We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #73 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2011

If you are looking for a great place to stay in Times Square, you can't go past this hotel. Location is fantastic close to Times Square, lovely breakfast to start your day, quiet rooms, very clean, staff super helpful and friendly, especially Jessica and Tom.....We stayed 6 days and would have loved to stay longer, the bed is so comfortable. Stay at this hotel...you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donziegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review about us on tripadvisor.com.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and many guests would agree that our beds provide great comfort. Jessica and Tom will be delighted to hear about your comments.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,054)
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Hotel New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,316 - 3,322 of 4,054 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

Just returned from a special trip to NYC with five other great friends -- three of us graduated from HS together 50 years ago!!! We highly recommend The Sanctuary. It's clean, pretty, quiet, nice breakfast bar, near everything (including the three theaters where we attended musicals each night of our visit) and a very safe feeling in the neighborhood. Manager Jeremy and his staff were exceptional....Angie, Lenny, Brandon, Julio, Bradley, Michael, Hugres.....hope I included all the names because they all added to our enjoyment. The Tennessee Southern Belles hope to return to The Sanctuary again. By the way, we saw "Sister Act," "Memphis," and "Jersey Boys." All were good but I've listed in order of our preference. Loved, loved, loved "Sister Act." Southern Belle J.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSRBVonore_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

Thank you so much for writing such a fantastic review about your stay.

It was great having you all here with us and I am very happy that you chose the Sanctuary Hotel as the place for your 50 year reunion. The "Tennessee Southern Belles" brought get energy to our environment and great joy to the staff. It was a pleasure speaking to you all. The staff will all be very excited to hear about your comments.

We look forward to having you stay with us again. We hope to see you soon.

Warmest Wishes,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Recently, this 50 year old couple stayed at the Sanctuary Hotel and although most of the other guests were young, hip and energetic in the bar area of the lobby, I was very impressed with the hotel's "no party" policy, it was a very quiet hotel and did not even hear the traffic noises of nearby Broadway. The hotel is very clean and in the perfect location.
My only complaint is the room also advertised an "in room safe"... well that safe was a portable box with a combination ~ that could be picked up and removed without any problem. I asked the safe be bolted to the shelf and they said they would consider the request but it never happened. Feeling uncomfortable with this set up, as a result, I had to carry all of our passports and considerable amount of cash around with me. Sorry to say, I felt safer having it with me on the streets than leaving it behind in a hotel room. With that said, I would still consider staying here a again and would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Thinking the nearby elevator was going to be noisy ~ it was not.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoniqueS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

We always appreciate feedback from our guests as it continually helps us in improving the services we provide. Here at the Sanctuary Hotel, we take great pride in creating a memorable experience as well as a lasting impression.

I'd like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and want you to know that we will be addressing your concerns in regards to the in-room safes.

We would love to have you back again soon, so that we can provide you with a "perfect" stay.

Warm Wishes,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is a gem. Great location. A few blocks from Times Square and you do not hear a thing once you enter the door. Red carpet entrance, 2 lobby bars, seating with fire places and an Asian motif. Friendly, helpful staff to make the stay even more enjoyable. Adorable room - king bed, 2 sink areas, safe. Clean, modern and just perfect. Continental breakfast comes with the room rate. Walking distance to every type of restaurant, the broadway and off-broadway districts. Nice to save on cab fares! Subway station 2 blocks away. Would highly recommend and would return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puttforpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you for your review of us on tripadvisor.com.

When guests state that we are a "gem", we take that as a great compliment. We are centrally located in the heart of Times Square and yet through our grand wooden doors is a retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city.

I am glad that you enjoyed your experience here and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed there with a friend for a spur of the moment fun trip to NYC. Picked the hotel over the internet, so we were a bit apprehensive. We were extremely pleased with our accommodations. Yes, the room was a bit small, but space was well used and it worked fine for us. And the rain shower was awesome! Location being 1 block from the "bleachers" on Times Square, it was safe walking at night for 2 women. The staff was absolutely the best! - friendly, personable, and always ready to help with whatever our needs. The Continental Breakfast was very nice. We could go down and get quick breakfast and be on our way. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nas40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to express such wonderful comments about your stay.

All our guests agree and love the rain shower heads that we feature in our rooms. I'm excited to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast. The staff puts forth great effort in providing our guests with the best service possible and it's nice to know when guest are happy about it.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed five nights at the Sanctuary in early October and had a wonderful experience. The room was very clean and nicely decorated, but small. We had two working windows, so the fresh air opened things up a bit. We had a problem with the shower but that was fixed straight away. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet for sleeping. The staff were all very friendly and obliging, loved the 'doorman touch' and the turning down of the bed at night. It is a fantastic location,only one block from Times Square and within walking distance to pretty much everything else. Will definitely stay there again, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Sanctuary Hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our stay with us. I am sorry that you had a problem with our showers. I'm glad that we were able to fix it promptly.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay. The room I had was extremely clean and I absolutely loved the shower. The room I think was well laid out and the bed was awesome. I booked online and mentioned that my flight would be arriving at 9 am and was pleasantly surprised that the room was ready so I could grab a nap. The location is just ideal. It's right around the corner from Times Square but not in the midst of madness which I loved. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I am staying again this week to celebrate my birthday this weekend. For the location and price, can't beat it. I hate nasty hotels and often for a low price you get stuck with a bad hotel and this was the opposite.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feliciaw1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you for providing us with feedback in regards to your stay.

It is nice to hear when guests of the Sanctuary Hotel enjoy their experience. I'm glad that we could accommodate you with an early check in. You are right when you say that the Times Square madness is right around the corner and yet the Sanctuary provides a retreat to all the hustle and bustle.

We look forward to your next stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 468 in New York City
3,223 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
2,391 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 468 in New York City
408 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 468 in New York City
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $260 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing