We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a sanctuary in busy NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #72 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Truly a sanctuary in busy NYC”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was the perfect hotel for me and my boyfriend when we visited New York last winter (very late review, I know). We'd wanted a hotel in the middle of all the action of New Year's and that's exactly what we got. Stepping inside the hotel, the busy bustle of NYC immediately faded away as we soaked in the cozy, chic atmosphere of the lobby. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The room was small, but that's to be expected in the city, and they used the space efficiently, so it didn't feel cramped. In addition to cleanliness, it's all about the details and the chandelier above the bed created the most romantic ambiance. The only minor issue I had was I had requested a room with a view of the city and instead, we had a view of the church wall next door. However, since we were there during a peak season, I couldn't complain--we just kept the curtains closed and enjoyed our room. If I ever visit New York City again, I will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceskater48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We appreciate the feedback and thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We would love to have you back to try out one of our Deluxe King rooms. I trust that with the additional space, upgraded amenities and front street view, this would be more suited to your needs.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,579
    1,082
    241
    69
    27
See reviews for
622
2,056
143
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is now my favorite NYC hotel!! Rooms are clean, very modern and the bed was superb. The rooms are small but so well organized that we didn't really notice the size. Visited the rooftop bar for happy hour and had a really nice time. $5 beers and $7 wines.

Location was wonderful. Just steps from Broadway, Rockefeller Center, and theaters.

Breakfast was not extensive but was all that we needed.

I can't say enough about the staff. Everyone was so welcoming and helpful. STAR Manager Brandon was very, very helpful. The identical twin bellmen (sorry I can't remember their names) went above and beyond to help us with luggage and transportation.

I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarheel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

The staff will be excited to read about your positive comments. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sanctuary Hotel in June when we were on our honeymoon. The service we received from start to finish was exceptional. The first key we were given didn't open the door to our room, the staff could not have been more apologetic and sorted it immediately. They were very knowledgable on the city and were more than happy to offer advice on where to go or how to get to places we wanted to visit. As we were only in the city for 4 nights we decided to stay near Time Square. The last time we were in New York we stayed in Greenwich Village, we much preferred it down there. It was a bit too touristy near Time Square for our liking. The hotel rooftop bar was lovely. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to others!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gck1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your 4 night honeymoon with us at The Sanctuary Hotel.

Knowing that we were able to make your experience so memorable, brings smiles to all our faces.

If your travels bring you back to New York City, we would love to have the chance to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I booked this hotel for my 50th birthday for myself and 7 friends having been to New York before and from researching on Trip advisor. The service was 5* excellence. Every member of staff was exceptional. The doormen, concierge (Jacob & Jamie) and receptionists were all professional, friendly and helpful. After a days sightseeing and shopping it was so lovely to be welcomed back and relax on the comfy sofas in the reception area. It was like coming home :-)
The rooms are small but perfectly adequate with large walk in showers and the cleanliness was great - fruit in the reception fruit bowl was an added touch and having breakfast included was a huge bonus for NYC (as was free WiFi). We enjoyed the Haven rooftop bar too.
Great location too - Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzieT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I'm happy to know that you had such a "perfect" stay at The Sanctuary Hotel.

Most guests such as yourself really appreciate the added amenities that we provide. From the complimentary breakfast, to the coffee and tea that is served throughout the day...guests really enjoy these perks.

We would really love to see you back with us for another great visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We found all the staff,including the room maids to be very friendly and helpfully , with a very genuine welcome by the door staff. The room and facilities were very clean , with a good as you can get view for a central city location. The breakfast was basic but acceptable, the restaurant / bar was very lively with a good rooftop outlook, the meal was expensive, but his may be a typical central hotel rate. The location is excellent , being 2 mins. from Time Square. Overall we were very happy with our stay , and will definitely return if we call to New York again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Our staff will be delighted to read about your comments.

Thank you for your review of us and we hope to have you back with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Good location, clean modern rooms. Good service.
Word of caution: if you're looking for a quiet hotel, this is not the place for you. Everynight we were there, there was music and lots of people around the reception due to the roof top bar.
But if you're looking for atmosphere, then you're found it here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynie_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I'm sorry that your experience wasn't perfect. We make every effort to create a discrete retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Our goal is to provide a tranquil and serene environment in our hotel lobby. I will certainly address your concerns about the hotel not being quiet.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our group of six arrived at The Sanctuary in a state of excitement/exhaustion after a long journey. As soon as the doormen opened our car doors for us we were met with the warmest, friendliest, most helpful service we have ever encountered in all our travels. This a real find - a boutique hotel without any of the pretentiousness that one so often encounters in these establishments. It is situated just yards from Times Square and yet as you step through into the fabulous foyer a sense of calm and relaxation prevails. We were all delighted to be looked after so well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I am very happy to hear that your experience was great from the moment you first arrived.

Our goal is to always provide our guests with a unique and memorable visit from the very beginning. I'm glad that we were able to do that for you.

We would love to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,169 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 466 in New York City
2,357 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 466 in New York City
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#71 of 466 in New York City
890 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 466 in New York City
3,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, Expedia, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing