We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, overall great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #183 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, overall great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stayed 3 nights at the Renaissance Times Square, for a business trip. We wanted location right on Times Square - we couldn't ask for better hotel. Rooms are very nice, great lobby (kind of boutique). Breakfast was fine. Overall great experience with two small issues: (1) I never understand why you have to pay extra to get wifi in your room. It doesn't make any sense when you pay so much for that room already, and when it is free in any coffee shop world wide. (2) When making reservation I asked for a late check out (4:00pm - my flight left that evening) and on check out I realize they charge me an extra 99$ for 4 hours. Again, that is the extra mile they could walk to make it a perfect experience. Other then that, it is a great stay and I highly recommend the hotel for anyone who wish to stay by Times Square.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amir Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    790
    216
    61
    34
See reviews for
680
689
66
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We couldn't have picked a better location for our stay in New York. We were right in Times Square, within good walking distance to trains and attractions. Our room was clean and modern and had a great view.The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were able to drop off our bags prior to check-in so we could start our sights seeing which was really handy. Although a bit pricey (isn't everything in New York) it was well worth it.

Room Tip: We had a room on a higher floor, the noise didn't bother us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights so we would be within walking distance to a couple of Broadway shows. I had requested to have distilled water in my room for my CPAP machine. I was worried that since we were arriving after midnight the first night it might have been overlooked. I was so happy to see the bottle there when we arrived! The room was clean and comfortable. The room is large for a NYC hotel. The bathroom was great and appointed with Aveda products. We ordered room service breakfast both mornings. The service was perfect, and the food was yummy. Our room was on the 24th floor. We heard very little noise other than the sirens. This is typical for NYC. I will stay here again without doubt. This will be my NYC go to hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for discovering the Renaissance NY Times Square Hotel! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, MA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

My family and I really enjoyed the hotel, it's a couple blocks away from Rockafeller Center and located in the heart of Times Square.. Make sure if you book a package as I did that the front desk is aware of this as the charged me extra for parking after we left . Parking was part of a package that I paid for and included the parking, I'm still dealing with that. Overall the hotel was great, the views were amazing from both rooms we had. Bathrooms were very nice, and the blow dryer was nice.

Room Tip: City view room was great we had rm. 905.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank velvetcoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed at The Renaissance from 26th Feb - 4th Feb.

Cannot fault the hotel, the location is tremendous and the staff could not be more helpful.

Many thanks to Omar and all the Concierge Staff.

Will defo return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sc0tty76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I personally HATE staying in Times Square when I visit NYC; it's stressful to step outside your hotel and be swept into a sea of gawking toursists. But my husband's employer booked this hotel for him for a work trip and I tagged along. Despite my aversion to Times Square, I was very pleased with this hotel and plan to return with my younger sisters in a few months since I know they will enjoy staying in the middle of the hub bub.

The lobby is nicely decorated and has a great lounge that is surrounded with floor to ceiling windows on three sides with views of Times Square. It was a great place for cocktails and a late night snack. The room was pleasant, although our window looked directly into one of Morgan Stanley's sales floors and its huge electronic ticker. We live on a busy street in the city so the lights and noise didn't bother us, but it may be helpful to request a higher floor if noise bothers you.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GoBlueBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebrough
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed at Renaissance for 4 nights for Wedding Anniversary and Valentines. Firstly it is perfectly located.. Only on 8th floor but did not hear a sound from the traffic outside. Beds soooo comfy.. Once we got used to location was easy walk to Central Park, and most of the sites/locations we wanted to visit.. $20 dollar taxi to ferry around Statue of Liberty. Best part of Hotel.... The lounge where you have the most amazing view of New York Times Square. We went for night cap every night just to be amazed at the lights and the buzz of New York.
Now the not so amazing part of hotel.. £8 dollars plus tax for small bottle of water in room.(Maybe would be nice just the first 2 bottles complimentary for when first arrive) No bathrobe or slippers. Not even a little biscuit with coffee facilites. Not keen on the sliding door to bathroom with no latch. But all that said still think we picked the best hotel for my first visit to New York and would definately consider again if 2nd visit in future.

Room Tip: Cannot imagine a bad view but suppose the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#259 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,113 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,903 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,177 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#133 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing