We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #70 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Sanctuary Hotel is perfectly located 1 block from Times Square. We did not partake in the breakfast since the 4 of us wanted to go to Evergreens across the street for breakfast. Roof Top bar was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were adequate. Fortunately we had no loud neighbors as the walls were thin. Over all, both couples were pleased with the accommodations and the location was perfect.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and had no street noise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TideRider_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,057)
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Hotel New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,051 - 2,057 of 4,057 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Where do I begin to describe the most amazing place we have ever stayed? My friend and I take our little granddaughters to NYC the Friday after Thanksgiving for the weekend. This is our third year and it will continue to be a tradition! Our experience at the Sanctuary was above and beyond our expectations! The girls are 7 and 9 and they agree!! Upon our arrival, the doormen, Julio and Ninan, greeted us with..."We are your hands while you are here!" How true were their words...immediately we were served hot tea and cocoa, so warming on a very cold day. We checked in with Joe being so kind, then Brandon appeared! He graciously informed us that we had been upgraded to a suite~ well you can only imagine our delight! Upon entering the suite all of us were so taken back at the beauty of the rooms as well as the view! The suite was just gorgeous, so roomy with 2 separate areas, and the baths, with heated toilet seats and towel racks were amazing!! Even if you were not able to be in a suite, the hotel location is perfect!! Really, just steps to everything one must see while visiting NYC!!! I also must mention the phenomenal restaurant, The Haven, which we enjoyed both evenings! The waitstaff was just so attentive and so engaging with the girls who had their American Girl Dolls along for the dinner! So, truly, if you want the BEST experience ever while visiting NYC stay at the beautiful Sanctuary Hotel, dine at the Haven, you will NOT be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanCranston_Ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

It's reviews like yours that motivate the staff to consistently provide the very best for all our guests.

Joe, Brandon and the rest of the staff are missing you and hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this wonderful hotel Thanksgiving weekend to watch Kentucky play in Brooklyn and explore New York. Once we arrived the doorman greeted us in and took our bags and sent them to our room. The concierge In the lobby was very nice and offered many suggestions on places to go, and offered make help make reservations for us. The staff at the desk us all so very nice and easy to talk to. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The Bed was The best surprise because it so very soft and cozy. I've traveled all over the world and that was the beat hotel I've EVER slept in! The shower was Amazing as well! The Location of the hotel is perfect, a block from Times Square close to a subway entrance! Every morning we had breakfast and was delicious, But you must go upstairs in the evenings to the rooftop bar! OMG! Its Awesome! Overall the Hotel was very warm and inviting and very relaxing after taking on the Big Apple! You would be CRAZY to stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragon1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you for writing such a great review about your experience with us.

We hope to have you back with us in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from November 22 until November 24th, 2013. We loved our experience. The hotel is really well located, in amazing condition. The staff is fantastic. Especially Brandon. He is great with recommendation regarding where to eat.

Overall, we can't wait to go back next year

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Brandon and the Staff were very excited to read about your comments.

We would all love to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

First, any hotel is only as good as its staff, for the staff, i would award a dozen stars, exempelary is not a word i use often, well done to them,
This small hotel is large with style, from the decor, to the roof top bar, its superb, not everything was glowing, i really REALLY dont like not having coffee making facilities in the room, i like a brew when i wake, breakfast got a tad boring, you can only have so much scrambled egg, i was aware of the continetal style breakfast when we booked, but knowing what New York can serve up for breakfast, i think this needs addressing, indeed, i think plans are affoot to make the dining experiance a lot better, so, when i go back, i expect a surprise, for go back i will, the roof top bar and restraunt is SUPERB, we ate there twice, food was so good, i personally thanked the kitchen staff for a job well done, we had a week there, and thought well of it, apart from the very very small niggles mentioned, we loved it, and its well recomended, thanks guys,

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALANCManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Thank you so much to all at the Sanctuary Hotel for making our anniversary spectacular! We we upgraded to a heavenly suite and treated royally. Jacob and Lauren are both sweethearts who think only of making people happy! Success to you both! We had a blast, and will recommend to friends. And of course, we will be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolcidebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Sanctuary Hotel as the place to celebrate such a special occasion.

Jacob, Lauren and the rest of the staff would love to see you back for another visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The hotel offers a concierge service which was exemplary. The concierge, Brandon McMillen responded promptly to our e-mails. He suggested great restaurants and made reservations for us. (We were unable to book the restaurant we wanted.) the entire staff was helpful and friendly. We were there for the Macy's parade with our 2 daughters, their husbands and our grandson. The rooms we booked were somewhat small but had excellent amenities - beautiful showers, newly decorated rooms and very comfortable beds. The location is perfect for any mid-town activity. Overall, a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The upgrade to a superior queen room is worth the cost. Much larger rooms. Fluffy terry robes and ev...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

I will be sure to share your comments with Brandon and the rest of the staff.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#63 of 468 in New York City
3,225 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
2,392 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#81 of 468 in New York City
410 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 468 in New York City
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $259 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing