We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another solid stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #169 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Best option in Times Square area (along with InterContinental). Rooms very modern, clean and comfortable. While in busy area, the hotel seems quiet and removed from all of the hustle and bustle below. Great lobby bar and solid gym.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floricuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 2,463 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

This spot was perfect and was right in the heart of Times Square. Couldn't have asked for a better location. It was great getting to look out the window in the morning and watching the snow beat down on Broadway. Spacious rooms and very comfortable bed. I would stay here again no problem.

Room Tip: The higher up the better and on the Broadway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here in Jan 13 after a few weeks enjoyed the delights of the US. This was our first trip to NYC so we wanted to be in the heart of it all, which is exactly what we got in this hotel.

We flew into JFK, the hotel is in central NYC so was a 45min taxi trip. The hotel entrance is quite discrete and unassuming, you enter a small lobby area where you check-in and then use an elevator to access a main lobby where you then take another elevator up to the rooms.
We had asked for a high floor room, with a view of Times Sq if possible, we had a nice view, we were high up and could see the hustle and bustle of the city below. The room, although a touch dated, was clean and of a good size for a city centre hotel.

The moment you leave the hotel, your in Times Sq, there is so much to see and do, taxis and buses are right outside to make getting around really easy, although being so central we did a lot of walking, despite temps dropping down to near record lows (-20c - even the street sellers gave up and went inside!). NYC is very congested so as long as your able to and weather permits id recommend walking as much as possible.

The entrance to Central park is 10 mins away, with the Zoo & Museums 30 mins, with Broadway even closer - there`s so much to see, do and eat you wont spend much time in the hotel, but for a base in NYC this is an excellent choice. In what is a generally expensive city, this hotel is good value, even more so given its location! We went to the hotel bar that overlooks times square, if you wish to sit by the window do pre-book, but its well worth a visit, just for the view of Times Sq alone, but the food, drinks and service are also very good!!

Id stay here again when next in NYC, and don't really have anything negative to report on it!

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor room which offer`s some kind of view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fly_cruise_stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Situated right in the heart of Times Square, you can't get any better than this for location, especially if you're in town for the theater. The room size is larger than average for Manhattan. Very comfortable, but a bit dated looking. Only complaint is that the bathroom door does not provide a great deal of privacy and some small details, such as cotton balls and shower cap were not provided. Otherwise, the front desk staff was friendly and the rooms quiet. Overall, a good stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Location can't be better than than for a mid Manhattan visit, just in the mid of Times Square; nothing else in the hotel is significantly distinguished, just clean, helpful reception and concierge guy, it's all about the great location.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNK666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed for three nights in February. Excellent location on Times Square. Hotel felt very safe as from the entrance at street level you had to pass security staff to get in the lift which took you as far as the Lobby area ( where the bar, restaurant are situated).You then had to get a further lift to the bedrooms, needing your room card to activate after 11pm.
All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful. Although we did not eat in the restaurant we did have drinks and a lite bite in the R bar which was very good. It is worth a visit to the R bar just for the excellent view over Times Square. The bedrooms were clean and the bed comfy my only criticism is that the rooms were dark so you needed the light on all the time!

Room Tip: We were on the 16th floor and the street noise from Times Square was minimal and certainly did not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Here on business for 2 nights. Right in the heart of Times Square. All the lights, all the shows, Broadway to the back side, what more can I say? Room was beautifully decorated, I loved the bench in the glass shower. Frig and safe came in handy. I would definitely stay here again...as long as the job is paying! I wish it were more affordable.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#272 of 471 in New York City
4,402 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#177 of 471 in New York City
11,477 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#184 of 471 in New York City
8,345 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#186 of 471 in New York City
2,864 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#200 of 471 in New York City
9,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#113 Business Hotel in New York City
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $243 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel is a boutique hotel in New York City located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, HotelPower, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing