We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel in the heart of Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #72 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We decided on this hotel, despite the relative small rooms, as it received great reviews, and we were not disappointed. The staff look hip, and are friendly and efficient in handling issues or providing directions. The breakfast is free, and includes hard boiled eggs, bagels, toast and fruits. They also provide iced tea and water in the lobby. As stated before, the rooms are smallish but are well laid out and well appointed. But it is the location that really sells - you are minutes from the theaters and restaurants , and there are two separate subways at each corner of 47th street for exploring the rest of New York. Haven bar and restaurant on the 9th floor is also very hip but is expensive and the food is just so-so.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Orator11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Our rooms are designed with the intent to maximize use of space. I would love for you to come back and try out one of our deluxe rooms. I trust that with additional room and upgraded amenities, it would be even more suited to your needs.

Should your travels bring you back to New York City, please think of The Sanctuary Hotel New York.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,278 - 2,284 of 4,104 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Trying to find and book a hotel in NYC was extremely overwhelming. Which one? What's the best location? I'm a solo female traveller, will I be safe? But I found the perfect hotel.... I cannot praise this hotel enough. It's amazing. They have complementary ice tea, ice water, tea and coffee in the lobby. Staff are best - very helpful and always cheerful. Lauren on reception is a sweetheart and can't do enough for you. The rooms are lovely and comfortable. I had read they were small, but my room - a queen superior room - was a good size. There is someone in the front door at all times...most times 2 people and the lifts are monitored at night. Think this is because of the rooftop restaurant and bar.

One my last day, I was presented with 3 bite size cupcakes in a box :) a very touching gesture. Best of all, the hotel is located literally 20 seconds walk from time square and a subway station.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We really appreciate the feedback and hope to have you back with us for another great experience. The staff will be excited to read about your comments.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Arriving in NYC after a restful trip from Baltimore, MD courtesy of the bus, I really was ready to find the hotel and put my belongings down and get my "If I can make it there" journey started. I literally walked right past the Sanctuary, which was just as well because its not the kind of place that folk just loiter out in front of or lounge in the lobby. This hotel has quiet understated beauty and stature. The entire front desk staff from the time I entered to the time I left to go home were 'spot on'. One of them helped me solve a mini-ticket-crisis, another instructed me where to go while he highlighted my end-points on the map, and another made sure that everything with my reservation/room was good to go. The young men at the door were also kind and helpful with directions, etc. Can I tell you how much I enjoyed the room? I got too comfortable and almost didn't want to venture outside of my cocoon. However, I managed to make it to the rooftop bar and perch up alongside a few young ladies who were so much fun. The bar staff was nice and very accommodating. They pour NYC libations with NYC prices but you only live once. The scenery up on the roof (think The Drifters) was fantastic and almost surreal. To the entire staff of the Sanctuary hotel, thank you for such a wonderful stay. Now, if you all would have just had some bacon or other meat for breakfast....I would have been in 'bacon heaven'. (hint/suggestion/request)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charm410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful experience with us.

We are delighted to know that we were able to provide you with a stay that all our guests deserves. Our goal is to always create an experience that is both unique and memorable. Our S.T.A.R. (Service Tailored to Any request) philosophy is something that we take great pride in applying.

We would love to see you back with us in the near future so that we can welcome you back to your new home away from home. I'm excited to hear that you found your very own Sanctuary with us.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Sanctuary Hotel for 4 nights with my husband. Great location, close to Times Square, Rockefeller center and more... Hotel staff was very nice, always helpfull. Hotel very clean. calm, no noise in the room even if we were close to the elevator. Breakfast was good. I would recommend it to anyone. We hope to return to New York and in the same hotel. Parking was just in front of the hotel, and staff of the hotel helped us with our luggage til the parking when we left. We did appreciate everything, no negative comments about the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your review.

It's comments such as yours that continuously motivate our staff to provide the very best for all our guests.

We would love to have you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Sanctuary Hotel is an amazing place to stay. The staff is professional and cares about you. Need to know where to go to dinner, they can tell you and it's always perfect. Great location, perfect hotel, fun time. Will continue to stay at Sanctuary anytime we visit New York City. Looking forward to our next visit in November.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisWH37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community.

We really appreciate when guests take the time our of their busy schedules to provide us with such great feedback. Our focus, is to always provide a genuine customer experience where services and interactions are warmly rendered by professional, well-trained and knowledgeable staff.

We hope to have you back with us soon for another great visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I loved this hotel. I stayed with my wife and I have no any bad things to say. Room extremely clean and quiet. The staff are incredible. I will recomend to anyone. The location is 5 stars. 1 minute walk to Times Square and Subway. The street is calm and inside the hotel we can't ear any sound of the street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your review and we sincerely appreciate the great feedback.

We would love to have you back for another great stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at the Sanctuary for 4 nights with my husband and daughter. Loved the location as it's so close to the Times square steps and within walking distance to many places of interest. Hotel staff very helpful, always smiling and guided us on all questions asked. Complimentary breakfast was very good too. Room was sparkling clean and neat, just wish it was a bit bigger as not enough space to keep our suitcases. Other than that everything about the hotel is great and would definitely stay here again. Oh yes, also promptly arranged taxi for us on check out. All in all we had a good stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanieloboq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

I am delighted to here that you and your family enjoyed your time with us at The Sanctuary Hotel.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC, please think of us. We would love to have you all back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#67 of 469 in New York City
3,272 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#85 of 469 in New York City
466 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 469 in New York City
3,102 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#28 of 469 in New York City
2,428 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#169 of 469 in New York City
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $228 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing