive as you would expect for a hotel of this size. The location was nice but when you are in NY, you really don’t spend that much time in Times Square. Overall, the hotel was nice, clean, and in a good location. I would recommend it for visitors.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank jnwhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2007

My Mum, sister and I stayed here at the beginning of March. I'm very fussy about were I stay and we weren't disappointed by the Renaissance. It's right in the middle of Times Square (just behind the big Coca-Cola sign) but don't let that put you off because it's so quiet.
The concierge staff were extremely helpful and all of the staff courteous and friendly. The rooms were really clean and the bathrooms were big and airy.
The only thing I would say is that the hotel is going to be refurbished starting March and ending sometime in August. The plans were on show in the foyer of the hotel and it's going to be quite modern - quite a difference from what it's like now. All the rooms will have flat screen tv's, new beds etc so I'm sure it's going to be nice.
If you want to stay in a hotel that's right in the middle of things then this is it. The breakfast is great and the location is excellent. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Maura3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

This hotel was in a great location for all of the activities we had planned. The subway stop is close and we were within walking distance of our Broadway play and the Rockefeller Center. The concierge was great. Omar was there through the week and he gave us wonderful suggestions. The weekend staff was also great and gave us good information about weekend construction on the subway and which cars to get on to get to the south ferry exit. Checkin was fun with Eric waiting on us, he had a wonderful attitude and sense of humor. The room was bigger than we expected for New York and quieter than we expected. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was very clean. All in all it was a great experience and we can't wait to go back.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
13 Thank buggy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2007

Plus
- Location is the best. Hotel is close to everything.
- Room is surprisingly quiet given how busy the location is.
- Complimentary buffet per my Marriott Platinum status was excellent with unbelievable view!

Minus
- Our room is very dated. Wear and tear are everywhere.
- Bellboys and all guys downstair were helpless. I had about 5 bags checked in before my ride came and picked me up. No one downstair offered me any help (not even catching the door) and I had to make multiple trips coming in and out the door with all guys just looking at me. It was horrible.
- We had to ride two elevators to get to our room. Just found that inconvenient.
- Front desk promised to bring us a fridge... it never came.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank napawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2007

The room was not a big as I would have expected but was fine. The bed was the star attraction, one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. We had requested a high floor and therefore had no noise distractions for an excellent nights sleep.
As the hotel has an ecellent location we were able to walk everywhere around mid-town manhattan. A good nights sleep was much appreciated.

I was disapointed with the quality of the towels in the restroom. They were old and shabby and I expected better for this quality of hotel. Perhaps I was misled by a website review that stated the restrooms had "Body Shop" bath products. They were NOT body shop and not high quality by any means.

The bar maid in the hotel bar was not very friendly. The concierge were excellent. Omar's recommendations made my holiday special.
Check-in and check-out was fast and without any hassle.
Overall I felt the hotel was quite nice with a good location but for the price paid, the little extras can make the difference and these were lacking. I will try some other hotel next time in New York.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
14 Thank flexjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We stayed at the Renaissance Times Square for 1 night in Feb.'07. Everything at the hotel is great from front desk to wait staff at their restaurant Foley's.

Location--absolutely the best ! The hotel is right at Times Square. Tons of restaurants are within walking distance, as well as the theatres for shows. We took a taxi to get to Little Italy/Chinatown in downtown, total taxi fare is $12 incl. tips. Also we walked 10 blocks up to FAO Swartz toy store and got some really good toys there that weren't found in other places. On the way back to the Renaissance from FAO Swartz, we stopped at the huge Catholic church (sorry forgot the name already). The hotel is only 2 blocks to the Rock. center and NBC studios. We walked there a couple times and had a good time there.

Food--we went to Foley's for breakfast. The whole restaurant has got a full view of the Times Square so it doesn't matter where your table is. Breakfast is buffet style, our server Samuel is great. Coffee is delicious there as well as the fresh orange juice. Food is good in quality, we loved the smoked salmon, hash brown with sun-dried tomatoes, lean bacon, sausage, as well as plenty of fresh fruits such as strawberries, watermelon......very yummy and healthy start of a day. Price is around $23/pp, half price for kids.

The hotel itself is great in general. Small lobby but who wants to sit in the lobby when you're at Times Square?! Our room is very clean, quiet, with marble bathroom. We got a nice sized room with 2 double beds, a sofa chair, an executive desk, tv.....very nice size based on our previous stays at other hotels in NYC. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank rachel2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#272 of 468 in New York City
4,180 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#184 of 468 in New York City
10,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#177 of 468 in New York City
7,828 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#57 of 468 in New York City
3,156 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing