We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location with nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #182 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at the 22th floor. The room is very nice and spacious. Bathroom is also very good with a bit inflexible adjustment of hot/cold water.

The bed is also to my liking, firm but soft. They also provided quite a number of pillows, albeit of small sizes. :)

The breakfast was really average in selection, though the pancake was quite delicious. However the restaurant is facing the Times Square which is quite a view in the morning. (I was welcomed with NYC's summer mild thunderstorm for three days).

The location is the real advantage here. It's very near to the centre of Times Square and Broadway, so you'll have (too) many options in your activity just near the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ign_Kristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,391)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 2,391 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for three nights in June. It’s a bit of a mixed bag impression. Overall, hotel is clean, rooms are nice, beds comfortable. Front desk staff, very nice, polite and quite helpful.
We had room on the top floor, there wasn’t much of a view, but “this is New York”. Location is absolutely crazy with thousands of people walking, total traffic chaos and gridlock. It depends what you you’re looking for, you’ll either love it or hate it.

Few comments.

This is not your typical “Renaissance Marriott”, there is no concierge floor or lounge. Their “R Lounge” becomes breakfast area for elite members in the morning and they give coupon for one free snack/meal item in the evening. So, you have to buy overpriced drink from the bar. As we were party of three, I asked for extra coupons and got one more. Our waiter who could barely speak English was coming to us every minute asking if we’re ready to order. But he was quick to point that our coupons are valid only for snack/bite items. Then, he tried to convince me that for crabcakes we need two coupons as they are “expensive”. Being told to call manager, he quickly retreated and made us a “favor” by taking two coupons for two orders of crabcakes. For three drinks and one food item I paid around $50. I think a bit of way too much, but again… this is New York… :-)

I tried to use their touch screen Sony Vaio computers in the lobby, and after few minutes was ready to smash them, as touch keyboards are “kinky” producing five characters on a single touch. If you need to print tickets or something, you need to email file to concierge.

At the last day they accommodated our request for the late checkout, for which we’re very grateful.

Overall impression: it’s not so bad, depending on your expectations. If you want to be in the whirlwind of the Times Square, you’ll love it. If not, look for some more quiet property.

Room Tip: We were facing 7th avenue and I think other side is nicer.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Igor_E_211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel! Have stayed here several times while traveling on business. Location is great! Staff is extremely attentive, comfortable rooms and great view from the restaurant in the lobby level. Will be returning this year again...reservations already made!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank OTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

amazing location, great tall black glassed building, amazing view very disappointing inside.. unprofessional Front staff.. No Bar... What kind of hotel is it, If I cant find my favorite drink in the hotel but I can find anywhere on the street bars..

Rooms no doubt amazing. beds are great, can make anybody have a sound sleep like a baby.

If anybody looking for great rooms, clean & hygienic linen & beds, can come here. but for overall experience with great 5 star service, I will recommend any other hotel in the area with same room price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manpreet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for your response and for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with out Front Office team. I apologize that you were unable to order your favorite drink. Our drink selection is constantly changing and evolving as we strive to create something new and exciting for our guests. We hope that we see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The position is great if one wants to be around time square and close to the theatres... the hotel rooms are ok, but not better of what one would/could expect for a hotel in that category... the bar is poor, the restaurant is poor (choices)...the breakfast is ok/fine... what is amazing is that, although there are no mini bars anymore one has to go outside or cross the road if in need of some chocolate bars, sodas, beer, wine... (there is one poor vending machine on the 14th floor with 4 choices!) ...otherwise one needs to call room service! But the worst is the price...honestly, way to expensive for what is is/offers... for the same time i was there i checked on the internet and there were between US$ 100-250 more expensive than other comparable hotels. I would definitely not go there anymore --> AVOID IF YOU CAN

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefano E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank You for staying with us and sharing your recent experiences with us. We appreciate and value the feedback of all our guests. I apologize that we were unable to make your stay more pleasant. I have shared your comments with the team, as we are always striving to improve and look for innovative ways to make our guests stay more comfortable and enjoyable. We hope you will reconsider the hotel for your next trip to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I recently stayed here for two nights on a business trip to Manhattan. The hotel is very chic and modern. Contrary to the common perception of New Yorkers, the staff at check-in could not have been friendlier. The room is very comfortable and well designed. The king size bed was great and the bathroom was very nice. On top of this, the location right in the heart of midtown Manhattan is incredible. As a Marriott Platinum Elite member, I have stayed at many Renaissance properties and this one is definitely in the upper echelon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Broadway are best--much more quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mujd96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Small but functional. Our room was average size and with 2 adults and 2 teens if was slightly squished. But that was to be expected. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was large for NYC. We had a bath with shower and it was roomy.
We stayed on the 12th floor and like the other reviewer said, it was noisy at night. Maybe a higher floor would be quieter. We never heard other guests with the exception of occasional hallway conversations but the walls were pretty thick.
Very nice staff and helpful concierge. Location is perfect but being June is was the most crowded I have ever seen Times Square. It was nice to step into the foyer to "quiet" after dodging bodies to get there.

Room Tip: Top floors
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#270 of 468 in New York City
4,278 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#173 of 468 in New York City
11,100 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#183 of 468 in New York City
8,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#65 of 468 in New York City
3,223 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#168 of 468 in New York City
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#113 Business Hotel in New York City
#137 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $312 - $781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing