We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #72 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning experience”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were't quite sure what to expect when we booked this hotel. It's location is too good to be true and the price was very reasonable for NY. The promotional material has a slightly seedy look to it so we were prepared for a low class experience. However the hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. Comfortable, friendly, clean, quiet and with a great breakfast. The rooms, although small, pack in everything you could need. The rooftop bar is a great place to relax after a hard day sightseeing or shopping and there's no need to leave for a meal because the food is excellent. The front desk staff are stars! Friendly, courteous, professional and helpful. This hotel made our New York holiday that much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eDave60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I am happy to know that we were able to exceed your expectations. The staff put forth great effort to provide an experience that is both unique and memorable. It's feedback such as yours that motivate our staff to continuously strive for service excellence.

We appreciate your comments and would love to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,579
    1,082
    241
    69
    27
See reviews for
622
2,056
143
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Myself and my fiancé have just returned from 5 nights at the sanctuary hotel, the service, location, room ... Everything was perfect. The hotel was the perfect location for us to explore all of New York. The room wasn't huge, but it was modern and very well set out, it was the perfect base for a city break. We never head breakfast at the hotel, even though it was included in the price, we had a few places we wanted to visit for breakfast, or we slept in past breakfast so we never got to try it. The S.T.A.R service offered by the hotel was excellent, great advice on places to visit and the easiest routes to take. All in all the service we received was excellent, and really added to our experience in New York. The Haven rooftop bar was great, we enjoyed some lovely cocktails before and after our nights out, and we even enjoyed a late night snack on the rooftop.qWe will definitely return to the hotel and can recommend The Sanctuary to anyone looking for a modern base for a trip to New York.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for providing us with such great feedback.

We are happy to know that you and your fiance had such a nice experience at The Sanctuary Hotel. I will certainly share this with the rest of the staff and we hope to have you back with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I booked a four-night break here in 2012 as a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday, and I am so glad I did. The place was contemporary and cool. Our room had a big shower in, sink and double bed, it did the job perfectly. Was big enough, considering we were out exploring the city for most of the day and night. I emailed Brandon before our visit to ask if there was anything the hotel could do about arranging a cake/balloons for our arrival. He was really helpful about options and prices, and I was pleased to see 'Happy Birthday' cupcakes and balloons in our room when we got there. The lobby was cool we places to lounge for evening drinks, and breakfast was good the next morning. We sat down with someone from the front desk who advised us of a great Mexican place nearby and a great Japanese place, both of which were absolutely perfect.For first timers in NYC, the location was perfect - about a road away from Times Square but you wouldn't have guessed in considering how quiet it was. It was in a great place for walking to several places we wanted to see, and was also super close to a subway station for the places further away. Loved it here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I'd delighted to know that you and your boyfriend decided to stay with us at The Sanctuary Hotel.

Knowing that you both enjoyed your 4 day experience with us brings smiles to all our faces. Brandon will be very happy to read about your comments and I will certainly share your feedback with the rest of the staff.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I recently stayed here for three nights and had a wonderful stay. The location is perfect....about a block from Times Square, less than a block from the F Train Station. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the room is very clean and comfortable. I liked the funky furniture in the lobby and the low lighting.....relaxing after the frenetic pace of midtown. The only thing I was not happy about was the fact that I could hear every little thing in the hallway but I'm not sure a whole lot can be done about that. Overall I had a great time. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salpac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Sanctuary Hotel.

We are happy to know that your experience with us was a great one. I would love to hear more from you in regards to what room you stayed in so that I can see what can be done about the hallway noise. I can be reached at Jeremy@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com.

Should your travels bring you back to New York City, please think of The Sanctuary Hotel.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The whole experience at Sanctuary was wonderful, through our extended 13 night stay in August. All of the staff, from Jeremy the manager, the Concierge staff, the front desk staff, the doormen and the lovely girls in The Haven treated us very personally and gave us really great, personal attention, from when we first arrived. Even the room attendants were friendly and extra helpful, as well as cleaning excellently. The Sanctuary is in a great spot, very easy walking distance to Times Square, Broadway shows, the subway and other attractions. We had a lovely room in the front of the hotel, looking over West 47th Street, which we were delighted with. Like all New York rooms, it was not hugely spacious, but we had plenty of room and liked the very good quality of the room. The rooftop Haven bar was delightful, for both afternoon drinks, or an early meal before Broadway shows. Ian and I will definitely stay here again, as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with the tripadvisor community.

I am excited that your stay was everything that you hoped for and more. It's reviews such as yours that motivate us all to continuously strive to provide the very best for all our guests. Everyone will be as delighted as I am to read about your feedback.

We would love to welcome you back to your home away from home in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for reservations. I can be reached at Jeremy@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvor, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

When we first arrived thought we had arrived at some sort of dive, the low light and absence of windows made the reception area feel a bit closed in.....However although the gaudy interior designed colour scheme leaves a lot to be desired, the service and cleanliness of the hotel, plus its near perfect location for a New York visit more than made up for the initial impressions. The rooms are small, but work, but for the price what do you expect.

A trip to Haven the rooftop bar is a must if only to watch the sexual politics playing out amongst the young NYC socialites.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRWinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Sanctuary Hotel was just what my wife and I needed..."Perfect Getaway"!! The Staff was great, friendly and helpful. The hotel room was the perfect size for two adults. I was very happy with the Roof Top bar "Haven". Great food, great price and amazing views of the city / time square. (We planned to eat some where within TS but didn't need to leave the Hotel). The hotel is located in the perfect spot, close to everything you need and/or could want in Time Square. Not one compliant from me or my wife. Would love to return soon to say again, great spot!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you and your wife shared such an amazing experience at our hotel.

We would love to see you both back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,169 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 466 in New York City
2,357 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 466 in New York City
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#71 of 466 in New York City
892 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 466 in New York City
3,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing