We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location for Times Square and Broadway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #72 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best location for Times Square and Broadway”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My kids and I spent a lovely 4 nights' stay here last week. The hotel is comfortable and clean with polite and helpful staff. I want to compliment the doorman who is of Indian descent, sorry I cannot remember his name but it starts with N. He went out of his way to help us flag down a taxi (this is NYC!), to the extent of going to different streets to do so. We love the short walking distances to all the theatres in Broadway, and the wonderful restaurants and shopping in Times Square. We did not even have to take the subway as the location was perfect; everything within a 5-15 min walk! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yapshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I'm happy to know that our bellman Ninan was able to provide you with such great assistance.

Our staff are empowered to provide the very best for our guests and it's good to know that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,582
    1,083
    241
    69
    27
See reviews for
625
2,057
143
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our second trip to NYC and we wanted to try a smaller hotel after staying at a large chain hotel last time. It made a big difference in terms of service and made for a great experience. The concierge team were fantastic and helped us find everything we were looking for- and had great recommendations for restaurants which we took up and were impressed. It was our anniversary so treated ourselves to the "sweet" as they call it and it was a lovely large room which was very comfortable. There is a great bar on the top floor. Brilliant location for Times Square,
Central Park etc. We didn't eat at all at the hotel so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

We would love to have you back next time to try out our rooftop dining.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

First time in New York City and I couldn't recommend a better place to stay in Manhatten. The Sanctuary is situated right next to Times Square, within easy walking distance of any of the major sights. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially getting those WTC tickets on Memorial Day ... we didn't have to do anything! The room was clean and beautiful, with a perfect view of the surrounding city. This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at, and I highly recommend it for anyone that hasn't been to NYC before.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPS26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your great experience with us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here at The Sanctuary Hotel. We can't wait to have you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We felt really welcome and confortable at this amazing Hotel. They assisted us since the very first moment when we had trouble in our reservations. After that, with precise information regarding how to get there from LGA; then with a particular way of receiving guests that makes us feel very well. Our special thanks goes to Mr Jacob Schwartz who has given us special directions for amazing restaurants that really made our trip special. Finally, we also refer to the Rooftop Haven and the location of the hotel as important reasons to chose this pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anaclaudia395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback and are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit with us.

We hope to see you back with us soon for another great stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a year ago and had a great time. This year brought my daughter for a graduation present. Cannot beat the location, helpful staff, rooftop bar and restaurant. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Has a euro-vibe and nice morning breakfast which will save you a ton of money. 100 yards from times square but nice and quiet. Less than a mile to central park,an easy walk away. I will stay here when I come to NY again, and would Not consider another place in manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We were happy to have you back with us at the Sanctuary Hotel.

Knowing that your 2nd visit was even better than your 1st, bring smiles to all our faces. We would love to continue to welcome you back to your home away from home.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The highlight of our stay was the amazing customer service! It was truly exceptional! The hotel itself is in an amazing location, to the main street in Times Square as well as to the theatres in Broadway. The concierge service was phenomenal with their suggestions for restaurants, from getting the amazing slice of New York pizza to the best steakhouse we have been to!

You have to experience the rooftop bar,Haven. Amazing memories sipping cocktails and looking out to the New York skyline.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback.

I will certainly share this with the rest of the staff. We hope to have you back with us for another great visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Sanctuary staff was for the most part very friendly, the person that stands out by far is Jacob Schwartz! He went above and beyond to make my family and myself feel at home. Not everyone was as friendly as Jacob and for the most part the females weren't as nice or friendly. However, our time here was great!! Really close to time square and not far at all from shopping and restaurants. Rooms were a little on the small side (very NY size) but very cozy, and very well put together and clean! The dim lights had more of romantic feel but I loved it. Continental breakfast was ok, nothing special it could have a bit more for the buck we pay, and the staff was just ok there. The Haven was great however, the atmosphere of the hotel didn't really fit in with the outfits of the waitresses. The entire hotel staff were dressed to impress and fit the "modern, professional" look until we hit the rooftop. Had to wait a while for drink orders to be taking and no one was "busy". Overall, I would still return and Jacob and a few others would be the main reason I would..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara210_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us.

I'm happy to know that you would return based on your experience with Jacob and a select few. However, I am a bit surprised that your encounter with other staff members were not pleasant the way it should have been. All our staff are empowered to provide our guests with genuine and warm interactions.

We will certainly utilize your feedback as a tool to improve upon the services that we provide. Our goal is to create a unique and memorable stay for everyone and we would love to have you back with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 467 in New York City
3,171 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
2,360 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#70 of 467 in New York City
894 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelPower, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing