We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #63 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

To keep it short:
Located in the middle of manhatten, but still a calm place to relax. Not only the rooms, the whole hotel persuades with a modern design. We were looking for a clean place to stay. Sanctuary is spotlessly clean what we really appreciated. The best of all is the staff. All of the employees are so nice. They really tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The atmosphere in this hotel is so great you leave it totally relaxed. Next time in nyc, we definitively will stay in the sanctuary again. Just excellent!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,528
    1,049
    234
    67
    23
See reviews for
608
1,998
140
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Overall our experience was pretty good. The room was spacious by New York City standards and I thought the space was used wisely. Loved the shower but have to say the only full length mirror being on the back of the bathroom door with about a foot of space between that and the sink was difficult to use. We thought the staff was friendly but lacked in providing personal attention. I found it strange for a small boutique hotel that prides itself on service that the staff greeted us each time like they had never seen us before even though they had had multiple conversations with us. I expected that they would be able to recall interacting with us. Also we needed to make transportation arrangements for the next morning for six people and we were told that only the concierge could handle that so we would have to wait until the morning. We were a little put off by this given their "S.T.A.R. Experience" program-it seemed they could have found a way to assist us instead of making us wait to figure it out until the last minute. The only other thing that bothered us was when a member of our group thought she may have left her cell phone at the hotel. We were on a cruise ship, out in the ocean, when she realized she did not have it. Since she could not call the hotel she emailed them several times and then finally sent a message on Facebook. She did not receive a response for four or five days which seems a bit too long for an inquiry such as that and only to learn they did not find the phone. We went in to this stay with high expectations after reading through the website. We felt the staff could definitely improve on following through with the level of service promised. Granted we had a few mishaps but we all agreed for the size, comfort, location and price of the room that we would recommend it and probably return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SecretShppr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in a Deluxe Queen Room and it was worth paying the extra. The room had everything we needed and the bed was very comfy. Location is fantastic, just off Time Square and near 2 subway stops. Breakfast was basic but filling. Only 4*'s as we had to swop rooms on the 1st night due to a very noisy air conditioning unit in room 908. Staff resolved the problem quickly and we were pleased with our new room. Had we had to stay in the orginial room the rating would be much lower so this is something the hotel needs to fix.

Room Tip: If you are given Room 908 ask to change!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKLB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Incredibly friendly and accommodating staff. Greeted by the doorman and welcomed by staff. Beautifully decorated lobby was inviting and sexy. Our room was decorated with a modern style with a crystal chadileer. The room was clean, the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. Only on minor glitch was we were expecting a brunch at the hotel however it was not available yet. If you are going to see a show in the city and would rather spend the night then drive home The Sanctuary is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troop55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for providing us with such great feedback.

The staff will be happy to know that we exceed your expectations. We make every effort to create a memorable experience for each guest, while creating an environment that is home away from home for everyone.

We hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The is a very nice hotel.
The breakfast was great but it could be better!
Room are small but who cares, we are in NYC! Everything is only 2 step from the door!!!
Staff was properly trained and very friendly.
The rooftop is awesome!
Will come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My stay here was great! The staff was so helpful and friendly especially Hugues ( You are awesome!). My room was small but this is city living so do not be turned off as you are hardly in your room. The rooms are clean , comfortable beds, flat screen TV, and great shower!
The hotel is very close to the train system - 1/2 block away and Broadway. I visited New York dur ing a"hot spell" but you could not be more comfortable & cool in the hotel. I would definitely return. I traveled with my 15 year old daughter who was thrilled to be at the hotel and the staff was very kind to her as well.
Please take the opprtunity to eat on the roof. Although it is small, the food is delicious. The manager Katerina was very gracious and helpful!

Room Tip: My room was small but perfect for 1 to 2 people and was in the back building which is quieter but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I can't express enough how great this gem of a hotel is! The staff is WONDERFUL and the location is superb! We made the mistake of trying a different place to stay this last time and man did we regret it! Book this place, you'll be so glad you did! We'll be back :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parrishtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us.

We are delighted to know that you decided to come back to the Sanctuary and hope that all your future stays in NYC will be with us.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,112 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,572 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is a boutique luxury lifestyle design hotel conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. A hidden gem with very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Continental Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing