We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #73 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
“Sanctuary Experience”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My family and I had a great experience. Staff was extremely kind and helpful. The hotel itself was very clean and cozy. We had a wonderful night at the rooftop bar and restaurant having food and cocktails while watching it snow outside.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,559
    1,068
    240
    68
    26
See reviews for
615
2,035
141
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lutherville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Every January my company has a meeting which is held at the very large Marriott Marquis since we have over 1,400 people at the meeting. I hate 50 story large hotels and we loved our third stay at Sanctuary Hotel in New York- the location is great 1 block to Times Square & the theater district & it took me less time to walk to the Marriott at 46th st than to wait for the elevator at that madhouse. The staff at Sanctuary was very nice- especially the bellman who ran down 47th street to get us a taxi- Also- i thought the complimentary breakfast was excellent compared to what most NY hotels charge. The rooms are kept in tip top shape & we look forward to returning in 2015-Lou- Lutherville, Maryland

Room Tip: We always prefer HIGH floor- Less Street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louhyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are glad to continuously welcome you back to your home away from home. Knowing that you enjoy your experience here stay after stay, brings smiles to all our faces.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next reservation. I would be more than happy to assist. I can be reached at Jeremy@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Often those who booked a hotel online to get know that the reality is different from the pictures.
This is not the case with the Sanctuary Hotel. Design, service, comfort, care and location are some of the features of this magnificent hotel.
The staff is highly professional and willing to give help, so that more than a guest feel at home.
No doubt I will return to Sanctuary to my next visit to the Big Apple.
Thank you Sanctuary.

Room Tip: Enjoy the hotel, where ever you are, you will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are happy to know that you will be back for another visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel was great.
Check in was a little slow (seemed like the gentleman at the desk was new, perhaps not yet comfortable with their system).
Room was clean, beds were AMAZING! Small bathroom but functional. Bath products were very nice. We were in #611 and had 2 beds. The room is certainly not designed/decorated for two women sharing. It was a bit tight but we didn't spend time in the room so was fine. There's a work desk but no light/lamp near it and there wasn't an extra mirror in the room which makes it hard for one person to say put make-up on while the other is in the bathroom.
Rooftop resto was really cool, food was delicious, best seared tuna I've had in a long while. Breakfast buffet was ok, nice touch to have gluten free bread (which was best I've had yet!).
So overall, it was a nice stay. I'd definitely go back as couple or if I weren't sharing a room with a colleague.

Room Tip: Double room #611 not good if you are two women sharing a room for work or vacay. I did see room 613...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We visited NYC for the fifth time this January and every time we change part of the city and hotel where we stay. This will be the only hotel where we will stay again, for sure.
When we arrived we were pampered from the first moment - the doorman, the receptionist who gave us extra nice rooms on the 8th floor, concierge, everyone was professional and nice, but in a discrete, non imposing way. Staff is one of the strongest of many positive sides of this hotel.
The hotel is not big in New York standards, which gives it even more charm. It's designed chic, but due to the use of right colours and materials the design is in the same time warm and welcome.
Rooms are super nice - even though most of the Americans will consider them small they are more than sufficient. It's New York people, be realistic! If you want lot's of space take a suite and not a room. For two of us 20 square meters was totally enough since the room was designed in a very space efficient way.
Beds are comfy, as are pillows. Mini bar is very well equipped and expensive, as expected in a good hotel.
Bar\Restaurant on the top is very nice - pleasant atmosphere and good cocktails.
Last and certainly not the least - location is unbeatable! 2 mins walking to Time Square, 1 min to subway, 15 min to Central Park. Centre of all centres of Manhattan.
All in all - AMAZING and HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Higher floor are definitely a better choice, since it's downtown and it's noisy on the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

Our goal is to create an atmosphere that is both inviting and warm, while providing a genuine service where guests feel a home away from home.

Thank you for your comments and we would love to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Sanctuary was a fantastic place to stay. Great location, friendly staff, very clean and spacious rooms (amazing beds!) and all round excellent experience. I would happily stay again and would recommend it to anyone wanting to be in the middle of the Big Apple!

Room Tip: The delux king is the perfect size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
I'm happy to hear that you had such a great experience at our hotel. We make every effort to provide our guests with a stay that is both unique and memorable.

We would love to see you back with us again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deptford, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Would like to thank the Sanctuary hotel. From check in to check out the entire staff was wanting to please. By far the best New Years ever. Had dinner/drinks at The Haven rooftop and the wait staff and hostess were fabulous as well. We can't wait to come back to this hotel. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your New Year's celebration with us.

We hope to have you back in the near future for another great experience.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#57 of 468 in New York City
3,158 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#22 of 468 in New York City
2,349 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 468 in New York City
865 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is a boutique luxury lifestyle design hotel conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. A hidden gem with very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Continental Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing