We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Stay in Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #72 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet Stay in Times Square”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed with my father in Sanctuary last week in double double. It's very nice to have front-view room so that we can enjoy viewing night street in a cozy room. The hotel is located just next to Times Square, which is very convenient to travel around mid-town in a day.

Friendly staff and trendy design was fantastic. Julio kindly helped secure my luggages until I came back from city tour. Also, Kevin was very nice to grab a cab and carefully move all my stuffs. In a tight schedule, I wish I could stay another night in Sanctuary. On my next trip I will definitely stay again and look forward to seeing a upcoming roof-top bar.

Room Tip: Prefer a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyung C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
We are happy to know that you and your father enjoyed your time with us.

It's great when guests of ours appreciate the service that the staff tries to provide and the trendy design that we create.

Julio and Kevin will be very delighted to read about your comments.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,579
    1,082
    241
    69
    27
See reviews for
622
2,056
143
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel from the outside, and nice reception and bar area so felt had found a gem. Well until I went into the room that had a frosted window as outside of it was a wall and large ledge which seemed to be pigeon heaven! Anyway a quick chat and was moved - great stuff

As for the concierge team they really made it. After a specific present for my wife and after 32 calls all was rectified - couldn't thank them more

So great hotel but a tarnished ending due to the "fixed fare" cab that the doorman forgot to mention until we were underway...and it was significantly more than a hailed cab had cost into the city....

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nick_caton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff were delightful, the decor stylish and atmospheric, the room charming and the location perfect. My only niggle was that the breakfast was a little basic.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raylden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.

We are always looking for ways to improve our breakfast options and we appreciate your feedback.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Rooms are well equipped and nice, though a bit small for my taste.
Very friendly and helpful staff, nice coffee bar, excellent location right off of times square, and between 2 metro stops. Rooms are quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgbGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for the review of us on tripadvisor.com.

We would love for you to come back and experience our deluxe rooms. With the additional space and upgraded amenities, I trust that you will enjoy the Sanctuary even more.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Highly recommend. Friendly staff, clean updated room. A little pricy and a slim breakfast offering, but it is included in the room along with wifi.

Great location also! Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about us on tripadvisor.

Most guests such as yourself, would agree that they find great value in our complimentary breakfast, wifi and access to Equinox gym. These are amenities that most hotels charge for. We appreciate feedback from all guests, and we utilize it as a tool to understand what we are doing right and what we can improve upon.

We hope that your next visit with us will be just as good.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumberland, maine
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here and had a wonderful time. We felt very special and pampered, entering the oasis-like calm and dark from the tourist-bustle of Times Square. Staff were helpful and nice. Our room had some burned out lightbulbs and they changed at least some at our request while we were out.

The lobby, bar, and rooms are newly renovated and chic. We enjoyed the lounge music and the Marilyn Monroe movie playing in the bar. Our room (a standard queen) was small but elegant and well-designed, like a ship's cabin. I'd recommend they add a second mirror, though, perhaps over the desk. With the small vanity it was impossible for us two girls to get ready at the same time. We liked the bathroom area open to the room (pull across a curtain for privacy when showering) and the swanky glass-and-marble shower and vanity. The bed was very comfortable and the linens fine and crisp.

With the small, cozy room size, this would be great for a couple.

We enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast, as well, which included mini bagels, croissants and pastry, cereals, fruit, coffee, juice, etc. I especially enjoyed the warm boiled eggs.

Unfortunately the TV was out because of construction, but they comped us one pay-per-view movie as compensation. The heating/cooling unit was quite loud and despite tinkering it turned on/off all night which was not terribly restful. Without it on, the room was too hot. But because the room is so small, it flipped back and forth quickly between heat/cool mode to keep at the desired temp. Not sure how that could be helped...

All in all, we definitely enjoyed our stay. Without spending a huge amount, we felt pampered and special. Thanks, Sanctuary!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel this month and the lobby is dark with constant throbbing music. The room was small with no storage. The hotel was clean, the desk staff were helpful, although not always knowledgeable. The bedding was comfortable. The view out of our room was of a fire escape and concrete wall. The hallways and stairs are dark, lit by strange red lights. The location was really good for seeing shows, Times Square and other sites in mid-town. We walked to the NBC studios and the MOMA. The breakfast was of good quality. The coffee they served was really good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank techgirlNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I'd like to apologize that your experience at our unique hotel was not what you expected.. We have a very distinctive contemporary style . As you see from most of our reviews, our guests appreciate a cozy, warm, and clean atmosphere that we strive to create at the Sanctuary Hotel. We make every effort to present our visitors with a discrete retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city, creating a "home away from home" feel, with a touch of glamour. The goal with the design is to create a tranquil and warm environment that would be representative of the Sanctuary Hotel name (not to mention the genuine and attentive services provided by our staff).

I'm happy that you took the opportunity to enjoy our complimentary breakfast and it seems from your review that you enjoyed your time with us overall.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC, we hope that you think of the Sanctuary and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for reservations.

ot to mention our very kind and helpful staff. To some degree, it is hard to truly appreciate all the extras we offer with just a one night stay. Did you have the opportunity to join us for our complimentary evening wine and cheese reception or perhaps our signature continental breakfast? We wish the Casablanca could be the perfect choice for everyone but we know that many travelers have different needs and preferences; however, we do feel very strongly about authenticity and full disclosure so I am particularly concerned if you felt that the website was not representative of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,169 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 466 in New York City
2,357 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 466 in New York City
2,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#71 of 466 in New York City
892 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 466 in New York City
3,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing