We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #75 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful Hotel!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful, from the lobby to the rooms to the rooftop bar. But what made it memorable was the service. The doormen were welcoming and the front desk was amazing. Besides the fact that they got my fiance and I a last minute reservation in the theater district so we could catch our show, they never stopped smiling and were eager to help in any way. Best New York hotel experience I've ever had. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sanctuary Hotel.

We are pleased to know when guests of ours thoroughly enjoy their experience with us. As we strive to continuously improve upon the services we provide, we like to thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,600
    1,088
    243
    69
    27
See reviews for
633
2,069
144
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Sanctuary Hotel was excellent. The staff was exceptional. The location is perfect, so close to Times Square! We were upgraded to a king superior upon arrival. The room was perfect for our needs. Very clean. The bed was comfy, the minibar was great, and the rainfall shower was very nice. We even received cupcakes (from a local bakery!) from the staff to celebrate our anniversary. We felt very welcomed and comfortable. After a day in the City, the hotel is relaxing and dimly lit. Very zen feel to it. I would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityGirlxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are delighted to know that you had such a wonderful stay at the Sanctuary Hotel. Knowing that thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, brings smiles to all our faces.

We hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. The staff was friendly and attentive. The room was spectacular. It had tons of room with a King size bed. i slept like a bear in hibernation. The upstaiirs bar is wonderful. Great food and a very charming staff. Everyone on staff was spot on....from the doormen to the front desk, to the house keeper. I loved my stay here. The free wifi and breakfast were a great treat. Wish some of the items on the minibar were also free but all in all, best bang for the buck in NY. Plus being a block away from Times Square rocked!!! This hotel has earned my future business without a doubt :)

Room Tip: room 302 was perfect for a business travelor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review about your recent stay.

It's always a pleasure to hear such great feedback from our guests. Many guests such as yourself enjoy the plush comfort of our beds.

The staff will be delighted to read about your comments and we hope to have you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The rooms are small but spectacular, the staff are attentive, and the rooms and public spaces are spotless. The location is right in the middle of it all, with easy access to subway and taxi that can take you wherever else you'd like to go. Overall, would stay again! Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikolas_ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I'm delighted to know that you had such a great experience with us. Our goal is to always provide our guests with a unique and memorable stay.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC, please think of the Sanctuary Hotel. We would love to have you back with us.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborn
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I got a fantastic rate last minute, and feared the worst based solely on that. Surprise! As I approached I thought “ that can’t be the cool looking entrance.” As I walked through that entrance I was again surprised by the chic little lobby with fireplace and bar, and high end styled appointments and staff at the front desk. The room as NYC small, but modern and well-appointed with a great shower ( practically IN the room, but curtained for privacy and somehow very cool. I am going back. PS. Great location half a block from and in sight of Times Square.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottbarnard410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Pleasant surprises are always the best. One of our main goals is to always go beyond expectations. I'm delighted to know that we were able to achieve this with your recent visit.

We hope to have you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is my second stay at Sanctuary Hotel in the past ten days. I travel to NYC often and have stayed in a lot of hotels. This is one of the nicer ones. It is very hip with a nice bar on the 9th floor and in the lobby. They include breakfast and Wifi.

The bed is fantastic. I sleep like a rock when I stay here, but the best aspect of the hotel is the staff. They are polite, friendly, and you can sense genuinely love their job.

So why not 5 stars? The rooms are a bit tight, as are all rooms in NYC. The hotel is 1/2 block form TImes Square, where I typically do not like to stay. I prefer the quaint neighborhoods.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay.

Our rooms are designed with the intent of maximizing use of space and most important…comfort. Plush pillow-top mattresses that complement the luxurious Frette sheets, duvets and terry, while crystal chandeliers add glamour that present and overall ambiance that is inviting and warm. Our shower design is something that guests simply rave about, not to mention the actual use of the rainfall shower-head that sends a consistent stream of pressurized warmth down one’s body.

I'd like to recommend our deluxe rooms for your next visit. With the additional space and upgraded amenities, I trust that it would be more suitable for your needs.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My first time in New York and the Sanctuary Hotel made the experience all the better.I stayed for 4 nights with my wife and another couple.The staff were very friendly and were happy to assist in any way they could.The rooms were excellent the bed was very comfortable,the shower was great too.A good selection for breakfast,fresh fruit,bagels,toast,cereal,tea coffee etc.Location is perfect, about 100 metres from Times Square.Only negative was drinks were expensive on rooftop bar,there are cheaper places to drink but also dearer places too.All in all an excellent hotel that I would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We appreciate the great feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
3,194 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
2,374 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#72 of 467 in New York City
937 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#74 of 467 in New York City
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing