We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arrival to departure everything was first rate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #61 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Arrival to departure everything was first rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Its one thing to say that 'we're here to help; enjoy your stay;
But to actually find a hotel where those words were actioned by every member of staff was the greatest surprise.
Nothing was too much to ask for...printing out tickets for online bookings made; assistance in online check-in for flights; booking tickets to a show.
The rooftop bar was a great place to finish off a fully packed day. Loved the Cloudtini!
From the moment we (my sister, my brother-in-law and myself) arrived we were made to feel so welcome.
Not only was everyone helpful but each person was so approachable and willing to ensure our stay was first rate.
Great location great service great atmosphere...
Thanks for being part of our trip to New York


  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissieBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We make every effort to create a unique and memorable experience for all our guests. Knowing that we were able to do that for you, brings smiles to all our faces.

We hope to have you back for another delicious "Cloudtini" in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,515
    1,036
    229
    66
    23
See reviews for
606
1,981
135
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

The Sanctuary is ideally located minutes from Times Square. This Boutique Hotel is a great base to experience central New York. Times Square, 5th Avenue, Rockefeller Centre, and Central Park are all within easy walking distance.

The staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel is well appointed. The room was small but comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Smyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This place is a gem. We just finished our second stay at this hotel. It is close to the theater district but not surrounded by all the tourist trappings. The staff is attentive, always providing first class service. In short, they make you feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We are excited to know that we were able to provide you with the "First Class" service that you expected.

We make every effort to provide our guest with the very best and we would love to see you back with us again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Very welcoming staff from the moment we arrived. Did their best to advise and orientate us. The room, though small, was very comfortable. Nice ambiance and nicely furnished boutique hotel. Only criticism is that the roof bar was a little underwhelming, felt a little cramped with not the best use of space. Don't understand why the waitress had to be so scantily clad either.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

I will certainly address your concerns with our management team. We hope to have you back for another visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Me and my wife Stayed for 5 days in Sanctuary Hotel. The location
is fantastic, near Times Square. The rooms are small but well equiped. The service in general was very good, from the street front door to the bar in penthouse.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Osmar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
I'm delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your 5 day stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We spent six nights at the Sanctuary for our honeymoon and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel!
When we arrived we were shown to our room which was lovely, although unfortunately too small for the amount of luggage we had brought (my fault!). When I enquired whether they had a larger room available they apologised and said that they were fully booked that night but that they could upgrade us to a larger room the following day for the remainder of our stay. They even took me to see a king room to check I was happy with it!
Both the queen and king rooms were both finished to a great standard and although the larger room faced the road, we were on the 8th floor and the noise was not loud enough to be an issue.
The staff were all fantastic and couldn't have done more to help. They even gave us a complimentary bottle of fizz to celebrate our honeymoon.
The location is great for tourists, 2 minutes from Times Square and not much more to the Rockefeller Centre and 5th Avenue shopping. There were a wide range of restaurants in the local area and the food was also great at the hotel's rooftop bar.
All in all, we had a fantastic stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Sanctuary to anyone!

Room Tip: Queen rooms are small (no real wardrobe space or anywhere to store your cases) so if you're stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We are happy to know that you had such a special visit with us here at The Sanctuary Hotel. We appreciate the opportunity of being a part of your honeymoon memories. It's moments like these that we strive to go above and beyond so that we may provide a memorable visit.

We would love to see you back with us again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend (now fiancé!!) and I stayed at Sanctuary for 4 nights on a recent trip to NYC. From the moment we stepped out of the taxi we received nothing but exceptional service. Jacob on the STAR desk was a fantastic help and ensured we got the best out of our 4 days in the city.

The rooms, although small, are immaculate. The shower is huge and the beds are comfortable. Although so close to Times Square, there is no noise whatsoever.
Breakfast was included in the room rate and is served up on the rooftop bar every morning. The selection is good enough and kept us going until lunch time every day.

The best thing about The Sanctuary is the customer service. One evening, Jacob made us a reservation for dinner before a show we were going to see. However whilst we were getting ready we realised the show started an hour earlier than we thought. We rang down to the STAR desk to ask if they could change our reservation to after the show, which they were more than happy to do so. 5 minutes later we were called back to tell us they had changed the reservation and that they were sending up some room service on the house to keep us going until after the show. Now THAT is great customer service.

The Sanctuary really is your own sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It was a fantastic stay and I would recommend the hotel to any of my friends or family if they were travelling to NYC. I know that if we were ever to return to NYC, we would never stay anywhere else.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bwin111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Congratulations and thank you for choosing The Sanctuary Hotel for your 4 day trip here in New York City.

We are delighted to hear that you and your fiancé had such a remarkable visit. I will surely shared your wonderful comments with Jacob and the rest of the staff. We would love to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing