We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could need ... and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #73 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I spent a long weekend at the Sanctuary to celebrate her birthday. The hotel is well positioned in the heart of Manhattan but it's really calm and peaceful. The hotel is really stylish with a classy atmosphere without being stuck-up!

The staff really made our stay unique as the level of service they gave us was far greater than any other hotel I have stayed at in NYC. The front desk team were really welcoming and helpful but the concierge team were the stars of the show! They helped with reservations, advice on shows and also advice on what to see and do in a way that matched our interests.

I would definitely recommend the Sanctuary and look forward to staying with them again in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

I'm happy to know that we were able to provide you with such a great visit.

We appreciate your future recommendations and hope to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,054)
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Hotel New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,911 - 1,917 of 4,054 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed at this hotel last summer with my mother, and enjoyed the hotel very much as a whole.
The decor was beautiful and the staff were very kind and helpful. I would have to say my favourite part of our stay was the roof top restaurant/bar, which captured the essence of new york and offered great food. The only downside was the lack of ventilation in our room, as their was no windows, but overall we had a great say, and I would gladly return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We would love to see you back and try out one of our deluxe rooms. I trust with the upgraded amenities and additional space, it would be more suitable for your needs.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel is very centrally located, close to museums, theaters and subway stations with modern, quiet but small rooms, eg shower directly in the room. We had breakfeast included, which was very convenient

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klaus_riedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I and my twin sister stayed at this unique boutique hotel as part of our birthday celebrations. We already had high expectations and this hotel surpassed everything, completely faultless! We were greeted my Ryan who took our bags to our room and was very welcoming, great first impression! The check in was just as good, and we were informed we had a complimentary upgrade and when we got to our room there were chocolates and a birthday card signed by the staff; such a lovely gesture and made us feel very valued and special. This service continued throughout our stay. All the girls on the front desk were brilliant, in particular a lady (can't remember her name, she was new to New York too) typed out a personalised message including directions and recommendations when we were going over to Brooklyn. Special mention to Ryan and Jerome and the guys on the door, we always had a little chat about our plans for the day, they were all very friendly and forever pointing us in the right direction :). We also had a night at HAVEN the rooftop bar, again, first class service! We had dinner and mojitos in the cozy ski-chalet surroundings, great experience! It was our first time in New York and the location was perfect, near Times Square, Broadway and Top of the Rock, this means you can really make the most of your stay here and fit so much more in your day..and night, it really is 'the city that never sleeps'. Saying that the room was perfect, always got a good nights sleep and ready to get up early every morning! It was kept immaculate. The service is second-to-none, if only I could bottle it and take it home. Everyone works well as a team. I can't imagine staying in any other hotel. I will, without a doubt, stay here again. Very well done!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

We are excited to hear that you were able to discover your very own Sanctuary with us.

Nothing means more to us then when a guest has an experience that exceeds their expectations. The staff make every effort to provide our guests with the very best and we are delighted to know that we could do that with you.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to your new home away from home and hope to see you soon.

Warmest Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Me & my husband stayed at the sanctuary as a little honeymoon getaway to bad we were only able to stay 1 night. The best part about the hotel was the service!! Everyone was super friendly!! I had let the hotel know that it was our little honeymoon getaway ahead of time & when I was checking in they had told me they upgraded our room for the occasion to a queen delux which was a plus & everyone was congratulating us so we felt super special...we left the hotel for dinner & a show & when we got back we noticed a cute little surprise on our bed...mini cupcakes made by Melissa with a card congratulating us wanting to make our stay special.. It was so much more then I expected...my husband wasn't to thrilled they came in the room without us knowing but nothing was missing so it wasn't a big deal...loved the cupcakes!! room service was quick & tasty...went to the rooftop for breakfast, loved the style up there...basic foods nothing special but that's what u get for free I guess...only downside was how small the rooms were even after upgrade but we expected that when reading other reviews...upside was everything else from great service to friendly employees & guests to how sophisticated yet sexy the hotel looks & perfect location!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jld306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

I am so happy to hear that you and your husband had such a wonderful stay with us. The staff work really hard making every experience memorable and I'm glad that we could do that for your honeymoon.

With regards to entering your room, I'd like to apologize if this caused any inconvenience. The goal was to place a pleasant surprise for you upon return to recognize your special occasion. The last thing we would want is for anyone to feel uncomfortable about their room access. Guest security is priority with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Sanctuary Hotel and appreciate your great feedback.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Love this hotel. I travel to NY on business every couple of months primarily for meetings in Time Square area. It is centrally located, has great normal sized rooms (not those tiny ones you often get in this area), it is modern, and the service is exceptional. For someone from Miami it is a very expensive hotel but normal or even a great value for the area. Haven rooftop bar is a great place to meet for drinks, although are a bit on the high side.

Room Tip: Book rooms directly on their website. I have not been able to book room on hotel booking sites.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

We are happy to know that you loved your experience here with us at The Sanctuary Hotel.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to your new home away from home.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for six nights. The hotel has an excellent location in the Times Square, still it is so peaceful and quiet. Our room was small, but enough for the two of us. Bathroom was spacious, but quite cold, since it was winter. The room itself was nice and warm. The staff was welcoming and nice. Most of the travel guides warn of hotel breakfasts in NYC hotels, but Sanctuary's breakfast was a nice surprise!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

We are happy to hear that your 6 night stay with us was so enjoyable and we sincerely appreciate all your positive feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to your very own Sanctuary.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 468 in New York City
3,223 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
2,391 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 468 in New York City
408 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 468 in New York City
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $260 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing