We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #175 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Bang in the middle of Times Square!
Views from bedroom & iconic 'R lounge' look right onto Times Square.! Good size rooms, incredibly comfortable, stylish, all mod cons; what more could you ask for? Had to pay extra for room wi-fi but we took the upgrade which included free buffet breakfast in R Lounge (eggs, toast, cereal etc)which was worth doing & reasonable. Did I mention the R lounge looks right onto Times Square?! We ate our breakfast in style each morning while surveying all that is Times Square rolling by.
You have to see it to believe it! Having been an avid 'all things New York' fan for most of my life, I saw New York up close from the Renaissance as never before and love it more than ever as a result! I know I'm gushing but I make no apologies; if you want to see the Big Apple in all it's glory; stay at the Rennaisance. It's stylish, friendly & RIGHT ON TIMES SQUARE! (Did I already say that?)
Obviously if you don't like noise & big crowds you might not want to stay on Times Square, go to the West village but if you really don't like noise...what are you doing in New York?! For central location, comfort & style the Rennaisance cannot be beaten. I will definitely be going there again!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor to avoid noise. We stayed on the 22nd floor which was as quiet as a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 781Pinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    806
    222
    63
    34
See reviews for
701
700
68
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

great location if you're up for Times Sq - good view of same from the bar.
freaky biomorphic decorating theme in the lobby
very comfortable rooms
concierge very helpful for the one question I had
cost of room, drinks consistent with location

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank conradical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice. Fantastic location in the heart of Times Square. Amazing bar that looks out over the square, great drinks, service and views. Rooms are quiet considering all the noise outside. The rooms and bathrooms are large and clean. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Its nice to be right on time square to get in and out from the crowd. It gets crowded around 7PM. What I really liked is that you walk in, check-in and then up to the next level to the Lobby where you have the bar and restaurant. Its quiet. The room 507 had good view on Broadway with the lights and adds. The room was clean. Nice large shower. Comfy bed. WiFi not free, its $16 to get it for 24hrs. One thing some hotels are careful for is to put family and kids-babies on a same floor. Renaissance is not. We had baby twins on our floor, no older than 2 yrs old, screeming from 6am through 9h30am. We should not have to live this in vacation. I'm taking a star off just for that. At $350 a night I understand its a good location but Kids floor and adults floor! Other thing. Check your bills. At check out I had a $40 Lounge meal. We didn't eat at the lounge nor the breakfast. At check out she said it happens once in a while that people charge to the wrong room! I travel a lot I never had this issue elsewhere! Restaurants around are crowded too. If you walk down some street not too fare you will discover nice little restaurants with very good food. The crowd is just eating on 7th and Broadway in very commercial restaurants like HardRock Cafe. Its convenient to go downtown too from 42nd street taking line 2 or 3 to Fulton for 2.75$. There are at Fulton st and Pearl there are nice restaurants the historic district. Or to park Place to go to ground zero. Airport taxi drive to Newark airport about 45 minutes was $80 + all other charges and tips. $105.

Room Tip: We liked 507 or the next ones 509... we have a view on Broadway a little blocked by a huge advertise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for discovering the Renaissace New York Times Square Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location, view from the room, and other hotel amenities. I sincerely apologize for your noisy neighbors and error on your bill. I shared your feedback with the department managers to avoid future issues of this nature. We value your feedback and hope to have you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great location, comfortable bed, no noise from street, and excellent lounge. But how does a hotel of this caliber run out of in room coffee packets? We stayed three nights and on our first morning there were 4 packets of coffee to enjoy, on the second morning there were only 2 (1 cup each is not enough after a New York night). We asked housekeeping for more and were told they were running low. We also asked the front desk and were told that some would be brought up, but it never happened. And then on our last morning, we noticed that when the room was made the day before we had no coffee. Brought a 5 star rating down to a 3.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccmckn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear about the coffee in your room. We have taken the necessary steps to make sure this doesn't happen again. We would love to treat you to a complimentary cup of coffee in our R Lounge overlooking Times Square on your next visit. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We checked into the Times Square Renaissance mid afternoon on the Fourth of July, probably the busiest day of the year in NYC. The staff was so accommodating, never showing a sign frustration or impatience, in spite of or large party and the never ending line of guests.

They even gave us directions to the best place in the city to watch fireworks. The rooms were incredible, with only the finest amenities and linens available.

When we checked out, we had some time to kill before our train, so the staff offered to keep our luggage at the hotel until we were ready. All in all an excellent trip at an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryNigRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a flight that got cancelled so we decided to head into the city, spend the night and continue our flight plans the next day. After a frustrating day of sitting around at the airport, we were delighted to arrive at the check-in desk at the Renaissance. We were greeted by several very friendly attendants who checked us in, made us dinner reservations and called a local clothing store on the square to see what time they were open til that evening - since we didn't have our luggage and needed to buy clothes. The hotel lobby was an oasis and a welcomed place to rest after the hustle and bustle of Times Square. Our room was perfect - updated modern decor, comfortable bed and spotless. Breakfast the next morning at the restaurant on site was very good and wait staff was attentive. We will stay at the Renaissance TS again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DukeAndLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#264 of 466 in New York City
4,211 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#182 of 466 in New York City
10,592 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 466 in New York City
7,901 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,169 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#174 of 466 in New York City
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#109 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing