We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,559)
Filter reviews
4,559 results
Traveler rating
2,871
1,243
314
90
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,871
1,243
314
90
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar haven rooftop times square new york rooms are small continental breakfast door staff bagels our honeymoon cupcakes brick wall perfect location concierge service rockefeller center fantastic hotel big apple central park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 4,559 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2019

Stayed here for 5 nights last week. There were 4 of us (2 parents and 2 adult children) so we booked a deluxe 2 double bedded room. Room 412 overlooked the street, had 2 big windows, was large enough and had a totally separate bathroom. Everywhere was very clean and well maintained. Yes, the corridors are a bit dark but that doesn't spoil the hotel experience. No drinks in the room but tea, coffee and iced water always available in the lobby. The air conditioning was very welcome! All the staff were very professional, pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was good (one of the only hotels in NYC to provide this) nothing extravagant but plentiful and edible: bread/toast, pastries, tea/coffee/juice, fruit, yoghurts, scrambled egg and either bacon or sausages.
We didn't use the rooftop bar as we didn't get chance to although it looked popular.
Turn left out of the hotel door and within 2 minutes you're at Times Square, turn right and in a minute you're at the 47th-50th Rockefeller subway station.
Would we stay here again? Most definitely!

Room tip: 412 as it was large and light. Overlooked the road which was a bit noisy but it didn't bother us.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TW6671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryNewYork, S.T.A.R. Experience Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear TW6671,

I am incredibly pleased that had such a lovely time with us and thank you for your kind words! We feel our location being so central to the heart of Manhattan is an aspect of our appeal and you have proven it! Additionally we feel the small touches such as our American Continental Breakfast, and La Cloumbe Refreshment Station add to our allure and I am glad you enjoyed them.

We strive to create unique, unforgettable experiences for our Guests and feedback such as yours allows us to grow and reflect on our service. If and when you plan to come to New York again, please reach out directly to star@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com and we will be certain to take care of you once more!

James Valdez
S.T.A.R. Experience Manager
The Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019 via mobile

This hotel has a slick website, great photos and promises a great stay. But when you arrive and check in this hotel it under delivers. Small rooms, limited storage for clothing.and very overpriced for what you get. Do your homework before choosing this hotel there are better options.?

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ackermann17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryNewYork, S.T.A.R. Experience Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ackermann17,

I am glad to hear that you found our website helpful but am distressed that it did not match the quality you expected when you arrived. I would very much like to speak with you in reference to your time with us and discuss the issues you mentioned.

We strive to create unique, unforgettable experiences for our Guests and feedback such as yours allows us to grow and reflect on our service. If and when you plan to come to New York again, please reach out directly to star@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com and we will be certain to take care of you once more!

James Valdez
S.T.A.R. Experience Manager
The Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

5 stars hotel in Times Square to be avoided. The breakfast is a 2 stars hotel. Omelette made if powder and butter and some juice. The coffee is awful. The rooms are small and the hotel elevator needs maintenance.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank cosminc804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryNewYork, S.T.A.R. Experience Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2019

Dear cosminc804

I hope you have found your way safely home and I thank you for your frank feedback. We are in fact a 4* Hotel and our American Continental Breakfast is explained at check in as such. If we failed to do so, I sincerely apologize. I would like to speak with you in reference to your stay and the photograph you've taken. Please reach out directly to star@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com and we can go from there.

I thank you again for taking the time to reach out with your disappointments and look forward to hearing from you.

James Valdez
S.T.A.R. Experience Manager
The Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

Cozy stay in great location in NYC! Service was excellent! Room was comfortable and cozy. Close to 5th Avenue and Times Square. Convenient. Enjoyed my stay! Too difficult to meet 200 character minimum.

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank CindyOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryNewYork, S.T.A.R. Experience Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2019

Dear CindyOcean,

Don't you worry, you hit that 200 character minimum just fine!

I am incredibly pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind words! We feel our location being so central to the heart of Manhattan is an aspect of our appeal and you have proven it!

We strive to create unique, unforgettable experiences for our Guests and feedback such as yours allows us to grow and reflect on our service. If and when you plan to come to New York again, please reach out directly to star@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com and we will be certain to take care of you once more!

James Valdez
S.T.A.R. Experience Manager
The Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommended this hotel and will return very soon.
Rooftop bar was amazing. Comfortable beds. Loved the free breakfast and beverages always available.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank dbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryNewYork, S.T.A.R. Experience Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2019

Dear dbro,

I am incredibly pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind words! I will be certain that your review is shared with the remainder of the team here at The Sanctuary.

We strive to create unique, unforgettable experiences for our Guests and feedback such as yours allows us to grow and reflect on our service. If and when you plan to come to New York again, please reach out directly to star@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com and we will be certain to take care of you once more!

James Valdez
S.T.A.R. Experience Manager
The Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews