We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #156 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Me and wife stayed here in June while attending a big fight at the Garden. Hotel is located in the heart of Times Square with everything within walking distance. Front desk staff was great. The R Lounge is a nice place to have a drink while enjoying a great view of Times Square. Will return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gthomas108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    718
    178
    51
    29
See reviews for
610
628
61
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is right in Times Square - great if you want the activity of Times Square, bad if you want to sleep. Not uncommon to hear street musicians and people yelling until 1 or 2 in the morning.

A bit unusual, and at times frustrating, is that you must take two elevators to reach your room. An elevator from the main lobby, up to another 'lobby' where the bar(s) are located. Then switch elevators to reach your room. Gets a bit tiresome if you are there for an extended stay as I have been.

The best feature is certainly the bar. It has large picture windows and it looks right into Times Square. Even if you have been to NYC a bunch and don't like the 'tourist' scene, this bar is still worth a visit!

Overall, a properly priced stay in Times Square - just be ready for the noise and somewhat limited amenities.

Room Tip: Get a high floor, facing away from Times Square if you want a quiet night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emergingdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

If you're looking for the buzz of New York City at it's highest pitch, this is the place for you. I loved that I was steps from TKTS for theatre tickets. We enjoyed a wonderful stay there recently. As a platinum rewards member, they put us on the top floor in a fantastic room. We had no problems with noise, although of course there was a lot of light from Time Square. Overall, it was a fantastic hotel, good staff, great location.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on a high floor, it makes a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cposso1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I were on our honeymoon while staying here and received a bottle of champagne and strawberries dipped in chocolate on arrival which was lovely. The hotel itself looks lovely but once getting into our hotel room it is much more older looking and not as clean as we'd like. The staff were pleasant but not overly friendly. The view from our room was directly onto Times Square (or part of). We weren't overly impressed by the hotel, especially for the price we were paying but I guess thats what you'll pay when staying in a city centre.

Room Tip: We weren't too impressed with our room, it wasn't as clean as we'd like it and it was ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel to celebrate your honeymoon. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your champagne amenity. We appreciate your feedback and are always looking for ways to improve the services and amenities in the hotel. Thank you again for posting about your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Love this place. Everyone is so nice and helpful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The beds are awesome. Feather pillows and comforter. You sleep like a baby. The restaurant overlooks Times Square and has a complimentary breakfast for Elite members and a free appetizer at night. The concierge is awesome - gave us some great advice! Located on Times Square the location is superb. However it is pricey but you only live once.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

While it may be a bit pricey, this hotel is an absolutely amazing place to stay. Very friendly staff, clean, spacious rooms, and the whole hotel is styled uniquely without being pretentious. There is also a bar called the R Lounge in the hotel which faces right out onto Times Square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed two nights at this great hotel. Perfect location for the theater district. We saw two different shows at two different theaters and never walked more than 8 minutes. Great view of Broadway from our room. Rooms were clean and bathroom was large - huge shower. Only thing to remember - if you like liquid body soap - take your own. They don't supply it; they only provide a small yucky bar of soap that takes forever to rinse off your skin. The R lounge was a great way to grab a quick snack and have an amazing view of Times Square.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor. You can also ask for a room that faces Broadway for a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredteacher00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#202 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,414 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#149 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,836 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#265 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#50 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,405 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,902 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#37 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel housed in 1930s building, located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing