We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent place to stay!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #170 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Rensselaer Falls, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My daughters and I stayed at the Renaissance Hotel in November 2012 and saw the Broadway Play "Wicked". The hotel was wonderful. Clean, up to date, bed was extremely comfy. It is located in Times Square, in the middle of everything. All stores just a short walk away. All staff ready and willing to assist you. When we needed a cab, the staff got one for us. Only one little "Hiccup"....we made reservations to dine downstairs in the hotel, before the broadway play. We were promised a table and was told even if we were 15 minutes late, they would still hold the table for us. We actually arrived a few minutes early. When we arrived, we were told there we no tables available. They had lost our reservation. We obviously couldn't wait because we would be late for the broadway play. So, my advice would be not to depend upon the staff to make and hold a reservation for you. We ended up walking a couple blocks down the street and eating our dinner. Thank goodness we were able to find a place available due to the amount of people in the city to see the play. All in all....great place to stay! Even though it was my first time in the city, I would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend to anyone!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdluver79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    739
    188
    53
    32
See reviews for
626
646
63
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a convenient place to stay in Manhattan if you plan on seeing Broadway theatre and eating at the myriad restaurants in the theatre district. Rooms are a bit small, but nicely appointed and the staff was warm, friendly, and very happy to help. We booked a room that didn't accommodate our family properly. It took a call to housekeeping and they easily changed us to a suite better suited to our needs. Everything thing was done promptly -- moving our belongings from one room to another -- and everyone involved n the process was courteous. My son came down with a cold and had to stay in bed for a day. We asked if we could take some food from the breakfast buffet for him and they happily accommodated, us making sure we had what we needed. Later that same day, we saw the gal who had seated us and she asked how our son was doing. It was nice she asked and we were surprised she had remembered us. Nice stay for us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lkup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I used Marriott points to get a room for my wife and two girls, so they could see Wicked. They loved the hotel, very chic. There isn't a better location in Manhattan to stay. Easy public transportation all around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at Renaissance July of 2011 and it is by far one of the best hotels I have stayed at thus far. The bed was to die for and a guarantee that you would have a great night of sleep. The hotel is centrally located in Time Square and its really cool to be able to come out at any given time and be surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Time Sqaure. The Hotel Bar that faces Time Sqaure is Awsome! Great for people who dont mind splurging to experience a A+++ Service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RENA614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I cannot say enough about this property from the staff as soon as you walk in the door at check-in and the bell desk to the quality and cleanliness of the rooms. I could sit here and talk about all the wonderful amenities, but just know they are all great! The concierges are top notch and know all the best spots. Showers, Beds, Rooms, Elevators, all top notch ( I say elevators because of past frustration with elevators at the nearby Marriott Marquis ). Always willing to accommodate and help. As a Marriott Gold Member, I received free continental-ish breakfast (did have eggs and sausage as well) on weekdays. The restaurant in the lobby is a little pricey, but most people just eat out in the city.

#1 Property in NYC!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank disneydad331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent hotel and location for all the main tourist sights/activities. Renaissance came to our rescue with a "last minute opening" reservation during a busy Labor Day weekend, allowing our party of 4 to move from a lesser quality hotel (that failed to meet modest expectations) to this one. We were so thankful they were able to accommodate us! Easy walking distance to all the main attractions, rooms are clean, well designed/laid out, spacious, art-deco inspired lobby and wonderful view of Times Square from the lobby bar. Concierge was very friendly and professional - he explained the discount coupons available for tourists ie; Double Decker bus tours, Rock Center and Harbor tours. Made great recommendations! Breakfast was very good, but expensive for the full hot & cold buffet (pay attention to the price difference between Continental and hot buffet items before you serve your plate and sit down otherwise if you start eating without specifying, you will be charged for full cost.). Most importantly, rooms were very quiet with fantastic large windows with views of the street/square. Staff was friendly, courteous and nothing short of what I expect from the Marriott Team. Will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great hotel located with amazing views down Times Square (esp from the bar/club lounge (0630-1000)). The hotel has had a reasonably thorough revamp so the lobby looks great. Rooms are large and very quiet by NYC standards, with very comfortable beds and quiet a/c. Gym is bigger than the usual shoe box with aerobic equipment and free weights.

However you can tell that the hotel wasn't totally refurbished when you look at (and hear) the lifts, some of the hard furnishings and the bathrooms. I still don't understand it when shower heads are not high enough for somebody of 5'10" never mind over 6'. Basins are out of keeping with the rest of the bathroom as they are dated yes there are great modern mosaics on the wall of the shower (nb no bathtub). Additionally the shampoo quantities are very small. Hard furnishings are dated - e.g. cupboard doors don't quite close and look tired. In room wifi was ridiculously (read unusably) slow - for $16.95 it's not worth it.

Another bug bear is that you enter on ground level and have to use the (slow) lift to get to Lobby level before crossing to the main lift. Just a bit convoluted, but it has the advantage of keeping the riff raff out of the bar area.

Service was on the whole good although my credit card was charged rather than paying through my company (later rectified quickly) and the front desk didn't tick the right box to enable me to use club lounge first time requiring a trip down to ground level to sort it out.

Yes this review is picky, but at this price range things need to be perfect and/or fixed very quickly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#159 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 7,044 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#206 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,707 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#270 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#53 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,607 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,223 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#45 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Property: Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
#124 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel housed in 1930s building, located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing