We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Sanctuary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Sanctuary”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the beginning of March and from start to finish our experience of the hotel was excellent. The staff were welcoming and the room was compact but good for NYC. The bed was amazingly comfy! It was cold in NYC but the hotel was warm and quiet considering how close it is to Times Square. The breakfast was superb, just enough to start your day and (especially good for us Brits who are up soooo early because of the time difference) it opens at 7, allowing plenty of time before sight seeing. Breakfast was laid out in the roof top bar each morning and it had obviously been cleaned from the night before so the over welcoming smell was bleach not breakfast! Not a major issue, we still enjoyed the scrambled egg and bagels.
My only criticism of the hotel would be the roof top bar. Like I say NYC was freezing in March. On the first day we arrived back at the hotel wrapped in our layers of clothes and thought we would enjoy a few drinks before going to bed. At night the elevator to the bar/restaurant is manned by a doorman, I assume to check ages etc. He asked us to go back to our room and leave our coats which we did, then when we arrived at the rooftop we were greeted at the elevator, we explained we just wanted a drink from the bar, the lady said the bar was too busy and if we just sat down someone would come and serve us. It was over half an hour before they did and then another 20 mins until the drink arrived! I understand the Haven rooftop bar is used by locals and is very busy but it is the only hotel bar for the hotel residents too and we should be made to feel welcome. I have to say after that experience we didn't try again and had all our drinks at Langans Irish Bar a few doors away.
Overall a fabulous hotel just a few niggles that didn't spoil our dream holiday in The Big Apple.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
I am happy to know that your overall experience at The Sanctuary was so memorable.

However, I do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced at the rooftop restaurant, Haven. Rest assured that your concerns will be addressed and we will continuously work on improving our service.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,544
    1,058
    236
    68
    25
See reviews for
611
2,017
141
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This hotel is beautiful and interesting. I stay there whenever I'm in NYC. The accomodations are uber-comfortable. The beds are amazing. By far their best asset is the staff - from the door men to the front desk people. The best feature is the S.T.A.R.s program - which is their twist on the concierge. Those guys really make the place special. If you are a repeat guest, like I am, be sure to meet them all - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are at the back, but you're in NYC - some city noise is part of the charm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny7219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Our S.T.A.R. (Service Tailored to Any Request) philosophy is all about tailoring the experience according to the needs of each individual guests. We are here to help you discover "your" very own Sanctuary.

The team will be excited to read about your reviews and we hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I loved this hotel. The rooftop bar/restaurant was really nice. Climate controlled. Great music & atmosphere. Two bathrooms with Bose surround sound in the suite. Living space separate from bedroom. Just a great experience overall. Close to the action & walked only 1/2 block to broadway show. I will be back & will tell others about the fabulous boutique hotel experience.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonjohnso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at The Sanctuary Hotel.

Many guest such as yourself, enjoy the comfort of our rooms...especially the "Sweet" suite that you stayed in.

The staff will be very excited to read about your comments and thank you for your recommendation to others. We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a great and interesting hotel. The staff was wonderful and friendly at all times. The rooms, were NYC small, but were decorated very nicely and innovative in their layout. Only a half a block from the bustle, the city seemed to disappear once you entered the gorgeous and inviting lobby. I would recommend it and come back.

Room Tip: You'll hear the motor of the elevator if you're next to it on the top floor. I didn't n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for providing us with such great feedback.

We pride ourselves in being a discrete retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Our goal is to help each guest discover their very own Sanctuary.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back and hope to see you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
287 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The staff at the hotel are what I remember first. Warm and welcoming in New York City, with the air of luxury you'd expect from a hotel of this caliber - and none of the snootiness. Just walking through the lobby past the staff was a pleasure.

The room I had was very small but the space management was excellent. Very comfortable bed and wonderful all round design.

I booked through the Hotel Tonight app while waiting for bags at Newark and that process was smooth and easy.

The outdoor bar/restaurant on the roof was decorated like a French ski chalet - and compared to the decor in the rest of the hotel, this was a bit cheesy. I'm sure they'll change the theme for the summer season. But good service and a lovely breakfast in the morning.

If Times Square is your thing, the hotel is a short walk away.

I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We appreciate the feedback and thank you for choosing The Sanctuary Hotel.

Our rooms are designed with the intent of maximizing use of space while providing our guests with an atmosphere that is inviting and warm. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations.

We would love to see you back soon, so that you can see the transformation of our rooftop into the summer theme.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Horkesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on the reviews, location and an excellent deal through booking.com. We were not disappointed as the welcome was friendly, room comfortable and facilities excellent. The free wifi throughout and complimentary breakfast were a bonus. The latter being served in a ski chalet style rooftop terrace, heated and covered in the winter. Only slight niggle was it was a bit noisy around 4.30am where we were located and there was no tea and coffee facilities in the room. Coffee and iced water was available
in the concierge area however. Location can't be beaten. Right off Times Square and a short walk
to Fifth Avenue and other major sights. Shout out to Ryan and Julio the doormen who were both great. Have already recommended to a friend that they stay here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Ryan and Julio will be very happy to read about your fantastic comments.

We always appreciate when guests take the time out of their busy schedules to provide us with feedback. We hope that you will be back in the near future, so that we can provide an even better experience.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I am so glad that we switched to the Sanctuary at the last minute. It's really well located for most things and is incredibly quite considering its proximity to Times Square. Everything that has been said already about the staff is absolutely true. Concierges Brandon and Jacob were incredibly kind and helpful. They have a great knowledge of the area and made very helpful recommendations. The reception staff were equally as helpful and we were really appreciative and impressed with the effort that went in to reserving specific seats for our journey home as we booked ourselves in for a Broadway Show before remembering it would clash with our 24hour check in time. One reception member went the extra mile and very kindly called in from home to make sure this was done for us. Door staff very polite and equally friendly and helpful despite standing in the cold March weather all day. All so kind and nothing too much trouble.

The hotel is nice and rooms are not huge but then we were out all day. Only one complaint, that was resolved swiftly and kindly, and that was being allocated, originally, a room on the 9th floor. The hotel has a rooftop bar, called Haven, and this seems to be very popular but if you want an undisturbed night of sleep then try to avoid getting a room on the 9th floor as it's the floor under the bar. We were jet lagged on our first night and did not appreciate the screaming and people talking loudly into mobile phones to get away from the noise of the bar. Our room was directly opposite the stair door so we were unlucky - no problem though as we were moved to an even better room on the 6th floor (all done for us while we were out) and also left a chilled bottle of fizz. That went down well as we were celebrating my birthday (a big one) and it was also really sweet that the staff made a big fuss of me when I appeared in reception on the big day.

March was a very cold time to visit New York and something that is nice and very welcoming is the trendy gas fires in reception. I haven't stayed in any other NY hotels to compare but I highly recommend this place, I felt very cared for and it is a really nicely decorated place with a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Avoid the 9th floor unless you are there for the night life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
It brings us great joy to be able to read such wonderful feedback. The entire team is ecstatic about your comments and we would love to thank you. Comment such as yours, is the reason why we continuously make effort to go above and beyond for our guests.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to your new home away from home and hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,133 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,369 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#83 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is a boutique luxury lifestyle design hotel conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. A hidden gem with very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Continental Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing