We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #183 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best location in NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Here on business for 2 nights. Right in the heart of Times Square. All the lights, all the shows, Broadway to the back side, what more can I say? Room was beautifully decorated, I loved the bench in the glass shower. Frig and safe came in handy. I would definitely stay here again...as long as the job is paying! I wish it were more affordable.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    790
    216
    61
    34
See reviews for
680
689
66
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Room was larger than expected for a NYC hotel (double room). City view was so-so from the room but lounge at lobby level has a great view of Times Square. Easy walking distance to most theaters and Restaurant Row. We were there during the Polar Vortex so nice to have a warm place close by. Staff seemed friendly and helpful. Liked that the room had a refrigerator to chill water bottles we purchased at nearby Duane Reade (would never pay $8 for bottled water offered in the room). Hotel is next door to TKTS TKTS booth which is convenient if looking for discounted tickets to a show. Check in area very dark, but once you take elevator to lounge, the hotel seemed brighter. One has to walk through the lounge to access elevator bank to rooms so allow time to access two elevator banks when going to and from room. Wish wireless Internet was complimentary in rooms. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Be aware this is a pet friendly hotel so if you have allergies, may wish to stay elsewhere. Also if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I have stayed here several times and next in March 2014. Can't say I love it here but only the convenient location. Staff tries but it seems the environment in NY wins. Busy and crowded hotel. Lounge closed on the weekend and I always manage a weekend + visit of 3-5 days.
Just saving money on the lounge. Their system for the lounge of vouchers is not welcomed as often the lounge is closed for private events and I was not informed on check in so seems renting the lounge is more important than a regular gold member guest! The lounge for breakfast if you can call it that leaves much to desire as almost no service staff and I could hardly call coffee and eggs breakfast or the quality of food decent!
Rooms are like a shoe box but typical in NY. Last time the elevators had issues - broken - repairs and including stuck in the elevator and walking 5 floors.
The manager promised to do something if I contacted her so now is your chance for my next visit in March - How about a suite since I never get an upgrade here????????????

How about something special for your loyal guests for all the inconveniences
one time was no hot water (sorry we don't have a generator or back up)
another time the parking garage elevator broke and no car so I was late for my work
I understand it is NY - but at $400 a night get it right

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance NY Times Square Hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding your time at the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay. The hotel is continuing to make improvements so we can prevent problems like the ones that you experienced. Please contact the hotel manager on duty directly to discuss your upcoming stay. We look forward to showing you the great service that we do provide on your March visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delabole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Ok, let's start by ridding some of the rumours...for a City Central hotel, this hotel was by no means small for it's room size. In fact, I would say ours (on the 15th floor) was absolute typical for a hotel of this type.

Rooms were well equipped with flat screen TV's, coffee machine, decent matress and a fridge. There was no mini bar although 2 medium sized bottles of water were on the side with a $8 price tag on (each!!) Make sure they don't try charging you for these on checkout though like they did with us...

Location wise...great if you want Broadway shows, 5th Avenue, Central Park etc. If you prefer the more urban feel (as we discovered we did) it's about a $15 cab trip downtown to the village areas.

Staff were great, particulary 'Omar' who worked on concierge. Omar kindly sorted a couple of minor issues for us regarding our limo pick up and then found us a voucher online to use at a nearby theatre for 'Jersey Boys'. There was a doorman on front reception as well who really went out of his way to be helpful.

Our flight coming home was very early morning which meant having to check out at 4am. Nevertheless, staff were manning the concierge desk then and checking out was a painless breeze.

The hotel sports a really excellently located bar which 'juts out' into Times Square. The view from there is amazing and ironically, when compared to the cost of a bottle of water in the rooms, a cocktail or snack in the bar really wasn't that expensive.

Noise? Come on...it's the centre of New York!! If you expect to awaken to the sounds of skylarks and running streams, then NYC isn't for you. On the 15th floor we were 'aware' of noise down below, especially the first night when repairs to the road were made at 5am...but nothing I wouldn't have expected to hear in the centre of town.

All in all, a good place to stay if you want mid/uptown. Clean, modern and well equipped with friendly knowledgable staff.

Room Tip: The higher, the better (for noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hogtronix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, MT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I'm a bit late, but took notes & wanted to get my review in. We stayed here for eight nights Nov. 29th thru Dec. 7th. We checked in about 7pm Friday night (Friday after Thanksgiving). I had reserved a King room. We were given room 1401, end of the hall, corner room. We felt it was kind of small, but settled in. When we checked in I did request a high floor room, but 14 was all they had since I was one of last to check in. So, the next morning I decided to see if all the King rooms were the same size. The gal asked me what room we were in and said we were in one of the smaller rooms. I told her we were there for 7 more nights and would prefer a bigger room. She said she did have another room if we wanted to move right now. Perfect! Lo & behold, room 2603 was clean & ready. Back to the first room, throw all our stuff in our suitcases and up to floor 26, TOP FLOOR, sweet! We get to the room & drop our things off. Room was bigger and on the highest floor of the hotel. We had a great stay & enjoyed the R Lounge a few times. We liked the room enough to basically stay in all day, one day, just to relax. The hotel & rooms were clean and staff friendly. If we wanted to stay in TS again, I'd stay here, however, we would most likely stay out of TS and due to all the people. We enjoyed it and can say we did TS but would stay at another Renaissance location next time. Just too many people, but it was the holiday season and expected it. This is a smaller hotel (# of room wise, therefore, less people too). The other plus of this hotel is having a fridge & coffee maker in the room, which is very high on my hubby's hotel room requirements. It's nice not having to go buy a $5 cup of coffee first thing. If you are looking for a TS hotel, this property is definite do!

Room Tip: Top floor is nice, but you do not want an end room if more than 1 person in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSkyGirl1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance over New Years Eve 2013 and the hotel combined with the experience was amazing!

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by the concierge and check in was very effortless.

The room was amazing, with a view over broadway on the 17th floor. The room was exceptionally big for the location, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Jill was brilliant in assisting me and my fiancée with our requests, but her and her team did not fail us, from booking restaurants to providing goods to our room!

We would definitely stay here again when visiting NYC as it is in perfect location to walk anywhere in midtown!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance NY Times Square Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recognized Jill for her outstanding service during your stay. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel itself is fantastic. The location is right in Times Square, and everything about the hotel is luxurious. The views out of some of the rooms, including the R Lounge, are as good as it gets for tourist. Rooms are large, comfortable, and clean. No complaints at all regarding the hotel/rooms; however, this is a really unfriendly hotel for Marriott Rewards members (I'm platinum). They don't have a concierge lounge, so they just give you vouchers for something off the R Lounge menu each night (appetizer). Here's a summary of my nights:

1. Fish tacos - EXTREMELY SMALL portion. Like, one bite tacos.
2. Chicken burger - I'm not sure this thing was cooked properly, it was really funky, left most of it uneaten
3. Grilled cheese panini - burnt. So burnt, that's all I tasted.
4. Redeemed my voucher for a soda only to avoid eating at the R Lounge again.

Breakfast is pretty weak as well compared to other Marriotts. One morning they didn't even put out the hot foods until 20 minutes after the room opened. They could learn a lot from the Marriott Marquis lounge, which is only a block away.

On top of all that, the hotel didn't credit the MR points to my account...so I have to call Marriott Customer Service and submit my receipts to get credit for the stay. I cancelled all of my future stays at this hotel and rebooked at other Marriotts in the area (Marquis, Lexington, and Algonquin are closeby).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bretts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#259 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,113 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,900 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,180 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#133 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing