We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a view!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #182 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vaughan, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“what a view!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

best hotel in times square hands down. love the view and the staff! what a great hotel my family loved it...be sure to hit up the red lobster in times square! also be sure to go to little italy it is only a 15-30 minute walk from times square.

Room Tip: Times square view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    808
    223
    64
    34
See reviews for
704
700
68
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent a few days here as our base for seeing the sights of New York. Nice clean reasonably modern rooms with great views of time square and all the activities. View from the bar is unique and superb. Defiantly recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Go C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I first walked in around 10pm and I had 4 people all together in my room and she said she had no doubles available. I already knew it said I could either have a king or double when I made the res. the lady who checked me in went above and beyond. She said what if I split the rate in half and give you separate rooms. I was blown away. I mean I have never got offered that in my life time. I wish I got her name but I stayed there on July 20th and my name is Taneha. I want to give recognition to her because that's how a guest should be treated.

The room however was not as I expected. The shower was a little dirty. Didnt want to complain because it was late. I would only stay here again because of the customer service I received.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanehaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked thru Priceline, Would have wanted the Marriott Marquis for location closer to the theaters (and TS view) but that was a difference of 2 blocks.

Decor was modernish, rooms were relatively clean. We had drive up/valet parking parking. We didn't need to park it ourselves. Two days cost $116 for parking. We came early and were able to leave our things before check in--they let us check in at around 2:30/3:00.

The bathroom was nice, water pressure and hot water was beyond expectation for NYC.
There were some long hairs on the bedspread, and some in the shower. That is why I said relatively clean. I am not usually a high maintenance person, but for the price and ratings of this hotel that should have been taken care of.
Beds were comfortable.
There is a fridge, coffee maker and water (Fiji) which costs $8 if you drink one.
The view is not of TS, not a total big deal because we ended up just sleeping and resting in the room when were were in there.
There was a TV with movie services, we just watched some things. Weirdly, the main channels like NBC and ABC said No signal or something, and we had to wait for a while while flipping through to get back a real signal. (anyway-who watches TV when they come to NY???right??)

Free Wifi only in lobby.
The location of this hotel was close enough to walk to our broadway show, the rock, restaurant row and walking to FAO SCHWARZ.

The elevators were weird. You had to take one to the lobby, then to another area for your rooms. It seemed like only 2 were working and it was a long wait for 14th floor.
In general it was a good hotel with a great location.

I will probably pick somewhere else next time just because I try different places.

Room Tip: check in at 4pm, there are no views really
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellendejavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnold,maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family of four recently spent two nights at the Renaissance. Our room had two doubles and was a very nice size for New York standards. The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. The access to wifi was confusing though. We thought it was part of the room rate and called the front desk to inquire. This was the only time we were treated rudely during our entire stay. The operator was curt and not at all helpful.
We stayed club level so we were able to have breakfast each morning in the club level restaurant. Breakfast was just the right mix of bagels etc plus hot food. The view of Times Square from the restaurant was fantastic. We also had drinks and appetizers here each evening over looking the lights and sights.
Unlike some of the large hotels in NYC the elevators were fast, no waiting or overcrowding.
We parked our car and the cost was to be expected. Not really that much for NYC. The concierge and bell hops were super helpful.
Very easy walk to the Shubert Theater where we saw Matilda.
We would definitely stay here again if we want to be in the hustle and bustle of Times Square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you never order room service, this is actually a nice hotel. It has a great view of Times Square and it's right smack dab in the middle of the action. But if, like myself, you order room service, you're likely to be disappointed. For one thing, the hotel falsely advertises itself as having "24-hour room service". During my stay, I tried ordering room service around 3pm one afternoon and was told room service was closed until dinner. This despite the fact that there was an "All-Day" room service menu that's supposed to run 11am-11pm. I was told that the menus had not been updated. Then, I tried to order a late night snack at 1am from their late-night menu, only to be told that room service was closed for the night (despite their having a late-night menu that's supposed to be available from 11pm-6am). I was told the kitchen was "closed for renovations". The clerk then said she would send to my room a list of menus from restaurants that delivered late night, but no one ever showed up. Big disappointment. I did, however, manage to order breakfast from room service one morning, but after placing the order, I received a call ten minutes later telling me that they were out of the item I ordered. Very annoyed, I had to order something else.

So again, if you don't order room service, you should be fine here. There are lots of nice restaurants within short walking distance. But if room service is a deciding factor (as it was for me), look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for the post. We are very delighted you were able to experience our view and amazing location here at the Renaissance Times Square. I am very sorry that we were not able to accommodate you in regards to room service during your stay. Moving forward we will communicate with our staff room service standards and make sure our guests always receive the proper information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a bit overrated on trip advisor. It is fine but not great.

Mattress had big nasty stain on it which was a bit unnerving.

Felt a bit empty for a full service hotel.

Breakfast in r lounge was mediocre.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay. I am very sorry to hear about the mattress in your room. I will ensure our stylist department thoroughly checks the bedding in each room so an incident like this does not occur again. We continue to proactively work towards providing you with the best service, and we hope that you will give us another chance to experience our exemplary venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#262 of 466 in New York City
4,216 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#175 of 466 in New York City
10,659 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 466 in New York City
7,921 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,178 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#180 of 466 in New York City
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing