We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but no in room coffee!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #182 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location but no in room coffee!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Enjoyed a 5 night stay here this past April. If you want to be in the center of all the Times Square hub-bub this is certainly the place to stay. The R Lounge has the most amazing view of Time Square ... it's as though you are hovering over it. Our room was very clean, and quiet, although smaller than in other cities. I understand it is a NYC thing. Staff were all very friendly, and we had no problems to speak of during our stay. My only complaint with this hotel is the fact that there was no inroom coffee makers and one has to order it via room service, or get dressed and go out and get it. I can't remember staying anywhere in the past 20 years that didn't have inroom coffee available. So all you early morning coffee addicts be prepared.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,192
    788
    216
    61
    34
See reviews for
677
689
66
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during New years eve for 3 nights.
It does not get any better than this as far as location goes.
If you plan on having new years eve in times square but don't want to stand in the crowd for hours to watch the ball drop ..than this is your best option.
The rooms are small but well equipped, all rooms have a great view of your times square surroundings, the staff were fantastic, we were treated like stars..
The Restaurant that over looks the ball drop is lovely, the food is great, try the French Onion Soup, it gives any restaurant in Paris a run for its money.
We found this hotel to be very expensive..but well worth it.

Room Tip: The junior suites have the best times square views we were told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giorgiadettoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was a little surprised with the location of this hotel. It was pretty much bang in the middle of Times Square, not on a side road like the Hilton. Upon arrival our welcome was ok however I was expecting a little more. Our room was located on the 7th floor with zero road noise from outside....I was especially concerned about this however it turned out to be perfectly fine. The room was clean and amenities as expected from a 4 star. Location turned out to be perfect...the moment you walk out you're literally in the square. Overall I highly recommend, I would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSV_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The location is great if you are true-blue tourists (not one of those I'm-too-cool-for-tourists-spots type of tourists). It's right on Times Square and rooms have a view of Times Square. Walking distance to any subway station which means you can reach any point of interest in NYC.

Rooms are clean and have a very nice bed and shower. We stayed from Jan 1-3 and got a great deal by booking early.

I wish they offer complimentatry wifi like most marriott hotel does for marriott reward members. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kipper_kipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here my first time in New York City and I highly, highly recommend! The hotel is clean, modern, and the location is within walking distance of numerous tourist attractions. There is also a bodega directly across the street that's open 24/7 and has everything you could need from food and drinks, to toiletries and medicine. We felt safe here and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was gorgeous and spacious. We never felt cramped; the bathroom had a large shower and plenty of storage space for hair and make up products on the counter. We had breakfast at the hotel one morning and they served it in a room with wide glass windows directly overlooking Times Square. It was phenomenal.

Room Tip: We had a city view on the top floor and found it to be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasElyse2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Don't spend your money on this " Renaissance hotel" I was there at 2:00pm. The front desk told us. Sorry sir "you have to check in at 2:30pm". Oh no 3:30pm maybe u will like us, very very unlucky have to check in at 5:30pm. They only tell u. Sorry sir "we are very full today". This is what the front desk will tell u. Hello USD 200 plus Tax. Horrible service. If u rich guy want to pay that much money to stay in horrible service hotel. I have nothing to say....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Once you except the fact that visiting NYC is not a 'cheap' getaway... you will find the Renaissance NY hotel is a great deal considering you are in the midst of just about everything you may want to visit in the area. The subway system in Times Square is clean, quick, and easy as well. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. Decent mini bar, though obviously expensive too. Quality soap/shampoo, etc. This was our second stay at Renaissance.... oh and the breakfast is worth signing up for when you make your reservation. It was a decent buffet, and not crowded at all.... plenty of seating.... no waiting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBRacingLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,110 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,879 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,162 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City Boutique hotel is located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing