We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #75 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hotel is well located. Rooms are small but comfortable and very attractive. The hotel is very quiet, and the beds are very comfortable. The staff is outstanding....they were all pleasant, extremely
, friendly, and couldn't be more helpful! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

The staff will be very happy to read about your comments in regards to your recent visit at the Sanctuary Hotel.

We hope to have you back for another great visit in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,630 - 2,636 of 4,161 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights there in March.

Pros:
1) Quick check in
2) Very close to Time Square if you like that ( I would avoid time square on my next trip to NYC as it is just too touristy and busy)
3) Given the location the hotel is actually quiet inside
4) Comfortable bed (although a little on the soft side for my liking)

Cons:
1) super dark inside, almost no natural light in lobby or rooms
2) our room was 800 next to elevator and you can hear the elevator going up and down its actually quite loud and annoying
3) Tiny rooms, even for NYC standards.
4) Breakfasts were pretty poor (there was no cutlery or plates for the first 20 min we got there and despite asking the staff to get some, they were too busy to do so, only a few pastries and bagels,
no coffee mugs, not enough tables depending on when you got there, this was probably the
weakest part of our stay here.)

I think on my next trip to NYC I will stay away from Time Square.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug00712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

I‘d like to apologize that your experience at our unique hotel, did not meet your expectations. It saddens me to know that your stay was not as good as you expected it to be.

We pride ourselves in being an authentic Manhattan lifestyle boutique hotel, with European inspired hospitality. As you see from our reviews, guests appreciate that we simply strive to provide them with intimate, genuine and personalized service, creating a "home away from home" atmosphere. We wish that the Sanctuary Hotel and it's location could be the ideal choice for everyone. However, we understand that different guests have different needs, and that is why we put so much emphasis on creating an experience that is tailored to each individual.

Our rooms are designed with the intent of maximizing use of space and most important…comfort. A warm palette of deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac, highlight our rooms, along with oversized headboards and plush pillow-top mattresses that complement the luxurious sheets, duvets and terry, while crystal chandeliers add glamour that present and overall ambiance that is inviting and warm.

As you stated in your review, the hotel is quiet for being steps away from Times Square. Our fireplace-adorned lobby inspires a discrete retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Everything from design, lighting, and overall ambiance, is created to embody the Sanctuary Hotel name. Many of our previous guests feel that being literally steps away from Times Square is a luxury in itself.

Guest feedback is always important to us. Being well received amongst the tripadvisor community, and with so many compliments from our past reviewers, I believe that we are heading in the right direction and will continue to improve upon the services that are provided for our valued guests.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were in NYC for the 1/2 marathon and found the hotel to be the perfect home away from home. We arrived early on Thursday morning and although our room wasn't ready, hey invited us to take advantage of their continental breakfast. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, wishing you a good day when you left for the day and then welcoming you back. It is clear thier emphasis is on excellent customer service. There was a small "hiccup" on Sunday morning, March 17, when I asked if I could get a bagel and banana to eat before the race. One staff member didn't respond quite as quickly as the desk clerk felt, so the desk clerk went back, got a bagel, cream cheese and a banana, all in a bag. I didn't catch his name but he exemplified what the Sanctuary Hotel is trying to strive for. The S.T.A.R. managers throughout the weekend were helpful. They made reservations at a wonderful Italian restaurant, Amarone, on Saturday and on Monday asked about the "hiccup" on Sunday. The location is also perfect as it is a half a block from 7th Ave/Times Square/Subway stations and a nice 20 min walk to Central Park. Without any doubt, we plan to make the Sanctuary our home base when we travel to NYC. Thank you for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We are happy to hear that The Sanctuary Hotel is your "new favorite NYC hotel". That is one of the biggest compliments one can receive from a guest.

The staff make every effort to provide our guests with the very best service possible and I'm delighted to know that they were able to provide with such exceptional service even though there was a slight hiccup.

I hope that during your next visit, you will have a completely flawless stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

All of the hotel staff here are very friendly and helpful and the location is great - in the heart of Times Square. The rooms are small but not an issue to us if you are in NY since you generally are not hanging out in your room. The rates are much better than the large chain hotels in the area. We loved the hotel and would definitely stay here again. The bar on the rooftop is worth a visit too. We have one suggestion to those staying here - try to get a room that does not face 47th street since it can be quite noisy. I don't think you will get much of a view but no hotel will give you a view in NY without paying astronomical rates. One suggestion for the hotel - With just a few extra dollars you could really improve your breakfast. It has the absolute basics (which means a lot of bread and pastries) but no granola (cheerios do not count) and poor fruit selection. It would not cost a lot to significantly improve in this area. All in all though, we would stay here again and would recommend it.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sharon-Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for providing us with such wonderful feedback.

We are delighted to know that you would definitely stay with us again and we hope your next visit with be even better.

We appreciate your suggestions with regards to our complimentary breakfast and will utilize your comments as a way of improving our breakfast options.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The only reason I haven' t given it a 5 * is there was no tv coverage not a great problem but when you wake early or getting ready to go out it would have been good to have it. I had a wonder full time in NYC and will recommend the Sanctuary to ally friends and should I ever return I will be back !!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenmyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

I'm delighted to know that you had an enjoyable weekend stay with us.

However, I do apologize for missing the mark of 5 stars with TV coverage. I would love for you to contact me to further discuss this matter, as we didn't receive any incidents with our TV coverage being disrupted. I can be reached at jeremy@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This little hotel is amazing in how reasonable the rates are for it's location; especially considering that a continental breakfast was included which is virtually unheard of in NYC. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. My only minor complaint is that the bed was too soft but that's only because I have a bad back to begin with.

We go to New York often and will definitely add this hotel to the top of our list!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarenceD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for writing a review about your recent visit.

We appreciate the feedback and hope to have you back again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Best weekend ever hotel was so nice food was delish and service superb will be staying here anytime I hit the big Apple!!! Location was brilliant saved on taxis!! We walked everywhere in times square ten minutes to hotel! Also great bars close bye also walking distance! I stayed with 3 friends can't wait to stay with my husband!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurzmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We are happy to know that you had "the time of your life" with us at the Sanctuary Hotel.

We would love to have you and your husband stay with us in the near future, so that he can experience the Sanctuary the way you did.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#26 of 473 in New York City
2,473 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#86 of 473 in New York City
3,336 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#102 of 473 in New York City
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#24 of 473 in New York City
3,396 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $198 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing