We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #180 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We recently went to see Wicked and stayed at the Renaissance overnight. Hotel was very clean and we had a great view of Time Square! The restaurant has an awesome view of Time Square, very good food and very friendly waiters!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    808
    222
    64
    34
See reviews for
703
700
68
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My family and I chose R Lounge for the outstanding views of Times Square but were surprised to find that it also offered quite good food for a tourist location. On a Sunday brunch, the lounge was calm but not sedate, had comfortable seating with couches and low chairs and had a contemporary but welcoming vibe. The servers were very pleasant and the patrons consisted of older adults, families with young children and a few chic couples as well. Everyone seemed to be having a good time. R Lounge was a great start for a day of sight-seeing in the city and we expect to make it a regular stop on subsequent visits. It is in the middle of everything but not teeming with people the way so many other Times Square attractions seem to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank camerabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I travel to NY a lot and have stayed at this hotel many times and I've never had a bad experience which is hard to stay because it's right in Times Square. If you're a tourist and trying to experience times square you can't find a better location. They have a great lounge overlooking times square which is fun for people watching. The staff is great and actually takes the time to talk and listen to you rather than just treat you as a room number. The hotel is really modern and clean and if you can, spring for one of the end rooms as they're decent size for NYC. I'm a Marriott and SPG person so I've stayed at all those properties in times square (Westin, W, Marquee, etc) and this one is my favorite because it's smaller and has more of a boutique feel which makes it more personal rather than walking into some overwhelming hotel with huge lines at the front desk and elevators. The gym is also good size and has a good selection of equipment and it was never very busy (at least when I was there). Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel and it's excellent staff, although I know it's kind of pricey but that's how all the hotels are in times square.

Room Tip: I like the end rooms because they're a bit bigger (I think junior suites maybe). On the lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellothereyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I bought 2 nigths in a deal on priceline, and was one of the best hotels that i have ever been. I recomend this hotel the room is clean and bathroom is good. The location is fantastic on Times Square. the hotel lounge bar has one of the best views from Times Square. One day I hope be back to this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Celso P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I will start by describing the group of guests that I was with, and I think my one star review will be clearly understood. I arrived with a group of 10 ladies and gentleman. All of professional standing. 2 gentleman are owners of a construction company, one is a fashion designer, another an event planner, a party promoter in vegas, a party promoter in NYC, a psychologist, and entrepreneurs. All of us travel a lot, we stay in high-end hotels and in ecofriendly hotels when we just need a one night stay etc. NEVER in all of our traveling were we told the following "You are not guests in our Hotel."

We were coming to the Renaissance after a night out in the city. We requested a few rooms and it was taking some time to find rooms since it was at 6:00 AM. During our waiting, we all sat down on the couches, tired and drained from our night. We were being helped by one of the staff, she was nice. Then another staff walked in, full of attitude, before she even new what was going on. She then said to me "Get this boy up from the chair, You are not guests of this Hotel.!!" Now, I would understand if she would address us that way if we were rowdy teens or adults, but there was none of that, as I mentioned we were drained.

Obviously, we immediately decided to leave the hotel. When we requested her name, her response: "I do not need to give you guys my name! I am calling security" (Physical Description: medium hight, light brown skin, kinky hair in a pony, beauty marks on her face.)

This encounter shocked me, I do not know how to process this. I am wondering if she was hearing loud noises in her head and assumed it was coming from us :) lol.

I hope the supervisors and managers of this hotel see this review, since I strongly believe that we were not the only ones mistreated. A staff who mistreats potential guests so severely, definitely has mistreated others as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dollysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in the Renaissance at Times Square to catch a show and be touristy for the weekend. We have stayed in a number of other locations in Manhattan, but picked this one to be close to the theaters and have great access to the R-Lounge, their bar with great night-time views of Times Square.

If you don't like to deal with the chaos of Time Square, this would not be the place for you. But if you need to be in the area- or prefer to not have to subway or cab back to your hotel after an evening show- the Renassaince is is quiet, clean, and the rooms are spacious. I generally hate the tiny NYC rooms, and would rather pay more for this place, than the same ammount for the Dream Downtown in Chelsea- for a much smaller space.

Wish there was an earler check-in time though. 4 PM seems really late, and then to have to be out by noon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dzeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is by far one the best hotels in NYC, especially if you want to be in the Times Square location. I have traveled to NYC several times for work and this is by far one of my most favorite hotels. Other hotels in Times Square are filled with too many tourists and can be annoying for business travelers. This is very convenient to the subway system as well.

This hotel has amazing views. During one of my trips, they were filming Sex in the City 2 in the Lounge area (which overlooks Times Square).

I have stayed at this hotel several times and unfortunately I had to select a month for when I travled...but again, I have been here several times and it has been very consistent. I will caveat that statement, with the fact that I am a Platinum member with Marriott Rewards.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kolby2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#263 of 466 in New York City
4,215 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#178 of 466 in New York City
10,650 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#179 of 466 in New York City
7,918 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,177 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#183 of 466 in New York City
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing