We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Chic and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Ranked #171 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I used Marriott points to get a room for my wife and two girls, so they could see Wicked. They loved the hotel, very chic. There isn't a better location in Manhattan to stay. Easy public transportation all around.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,328 - 1,334 of 2,448 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at Renaissance July of 2011 and it is by far one of the best hotels I have stayed at thus far. The bed was to die for and a guarantee that you would have a great night of sleep. The hotel is centrally located in Time Square and its really cool to be able to come out at any given time and be surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Time Sqaure. The Hotel Bar that faces Time Sqaure is Awsome! Great for people who dont mind splurging to experience a A+++ Service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RENA614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I cannot say enough about this property from the staff as soon as you walk in the door at check-in and the bell desk to the quality and cleanliness of the rooms. I could sit here and talk about all the wonderful amenities, but just know they are all great! The concierges are top notch and know all the best spots. Showers, Beds, Rooms, Elevators, all top notch ( I say elevators because of past frustration with elevators at the nearby Marriott Marquis ). Always willing to accommodate and help. As a Marriott Gold Member, I received free continental-ish breakfast (did have eggs and sausage as well) on weekdays. The restaurant in the lobby is a little pricey, but most people just eat out in the city.

#1 Property in NYC!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disneydad331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent hotel and location for all the main tourist sights/activities. Renaissance came to our rescue with a "last minute opening" reservation during a busy Labor Day weekend, allowing our party of 4 to move from a lesser quality hotel (that failed to meet modest expectations) to this one. We were so thankful they were able to accommodate us! Easy walking distance to all the main attractions, rooms are clean, well designed/laid out, spacious, art-deco inspired lobby and wonderful view of Times Square from the lobby bar. Concierge was very friendly and professional - he explained the discount coupons available for tourists ie; Double Decker bus tours, Rock Center and Harbor tours. Made great recommendations! Breakfast was very good, but expensive for the full hot & cold buffet (pay attention to the price difference between Continental and hot buffet items before you serve your plate and sit down otherwise if you start eating without specifying, you will be charged for full cost.). Most importantly, rooms were very quiet with fantastic large windows with views of the street/square. Staff was friendly, courteous and nothing short of what I expect from the Marriott Team. Will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great hotel located with amazing views down Times Square (esp from the bar/club lounge (0630-1000)). The hotel has had a reasonably thorough revamp so the lobby looks great. Rooms are large and very quiet by NYC standards, with very comfortable beds and quiet a/c. Gym is bigger than the usual shoe box with aerobic equipment and free weights.

However you can tell that the hotel wasn't totally refurbished when you look at (and hear) the lifts, some of the hard furnishings and the bathrooms. I still don't understand it when shower heads are not high enough for somebody of 5'10" never mind over 6'. Basins are out of keeping with the rest of the bathroom as they are dated yes there are great modern mosaics on the wall of the shower (nb no bathtub). Additionally the shampoo quantities are very small. Hard furnishings are dated - e.g. cupboard doors don't quite close and look tired. In room wifi was ridiculously (read unusably) slow - for $16.95 it's not worth it.

Another bug bear is that you enter on ground level and have to use the (slow) lift to get to Lobby level before crossing to the main lift. Just a bit convoluted, but it has the advantage of keeping the riff raff out of the bar area.

Service was on the whole good although my credit card was charged rather than paying through my company (later rectified quickly) and the front desk didn't tick the right box to enable me to use club lounge first time requiring a trip down to ground level to sort it out.

Yes this review is picky, but at this price range things need to be perfect and/or fixed very quickly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I thoroughly recommend this hotel as the room was clean and tidy and the beds were comfortable. But the key advantage of this hotel is the location. In Times Square I was within walking distance of Empire state, Rockefeller and all the other tourist attractions. My thoughts on the staff are very favourable both from my personal experience and seeing what they did for other guests the staff do everything they can to make the trip enjoyable. I would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try to get 20th floor or above as you then begin to benefit from the views into times square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ijw36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night using Marriott Rewards Points. The hotel is, as stated by others, an oasis in Times Square. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite on the 25th floor (room 2502). The furnishings are very hip and modern. Check-in is right off the street and very convenient. The elevator takes you to the lobby level which is beautifully furnished. There is a bar, a comfortable seating area and the R Lounge, which sits overlooking Times Square. The Lounge also serves as the breakfast area for concierge level guests. Another elevator in the lobby takes you to your room floor. Our upgraded room wasn't ready when we arrived at 3 p.m., so we were given coupons for lunch in the R Lounge. The suite itself was very spacious with 2 bathrooms, a king bed and a separate living area with sofa bed. We had a great view of 7th avenue and all the billboards. Even though you are in Times Square, we never heard any noise. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a large walk-in shower. All the room amenities were great. Right after we arrived, a maid knocked on our door and brought us ice and chocolates. Never had that happen before in any hotel. We had room service after the show at Radio City (the Rockettes are fabulous, don't miss it). The food was okay. We have stayed at several Marriott properties in New York City (Marquis, Courtyard, Hotel 57), but this one is the BEST. There is something to be said for the smaller, boutique style hotel. If you are used to larger, more impersonal hotels, you may not like this one. For our money or points, this is where we will stay again. The staff is friendly
and accommodating. You absolutely cannot beat the location, and the view from the R Lounge is spectacular. The best thing about this hotel is the calm you experience when returning from a hectic environment. Try to get the best rate available and always ask for an upgrade at check-in. Better yet, join Marriott Rewards and stay for points.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank landr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#268 of 470 in New York City
4,366 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#174 of 470 in New York City
11,369 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#189 of 470 in New York City
8,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#180 of 470 in New York City
2,776 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#78 of 470 in New York City
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel

Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-7301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#113 Business Hotel in New York City
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $242 - $964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel is a boutique hotel in New York City located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. Enjoy easy access to Times Square and many other popular attractions in the area. Visit R Lounge and take in the views of the City while enjoying your favorite cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing