We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Add the 'Rlounge' to your list of a cool place for a sunday cocktail!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #182 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
428 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Add the 'Rlounge' to your list of a cool place for a sunday cocktail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Rlounge (2nd or 3rd fl of the Times Square Renaissance Hotel) is a great place to stop by for a quiet cocktail with magnificent view of Times Square. Memorable. Good value. Friendly staff. Cool decor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank burnsinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    786
    215
    61
    34
See reviews for
675
689
66
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lovely rooms, lobby, lounges, etc. Service was great with the exception of one person who worked in the VIP lounge. I wish I would have written down his name-he definitely didn't belong.

Highly recommend staying here IF you must stay in Times Square.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel for a work trip based on recommendations from this website. Let me say that while the lobby area has had some very nice boutique hotel upgrades the room and service felt lipstick on a pig and I would not stay here again! I am severely allergic to feathers and requested a feather free room. Upon check in was told it was but as soon as I got to the room the bedding was all feathers. The room was musty, carpet dirty and the AC was merely a fan
that blew less then cool
air. The bedding was finally fixed but after returning after dinner the 2nd night found feather pillows back on the bed. Location and a nice lounge are not worth staying at this property- never again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunscreen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for the post. I am very sorry to hear about the bedding and the humidity in your room. I will make sure our engineering department thoroughly checks the air conditioning unit. We will work towards proactively monitoring the air conditioning in the future. Our housekeeping department will ensure a situation like this does not occur again. We do hope you will come back and visit us so that we can show you the amazing service we are able to provide. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went over the 4th of July weekend so our room was very expensive. I chose this Marriott affiliated property since I could use my points...otherwise, I just couldn't justify the $436 double room price for a Saturday night. Location was great and it was close to the Top of the Rock and many great restaurants. Theatres surrounded us as did the tourists, New Yorkers, and wacky people trying to make a buck. People wore furry character costumes in 90+ heat to make or should I say extort money from unsuspecting tourists...but I digress.

The staff at this hotel could not have been nicer and I wish I could remember all their names. The virtual concierge was awesome and went out of her way to help me as we were bringing our pupp with us. The front staff did their best to find a room for us early so we could put our frightened puppy into the room. The bellmen were all wonderful and helped tremendously whenever I had an issue such as forgetting the dog food in our trunk. The rooms are not spacious but also not small so decent by NYC standards. The lounge area is on the second floor and kind of funky cool retro. I wish we could have enjoyed it more, but we spent much of our time with our puppy. Trust me, I would not have chosen to being a young puppy to NYC Times Square if I had to do it over again...

It is valet parking and there is a great deal of activity right outside the hotel until all hours of the night, but if ou want to experience Times Square, this is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tampann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansastraveler74
Level Contributor
321 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in the heart of time square. Hotel staff was very friendly! Rooms were very large for NYC standards. The bathroom
was large and the shower was huge!!!
My only complaint was that the beds were extremely hard and the air didn't get cold enough. Keep in mind we were there with 100 degree temps.

We had a nice dessert in the 2nd floor lounge.

We will stay here again! Probably our new fav hotel in the City!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Arkansastraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

If you want to be smack in the middle of Times Square then this is the hotel for you. The executive lounge (which is open to everyone most of the day) overlooks it and is great for just sitting and watching what must be the busiest intersection in the world.

The rooms are a good size for the middle of NY and the maid service is spot on. Only ate some bar snacks in the hotel (which were very good) but I would suggest that you eat at one of the literally hundreds of restaurants within a short walk.
I'd also suggest that you ask for one of the upper floor rooms to escape the noise overnight - remember, it is the city that never sleeps!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank WolveyGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here one night but wish it had been more. Staff was genuinely friendly and helpful and the location can't be beat. The RLounge looks right out on Times Square, but it's peaceful and relaxing. Our room was huge by NYC hotel standards and the bath modern, with a walk in shower to die for!

Room Tip: Higher floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#259 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,110 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,867 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,160 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing