We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #51 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

I can't rate this hotel highly enough.
Great use of maximising room space, clean, great location, fab roof terrace & the friendliest most helpful hotel staff I have ever met.....especially the door staff!
Nothing is too much trouble, they are happy to give their opinions or make suggestions on where to visit & places to eat.
Will definitely return!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hulaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We are glad to know that you had such a wonderful experience with us.

We would love to see you back for another great visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,456
    1,010
    216
    62
    21
See reviews for
585
1,929
131
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Everyone was so nice and helpful during our stay. Brandon helped us with our site seeing adventures and how to get around on the subway. The rooms were very clean. We had the best view of the street and the location is perfect. Right around the corner from Time Square but away from the crowd. We will definetly stay at Sanctuary again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
I am delighted to hear that Brandon was able to assist you with your experience.

Our staff make every effort to go above and beyond and we are glad that we could do that for you.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC, please think of The Sanctuary Hotel. We would love to see you again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

The name says it all - A sanctuary among the bustle of Times Square. Also within walking distance to many NYC attractions.

Once your inside... Enjoy being pampered. This place is beautiful and mysterious. The staff are of 5 star quality, the room is very nice. Bed was very comfortable and the shower was amazing. The room was very nice - plenty of room for 2. Small, but well thought out.

Continental breakfast was well organized, with a variety to choose from. It was delicious.

My only complaint was in regards to the rooftop Haven restaurant. It was over priced and mediocre service. Our plates were taken before we were finished, by a very young gentleman. In fact - I was still holding my appetizer in my hand when he snatched my plate. The food was only okay. But perfect atmosphere for a 1 to 2 drink max on a nice evening.
I would definite stay here again in a heartbeat.
Traveler tip: stay on a Sunday night for a drastically reduced rate and a free drink :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahockel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We simply love pampering our guests and we are happy that you enjoyed your experience.

I am sorry that your experience at Haven Rooftop was not quite the same. I will certainly bring your concerns up with the management team upstairs.

We would love to see you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

This 47th St Hotel great convenient place to stay .Staff were extremely helpful and friendly .Rooms were large and beds very comfortable .Only fault was the very dark decor and the unimaginative breakfast .The bar downstairs was good but the rooftop bar really buzzes and is fab fun .Subway stations at each corner

Room Tip: Room was overlooking 47th and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandkrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

We would love to see you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We decided to go here to celebrate my 40th birthday. When we arrived it was to a warm welcome, they knew I was here for my birthday so they all wished me a happy birthday as well as the concierge and couldn't do enough for us.
Everything we walked out and in it was welcoming and they always said hello, have a nice day, welcome back, have you had a nice day. On checking out they seemed genuinely sad by this, they asked if we'd had a great time, my partner told them that we had also got engaged whilst here. They were so enthusiastic to hear about it and told others around them too.
So the staff are fantastic, Brandon on concierge was brilliant in helping us get some Yankees tickets.
Location is fantastic! Steps away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square but quiet enough to sleep uninterrupted. The ambience is great, low lighting and calm music. Although we never used it there is a rooftop bar and restaurant, must be good as locals were queuing to get up there.
Room was a decent sized room, comfortable and massive bed.
If you've ever read a review by me before you'll see that I always ask one question! Would I stay here again........
A huge yes is the answer to that.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Congratulations on your engagement! We are delighted to know that your visit with us was so special. Thank you for sharing your experience here.

We always appreciate when guests take the time to provide us with such great feedback and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Thumbs up allround. My entire stay was relaxed due to diligent & helpful staff. The hotel itself was fabulous; quiet but still lively. Will definitely come back to stay. From arrival to leaving the hotel was a definite must, the roof top bar an excellent place to go in the Time Square area and luckily so close.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZabiDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your "Thumbs up". The staff will be so excited to read about your comments.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC, please think of The Sanctuary Hotel. We would love to have you back.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Salvation from stress is obvious the moment you step into the Sanctuary hotel. Its atmosphere is welcoming, and it decompresses one after a long journey or jostling experience through the busy city. Clean, modern, convenient. Leaving, turn right and you find Times Square; turn left and you find Rockefeller Center all within a 3 to 5 minute walk. Anything you need to enhance your trip is accommodated--taxis, tickets, directions... Do NOT miss the Haven, a superior rooftop experience.

Room Tip: Third floor is good--high enough to be away from street noise, and low enough to use steps instead o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamasooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We are happy to know that you found your "salvation" here at The Sanctuary Hotel.

We hope that you will be back with us soon, for another great visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#41 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#50 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing