We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thinking Marquis? If the price is right stay here instead!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #179 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
234 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Thinking Marquis? If the price is right stay here instead!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Spent a few days in New York City and decided to book something in the center of things - Times Square. While I normally prefer to be in a quieter area this was more central for what our plans were over a 3-day weekend.

I've stayed many times at the Marriott Marquis - a good hotel but always seems so busy probably based on its size and location. The Marriott Renaissance was pricing out the same as the Marquis so I decided to stay there.

Came in on Amtrak and took the subway (1)(2)(3) line uptown to Times Square and then switched to the uptown (N)(Q)(R) getting off at 49th street. There's a subway exit just steps from the Renaissance's door.

The Renaissance is one of the more upscale Marriott properties and you can sense this just walking in the door. Directly in front of you are bellmen and security and to the left a couple of podiums with staff ready to check you in. The formalities were quick and friendly - something that sometimes in the hustle and bustle of NYC is missing.

You then proceed up a very slow one story elevator ride to the main lobby area. Here is where the concierge is located along with a light restaurant with a view towards Times Square. One evening they had a make your own cupcake for Mother's Day - nice touch. From the lobby area you take additional elevators up to the guest room floors. While the elevators seemed to be setup to require your room key to gain access to guest floors we found that you could select a floor without using the key. Not sure if this was a temporary problem but given the city I would feel more comfortable knowing only guests generally have access to guest floors.

The hotel rooms are typical of the Renaissance chain: an oversized king size bed, oversized flat screen TV, high tech work area with connections to the TV, etc. And the room for NYC standards was also oversized - and spotless. The bathroom had a nice shower with excellent water pressure (while I like to conserve I had doing so with shower water restrictors that barely get the soap off of you!).

Hotel supplied bottle of water: US $8.00. But with the refrigerator in the room you can have your choice from any of the shops nearby - if you're willing to walk a few blocks you'll get out of the inflated Times Square pricing zone.

There's always plenty to do tourist wise within a few blocks of this location. and it is only a short walk to the MTA's Time Square / 42nd Street station where at least 8 subway lines converge. This allows you to get both adventurous and get away from Times Square. Took us about 10 minutes to get over to Alewife Queens (7-line subway one stop east of the river) for great food and brews.

Check-out was equally as efficient and pleasant. And due to their location they do NOT have cabs standing at the door. But in typical New York City fashion the bellman will hail down a cab for you - we took one on Sunday back to Penn Station and it only cost $5.00 (no traffic really to speak of - your fare will vary).

If you want to be in the middle of it and stay somewhere with class the Renaissance is a great choice. For sure I'll stay here anytime and even over the Marquis if the price is right.

Room Tip: If you're lucky (or can afford it) get a room the overlooks Tiimes Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,187
    777
    209
    61
    34
See reviews for
663
689
66
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

You can't beat this location. Our experience was that front desk staff and management was very unhelpful and quite rude. We were trying to rectify a billing error but were met with arrogance and horrible attitudes. On the other hand, the concierge staff was wonderful. They took the time to recommend shows and restaurants. They stopped short of making reservations and helping with tickets, but they were very pleasant during our stay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will get you away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here on business and was very impressed. The lobby bar overlooking Times Square is incredible. The rooms were spacious and incredibly quiet for the City. It is much more quaint than the Marquis across the street. Will stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is a smaller boutique style hotel. Staff was very good. Location was good. Parking is valet and off site so you have to call ahead for the car. Very European feel with smaller rooms but enjoyable and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The location of the Renaissance Hotel cannot get better. The staff was courteous, but the front check-in desk was a little subpar, yet efficient. The elevator systems was a bit surprising: a first set only gets you to the first “Lobby” floor, where you need to figure out that a second set few steps away will get you to the rooms. The room (18th floor, looking to 7th ave) was very nice. The bed platform being a little higher that what people may be accustomed to, but that was no issue. Upon arrival, my parents made some coffee, leaving no packages left for the next morning. The maid on the floor gave us extra packages without any trouble. Overall, the staff was nice, and we checked our luggage twice with the doorman, and had no trouble. Finally, in addition to recommending the hotel, we highly recommend stopping at the R lounge at night was fantastic, offering an unbeatable view of Time Square.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJinNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful! The location is perfect for numerous must-see tourist attractions on foot and also very close to uptown and downtown subways. Our room was a decent size with very comfortable beds and loads of fresh linens supplied daily; it was a bit dusty but that was remedied when brought to the attention of the front desk. If you're looking for new and modern, this is NOT the place for you but if you want service with a smile and staff who treat you like a welcome and valued guest, then you won't go wrong here ... Must mention both the reception and concierge staff who are superb!

Room Tip: We were on the 15th floor and the noise from Times Square was not too disruptive - the higher the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I admit this was my first time to visit the city for fun. My family and I really enjoyed this place for convenience, the staff, and the hotel itself. It also has a killer bar that looks over the square, worth a visit even if you do not stay here. The same room serves as the breakfast room if you have status.
I did not pick the location or hotel this time so it was a nice surprise. The concierge staff was very helpful but e sure to double check any advice for the trains or bus as you go.
This is Time Square, so if you want calm and quiet you need to get out of town. You will hee the occasional siren.

Room Tip: Higher is probably better for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XSmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,057 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,657 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,036 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel housed in 1930s building, located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing