We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #182 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Renaissance to celebrate our daughter's 16 birthday. The location is perfect, especially if you want to be in Times Square. Our daughter loved the modern feel. The property is hip without being over the top Vegas hip. The views from the R Lounge in the evening are pretty spectacular. Our room was pretty standard sized for Times Square but had plenty enough room for the 3 of us. Overall a very good experience and value!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    808
    223
    64
    34
See reviews for
704
700
68
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This trendy sleek hotel bang in Time Square offers contemporary accommodation in Central New York. The Bar offers exceptional views of Time Square. Short distance to 5th Avenue and other attractions - I found this hotel particularly brilliant for it's location. Specially if time is limited.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
1,701 reviews
272 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 680 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This property does a nice job of being hip, especially for a Marriott. The R lounge offers the best views of Times Square.

The rooms are nice and big for NYC. The shower and bathroom is well appointed. The bed was a bit soft for my taste. The curtains did a good job of blocking out the bright lights of Times Square.

The property could do a better job with its priority guests. As a Platinum I really felt no different than any other person. Even though upgraded rooms were available, I did not receive one. There is no lounge you can go to for water, soda, snacks (other than breakfast) which is a real shame.

The workout area was nice with plenty of machines.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best for less noise and better view. There are 26 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had a fantastic 3 night stay at the renaissance in the summer of 2013 and had a wonderful stay. This is not a cheap hotel but it was worth every penny for the views alone. Every morning at breakfast we would gaze out of the window across Times Square and smile, the views are just breath taking. It's a great hotel for exploring the city with a subway and hop on off bus stop right outside the front door, and stardust cafe just around the corner (definitely worth a visit) We would definitely stay here again, if we can afford it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Fishfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I visited the Big Apple during my summer vacations and was in a fix as to which hotel to go for. But one that checked all our boxes was The Renaissance. Great location(right in Times Square),amazing rooms, good food, hospitable hotel staff..... What more can one ask for ?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid28496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I visited the renaissance with my husband for his birthday. I wanted to be in Times square and we certainly were, open the curtains and it was all there! However,close them and you were in your own world. Everyone was so helpful and friendly, especially Omar, whom we almost felt we got to know. I do hope you and your family get to England when they are old enough. We would certainly return in an instant and if a mixture of excitement and relaxation are for you I suggest you do too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sniemira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I visited NYC with my family to see Motown the Musical. The theater is right around the corner for this property. I turned my vehicle over for safe keeping to the valet and off we were to enjoy a couple of days in NYC. THE HOTEL IS LITERALLY IN TIMES SQUARE!! From the lounge you can look out and see the stairs in Times Square too.

The staff was incredible and the rooms, first class. The rooms are pricy, but if you pick your days carefully there are bargains to be had. Some days are hundreds less than others.

Room Tip: Cost changes based on what day of the week you stay, therefore, if your dates are flexible, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#262 of 466 in New York City
4,216 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#175 of 466 in New York City
10,659 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 466 in New York City
7,921 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,180 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#180 of 466 in New York City
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing