We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #73 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Loved the Sanctuary! It was my first stay at this lovely, boutique-feeling hotel and I was so impressed by the high level of service, friendly staff and the location in Times Square. Our room was small, but modern and lovely. Expecially enjoyed the rooftop bar and fabulous views. Like other reviewers, this is the only hotel where I have seen breakfast adn wifi included. A must stay -- will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trudi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your great review.

We certainly loved having you here and hope to have you as a repeat guest of ours, where we can always welcome you to your home away from home.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,054)
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Hotel New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,126 - 2,132 of 4,054 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have vistied New York many times for business, but this time it was holidays with my daugther!
perfect location and perfect help from the front desk! The best concierges ever found in NYc!
Perfect loacation to go everywhere! Only a bit of complaint for the size of the Queen Superior room which is a little tight!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MONICA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

I'm happy to know that you and your daughter enjoyed The Sanctuary Hotel.

Our concierge team and the rest of the staff will be excited to read about your comments. We hope to see you in again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels, but the service at the Sanctuary outshines them all. The warm, friendly staff were helpful even before I arrived. They made our wedding feel like a romantic movie. Any request was warmly received and genuinely answered. We asked if we could have a table set up for us in the room so when we came back, dinner would be private. They set the table beautifully and the Concierge was our private waiter. Romance to its best. The rooms were spotless and cleaned by a warm, friendly staff. Every staff member treated us as family. Only hotel I found in Times Square with Breakfast and wifi included. Location excellent. Will be back!
They deserve 6 stars!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

I'm delighted to hear that we were able to create an experience that reflect a "romantic movie".

Our goal is to always exceed and go beyond expectations and I'm happy to know that we were able to do that with you. We would love to have you back for another wonderful visit and thank you for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Quirky modern hotel good rooftop bar small rooms .
They have the best concierges I have ever dealt with nothing was to much trouble they arranged everything for us even booked us tickets for the U S open tennis
I would go there again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for writing a review for us.

Should your travels bring you back to New York City, please think of The Sanctuary hotel. We would love to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Sanctuary Hotel has many pluses and a few minuses, hence not a perfect five but pretty close.

Pluses include the location - two minutes from the buzz of Time Square, great sized rooms (we stayed in the Deluxe King and although other guests have complained on TA about the smallish size, we found it more than adequate enough with a huge walk in rain forest shower, two wash basins and comfortable king sized bed. The room was well cleaned by the efficient Housekeeping service - hats off to them as given the task of cleaning a full hotel of 100+ rooms were on the ball. The turndown service was exceptional :-).

Minuses - As many have said before, the lobby areas and other most of the ground floor is just so dark with its decoration and is poorly lit. The breakfast although complimentary was just adequate - hunt for the boiled eggs and sliced strawberries. Being traditionally English, having tea and coffee facilities in the room is a priority and one that should be provided in the rooms and not at the non attended bar at the reception area downstairs. The rooftop evening bar meals were good but dining tables a bit cramped.

That said, the service from the staff was exceptional, price excellent and portage efficient.

Would stay here on our next visit to NY and thanks to Manager Jeremy for the personalised service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brugge888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for providing us with such detailed feedback.

We always appreciate when guests take the time to share their experiences with us. Due to the fact that we make every effort to maximize use of space in our rooms, we decided not to have coffee machines in our rooms. We believe in bringing service to our guests, and should any guest want coffee or tea options brought to their rooms we would be more than happy to do so. However, we apologize if this caused any inconvenience to you.

Rest assured that we will address your concerns and hope to have you back with us again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were very surprised by all the good reviews when we arrived at the hotel. It is very DARK. It bills itself as a "luxury" hotel, but it certainly is not, in my opinion. The color scheme is black and red and the lighting is very low -- I think to cover up the flaws in the building. There is hardly any natural lighting - even in the rooms. The rooms are extremely small, very difficult to move around each other in the room. The beds are very low to the ground and built on a platform, so no box spring mattress, thus very soft beds. There are also very strong artificial scents throughout the first floor of the hotel - so if you have allergies, beware! We actually had to check out of the hotel because of this.
The continental breakfast was better than average.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dwmv65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

I‘d like to apologize that your experience at our unique hotel, did not meet your expectations. It saddens us, as we would like to provide a flawless stay for everyone.

We pride ourselves in being an authentic Manhattan lifestyle boutique hotel, with European inspired hospitality. As you see from our reviews, guests appreciate that we simply strive to provide them with intimate, genuine and personalized service, creating a "home away from home" atmosphere. We wish that the Sanctuary Hotel could be the ideal choice for everyone. However, we understand that different guests have different needs, and that is why we put so much emphasis on creating an experience that is tailored to each individual.

Our rooms are designed with the intent of maximizing use of space and most important…comfort. A warm palette of deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac, highlight our rooms, along with oversized headboards and plush pillow-top mattresses that complement the luxurious sheets, duvets and terry, while crystal chandeliers add glamour that present and overall ambiance that is inviting and warm. Our shower design is something that guests simply rave about, not to mention the actual use of the rainfall shower-head that sends a consistent stream of pressurized warmth down one’s body.

Our fireplace-adorned lobby and lounge was designed with the intent to provide a discrete retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city that embodies the Sanctuary Hotel name. Many of our guests feel that being literally steps away from Times Square is a luxury in itself. I can assure you the design was not to cover-up any flaws of the building.

Guest feedback is always important to us. Being well received, and with so many compliments from our past reviewers, we will continue to strive to improve upon the services and the product.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a great experience last weekend in New York. Started with our check in at the hotel. The staff were excellent. They certainly know what customer service is all about. From the moment we arrived until our departure we were treated like we were the only guests at the hotel. Make sure you try out the roof top - great way to end the day

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are happy to know that your experience was great from the very moment you arrived. Our goal is to always provide each guest with a unique and memorable stay. Knowing that we were able to do that for you, brings smiles to all our faces.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 468 in New York City
3,222 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
2,391 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 468 in New York City
408 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 468 in New York City
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $260 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing