We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DREADFUL EXPERIENCE - 25th November, 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #61 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“DREADFUL EXPERIENCE - 25th November, 2013”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I telephoned this hotel prior to our visit explaining both my sister and I were disabled and needed mobility scooters to get around. We were assured that was not a problem as the hotel is suitable for disabled people and they even recommended 'Big AppleMobility Corp' for scooter rental. We followed their recommendation and rented the scooters, which would be delivered to the hotel. On our arrival we discovered that there were steep steps on entry. We began then to think, how would it be possible to use mobility scooters? Do they have another entrance/exit with a ramp? After all, we were told there would be no problem with scooters. What LIARS they were. There was no ramp, the doormen (who were lovely) had to physically lift the heavy scooters in and out, the hallways were so narrow that the scooters could get through and no more leaving no space to turn to get into the room. The lift could only take one scooter as it was too small. The room we were given was so small it didn't even have a window let alone room for a scooter. We had to upgrade to a bigger room as I felt clostrophobic. Stay away from here if you are disabled, they'll take your money and leave you to get on with it. DO NOT EVEN GO NEAR there recommended 'Big AppleMobility Corp' as both the scooters were delivered with so many faults we were almost killed. They broke down after 5minutes and had to be returned. They could not give us replacements as they didn't have any more, instead they would try and repair them and it would be the next day before we could get them back. They refused to give our money back so we were stuck in the hotel room. The next day, after numerous phone calls and threats, we still never got the scooters, but they did give a full refund that evening. That was no good to us as we were only there for two days and were leaving in the morning, so our two days stay in New York were spent stuck in a hotel room. The hotel refused to take any responsibility for recommending the mobility company and after much discussion with the hotel manager, Jeffrey Poon, we were offered another two nights stay at a reduced price of $300 over and above the money we had already paid. We refused his offer as our trip had already cost us over $800. We left the hotel in tears. We would never advise anyone to stay at the Sanctuary Hotel. If this is how they treat disabled people how would they treat able bodied people. They lied to us and took our money under false pretences, and we wish someone had had our experience and written a review because we would never have booked. There are plenty of other hotels in this area to choose from so BEWARE of this one.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Charlotte400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit.

We are very sorry that your experience did not meet expectations. The staff make every effort to provide the best services possible for all our guests and I must apologize that we were not able to do that for you.

However, I'd like to clarify that it was the hotel that contacted this company to obtain your full refund when they were not willing to do that for you. We made multiple phone calls to management and ownership before they finally agreed to reimburse you.

Please understand that certain issues are not within the hotel's control, but we still make every effort to assist our guests in every way. Besides obtaining the full refund for you, you requested that the hotel provide you with 2 additional complimentary nights, otherwise you would express your displease with all review sights. As a gesture of goodwill, we offered a very discounted rate of $150 a night for the next 2 nights on top of the complimentary upgrade that was already given to you upon check-in.

We pride ourselves in being an authentic lifestyle boutique hotel, with European inspired hospitality. As you see from our reviews, guests appreciate that we simply strive to provide them with intimate, genuine and personalized service. We wish that the Sanctuary Hotel could be the ideal choice for everyone. However, we understand that different guests have different needs, and that is why we put so much emphasis on creating a stay that is tailored to each individual.

Your concerns will certainly be addressed and efforts will be made to ensure that our future guests do not share the same opinion.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,529
    1,049
    235
    67
    23
See reviews for
610
1,998
140
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Sanctuary Hotel is truly a gem...it's steps away from the chaotic Times Square area! After a long day of sight seeing and enjoying the vibrant city life, it was so nice to step into the calming environment of the Sanctuary Hotel. The staff was amazing...they made you feel like you were "coming home" to your family. We were on the 7th floor, and the rooms were so nicely equipped, and the bed was very comfy. Nice & quiet as well...in NYC! The concierge established contact with us before we arrived & helped arrange some fabulous outings! Brandon is the best!! Thank you:) I searched quite a few hotels & read the reviews, and I decided to stay at the Sanctuary based on the positive experiences of others, so that is why I decided to write this review. I hope it helps someone else!

Room Tip: The rooms are small, I preferred the King Deluxe with a larger window. I like "natural light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We always appreciate when guests take the time out of their busy schedule to provide us with feedback.

We hope to see you again for another visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

May have been one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. Special thanks to Jerome and Markease. Reasonably priced, clean, and convenient to theater district. Haven restaurant convenient and also reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Call in person to make your reservation. They couldn't be more accommodating..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenwilwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Jerome, Markease and the rest of the staff, would love to see you back with us soon.

Thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I'll start with I won't go back. I had 2 rooms for 3 nights. We had several problems:

- Upon checking-in we went up to the hotel bar/restaurant - Haven. After 35 minutes in the bar we were handed our bill and told we had to leave. The Hotel had rented the bar and the restaurant out for private parties. They let us go in but literally were handed our bill and told to leave. The waiter apologized but said his boss (short Hispanic women) said we all had to leave. The bar was full!!!!!

-That night both our rooms got woken up by drunk women in the hallway talking VERY loudly. They went in their rooms but you could easy hear them. Then at 4:30 they we BACK out into the hallway. I opened the door and asked them to be quiet. Please read into this that the door do NOT block sound coming out of the rooms.

-Second night was the worst. Same room the women were in (201) had a family with a small child. They also had a second room at the other end of the hall. They opened the door and let at midnight a 3 or 4 year old running up and down the hall.
We called many times to the front desk. They called the room the first time; the door closed. Then the child screamed and we could easily hear "mama" for hours. We called a total of 4 times between midnight and 4:00 a.m.!!! The front desk FINALLY came up....then it started again at 5:55 as they checked out.
My issue was the front desk did not correcting the problem. This is a training problem. The front desk said that they have never had this problem and did not know what to do!

We were compensated $100 per room (our bill for 3 nights was $1,195 each room after the deduct). I took it but I don't feel we were compensated correctly. Anyone can rent a room but how you handle the problems when they occur makes you stand out. 4 hours of a child yelling "mama" and it not being corrected is a problem.

Room Tip: room 205 is smaller than others. 204 is right in front of the elevators,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Radford S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

A quiet room in NYC? Amazing. Being treated like royalty, even though I'm just a normal person? Incredible.

I was working on my laptop in the lobby (had already given up my room earlier in the day), and, after completing my work, the concierge rushed to my side with a glass of champagne. Wow.

Had to change to a later train, and was treated to a fresh cup of coffee while I waited.

Can't say enough about the staff, how accommodating and kind they are, and the hotel itself.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We are happy to know that you had such a terrific experience and would love to see you back with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

A most interesting place.... first the negative:
1. They were very booked with several (3 or 4) on our first night and we were asked to leave the rooftop bar to make room for the party (kinda snarky-like at that... not what you want guests in your hotel to see - party folks taking precedence over your guests).
2. The second night of our stay, some folks checked in with children (and I have nieces and nephews, so I love kids) who either needed some better parental guidance... or the parents need some parental lessons.. or the kids need a good swift "discipline" lesson. From midnight until way past 4AM these kids (all under the age of probably 6) screamed, talked loud, ran down our hallway... again, talking loud, screaming, stomping... It took over 4 phone calls to the front desk to get any action at all from the night staff that evening. However, the manager did make the inconvenience worth our while, per say.... although we dog-tired all the next day.
3. Our fourth (and last) day, the breakfast staff was too busy watching TV/talking to clear us a table, so I had to play bus-boy... not the end of the world, but for the price of these rooms - I expected a little better.
Now the positive... the staff in general from housekeeping, the door, the desk.... all WONDERFUL. Friendly, helpful, informative... always ready to assist with anything at all. That was a great plus and a welcomed bonus.
The location was amazing... we were close to all we wanted to see and do this trip... so no complaints there.
The rooms were pretty cool (smallish), but pretty cool. The decor of the hotel was awesome.. it was decorated for Christmas... Christmas music playing..... it was fantastic! All that also added to the wonderful trip....
All in all... past not getting a good night's sleep one night.... it was a very enjoyable experience and a really cool place to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClemsonTiger1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed for five nights at the Sanctuary and received fantastic customer service from start to finish. The staff were truly amazing no matter what time of day or night we approached them. Teas and coffees cd stay out a little longer so that we cd help ourselves instead of dragging the obliging staff to the restaurant to personally make them for us. I wd definitely recommend this hotel, fantastic location too. The staff really made our trip truly special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
I'm so delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us. The staff will certainly appreciate the great feedback and we hope to see you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,117 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is a boutique luxury lifestyle design hotel conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. A hidden gem with very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Continental Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing