We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel in a perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
Ranked #290 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great location, easy check-in, comfy bed, very nice people working there. I would definitely return. Breakfast at restaurant was delicious and again the people there were so nice as well. Also Starbucks on site is a huge plus.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank brennandpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear brennandpm,

Thank you so much for your kind words and very glad that you had a great stay here! I will be sure to share your kind words with the staff and I hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    1,171
    514
    229
    162
See reviews for
563
1,077
185
679
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights for his birthday weekend in NYC. We loved our experience at this hotel. The room was small but well appointed and the front desk staff accommodated our request for an early check-in. (Only an hour early but that was very helpful considering the jammed lobby.) The location is extremely convenient with subway stations an easy few blocks either north or south. There is a good bistro, a Starbucks, and an interesting Chinese restaurant on property. Considering the freezing weather, we were grateful for all 3. I would recommend this property and will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Susan T,

Thank you for your feedback and we are so glad that you and your husband had an enjoyable stay here. I hope he had a good birthday weekend in the City and enjoyed the Food & Beverage outlets at the hotel as well. Once again, thank you for your kind words and hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We stayed in the Lady Ella suite and when we saw the room I had to check my confirmation email to see if I misunderstood the rates and that the price I thought we paid for two nights wasn't the per night price.

Our room was huge! One bathroom was small but the other one was gigantic. Both beds were very comfortable. The terrace was a pleasant surprise. The room is just stunning and I'm glad we splurged for the suite.

The staff were very friendly and very efficient. We needed more towels and they were there in no time. Our room was spotless. I ran into the maid one morning and she was lovely. We were in need of a cab on Saturday night and the doorman went above an beyond for us on a very busy night! All the staff at the door were very friendly.

One of the days we were there was very rainy. I love that they have umbrellas to borrow. Very useful.

The location was excellent. So central and easy to get to from all parts of the city. The sirens and honking that other posters were writing about is normal for NYC. It's a loud city. Not the hotels fault. If you are sensitive to noise get earplugs or don't go to Manhattan. I personally enjoy the sounds of the city.

The Lexington will definitely be my go to hotel on future trips.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlliEmm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Alli S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback! I am so glad to hear you have enjoyed our Lady Ella Suite. I will be sure to share your kind words with the staff and hope to see you back soon!

Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

A short walk from several subways, Broadway, Rock Center, Times Square, and within view of the Waldorf Astoria, we were delighted with the location. Thanks to previous business travel we were checked in promptly by very gracious staff at the Elite Member desk, grateful that we weren't waiting in the line stretching through the lobby to the main desk.
Bed was comfy, bathroom compact and well equipped, bathrobe and safe in closet. Not much of a view. Very noisy hallway doors slamming shut at all hours, and street noise heard from 12th floor.
Great breakfast in Raffles on the street level of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Diane D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback! I'm glad you had a good check-in and enjoyed Raffles as well. I will share your comments in regards to the doors slamming shut with the appropriate parties to see what we can do about that. Once again, thank you for choosing The Lexington NYC and hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Pros: It's a great location, the staff was friendly, the lobby was beautiful, and there's a Starbucks on the main level.

The room was small but that's the norm for NYC so I don't view it as a con. The room and bathroom were nice enough. We had remotes, enough towels, the room was cleaned* while we were out, the shampoo and other toiletries were restocked, and when requested, a bottle opener was brought to our room within 10 minutes.

*Please note that cleaned just means that towels were restocked, bathroom was cleaned, and beds were made. However, the drawers don't seem to be checked by the maids. We found a plastic bag of chicken bones in the drawer of the dresser on which the TV sits. This was absolutely disgusting and should not occur in a room of this caliber.

Cons: The mattresses were horrendous. I find it strange that another reviewer said they were soft as marshmallows because the ones in our room (1204) felt like they were made of plywood boards wrapped in some thin foam and then covered with sheets. Both my sister and I had sore backs both mornings. So there must be different mattresses in different rooms. Check out the mattress as soon as you get in so you can change rooms more easily. Also, if you're a light sleeper, check out your view first. If you're facing Lexington or on the corner of Lexington and 48th, you will hear all sirens, car honks, and midnight drunks screaming at the top of their lungs that "NYC is INDEED a city that never sleeps." Also, there was a slight smell of smoke in the room even though it was non-smoking (I'm super sensitive to it). I assume the prior guest had been charged the $250 cleaning fee because it seemed like they had tried to get rid of the smell but just hadn't quite succeeded.

I'm a Gold Marriott Rewards member and I wish that would count for something: like a better location, no chicken bones in my drawers, no smoking smells, and the "soft as marshmallow mattresses" that the other reviewer mentioned. No such luck. Needless to say, I will not waste my money on this hotel again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueyedworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Blueyedworldtraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Thank you for being a loyal Marriott memer and I'm glad to hear that your check in process went smoothly. I apologize for the quality of the bed and I will be sure to share your feedback with the Director of Housekeeping to make sure we are rectifying this situation. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and hope that we can restore your faith in our hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Spent 6 days here alone and what a fabulous hotel , recently renovated and looked exactly as advertised.

Lovely foyer with lots of seating and a great bar that serves up a yummy dirty martini .

My room was absolutely gorgeous , and the bed, oh the bed , it was like sleeping on a huge marshmallow , I thought the Westin hotels with their heavenly beds were the comfiest beds in the world until I had the pleasure of sleeping in this bed .

Rooms are quire spacious for Manhattan standards , the bathrooms are quite compact as other reviews state but I really don't understand what people moan about , it's a bathroom for goodness sake , how much time do you spend in there ????? What I can say is the shower head definitely makes up for the compact bathroom , four different options all of which were great and the water pressure was great , like having a jacuzzi shower .

It was great that you had free wifi in your room and also free use of the business centre to print out tickets etc.

Housekeeping were lovely ladies and always had a smile .

The only complaint I have is that door men are not that friendly and helpful as other doormen I've encountered in Manhattan and the fact they charge you $2 per suitcase for them to store your luggage , never in all my travels have I had to pay for this .

Overall this is a fabulous hotel , extremely comfortable rooms and in a great location approx 10 mins walk to 5th Avenue .

Please do not be put off by the dreadful reviews on this hotel , if I had believed what other reviewers had written I would have cancelled and missed out on sleeping on a marshmallow :-)

It was a pleasure to stay at the Lexington , keep up the good work .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poshbird232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Poshbird232,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback! I am very glad to hear that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed our marshmallow bed. I will be sure to share your kind words with the staff. I hope to see you soon at The Lexington NYC!

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Renovation was just completed two months ago. This place can be described as New York Hip and Cool."

It's an old building with a modern twist. This is not your typical modern Marriott. By that I mean, the room configurations differ... some are bigger... some are small... and some are tiny. Our bedroom was great for four people ... the bathroom was not (tiny would be a better description). But the truth is -- that's OK. I believe you realize that in a unique property like this, you are not going to have the same square footage and layout as the hotel you were in last week in "Anytown, USA."

Two minor negative comments: one, we did notice COLD air coming through the old windows (that's not unusual for NY buildings). second-- we had four people in our room and two sets of towels. We called for additional towels before leaving for dinner. After returning, we noticed no towels had been delivered so we called again. In short, we had three deliveries of towels and two follow up phone calls. It was almost comical.

As a Marriott Gold Elite member, I qualify for free breakfast. They give me two vouchers for the restaurant. There is no elite lounge for a "quick" breakfast, so plan on a little more time.

The place was spotless!!

Room Tip: Room sizes vary... ask for a corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 886SteveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear 886SteveS,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. I wil relay the issue with the windows to the Director of Engineering so that it can be fixed. I will also let the Director of Housekeeping know of the delay in towels so that these issues can be rectified in the future. I appreciate your kind words and hope to see you at The Lexington in the future!

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#319 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,352 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott East Side
New York Marriott East Side
#285 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#313 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#282 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection

Property: The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
Address: 511 Lexington Avenue, at 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#182 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#241 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 725
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown's fashionable East Side, The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection debuted as part of the Marriott Autograph Collection hotel in summer 2013 after an extensive $46 million dollar transformation project. Our Midtown Manhattan hotel's full-service accommodations sit in a 28-story building offering 725 guestrooms and suites, with some featuring two baths or balconies. The Lexington Hotel New York City, Autograph Collection is steps from the United Nations, Grand Central Terminal and Park Avenue, and is walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Bloomingdales, Madison Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Broadway theaters/Times Square, and many museums. The revitalized hotel has been completely transformed and is a great choice for business and leisure visitors looking for an upscale, iconic New York City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Radisson Hotel
Radisson Lexington Hotel New York
Radisson New York City
New York City Radisson
Radisson Lexington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing