We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,330)
Filter reviews
4,330 results
Traveler rating
2,772
1,171
284
75
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,772
1,171
284
75
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barhaven rooftoptimes squarenew yorkrooms are smallcontinental breakfastdoor staffour honeymoonbrick wallperfect locationyogurtconcierge servicerockefeller centerfantastic hotelbig applecentral parkaround the corner
Filter
Updating list...
3,616 - 3,621 of 4,330 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2011

very nice place, good location. Only issues I had was that the AC vent blows directly on the pillow end of bed in a small room, but maybe there is something they can do about it. Housekeeping kept shorting us on washcloths (1 for 2 people?) All in all, a nice place to stay. The reduced price due to the 'soft opening' is appropriate; no items in courtesy frig, no restaurant, no exercise facilities (they give you passes to some great health clubs that are close by). Overall, I would stay here again.

I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samher110258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Thank you for your feedback about the Sanctuary Hotel.

We will have our engineer team take a look at A/C vent issue that you brought up. We hope to see you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This hotel is amazing from the time you arrive, until you check out!!!!!! I have never stayed at a hotel where EVERY EMPLOYEE was friendly, helpful, fun, etc. They love their jobs! I cannot remember everyone's names (sorry), but Julio and Lenny warm my heart -just amazing staff! OK......the hotel was very trendy and decorated beautifully. It is small, but that adds to the charm. It was clean and inviting. The location is perfect! Quiet at night and a nice walk to many places! The only disappointment was when I booked our room, it said I would be receiving a free upgrade - it did not say "if available." However, when we checked in, there were no upgraded rooms available. Sort of disappointed, (who doesn't enjoy an upgrade), but again, the hotel is fantastic. Do yourself a favor and stay here on your next NYC trip!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zildjian12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about us on tripadvisor.com.

The staff will be so happy to see such great comments about them, especially Lenny and Julio. We place so much effort in creating an environment that gives our guest a feeling of "home away from home". It's nice to know that our guests are happy with the effort.

We hope to see you again soon.


Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was a trip to take my granddaughter to NYC to go shopping. The hotel is located in a great area, close to the tour buses and teenage shops. The room was brand new and on the 6th floor with construction on the floor but a wonderful room. Of course, we faced a brick wall from our window but in NYC that's what you expect. We appreciated the room "fridge" to store our leftover pizza and water bottles. You should book a king-size bed instead of a queen-size bed for maximum comfort unless you're not with your granddaughter.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericanddebj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Thank you for your review of us on tripadvisor.com

I am happy that you and your granddaughter enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.


Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Beautifully appointed lobby and rooms. Great staff and great location off Times Square area.

Our room was very small (not unusual for NYC) and the bathroom was incredibly tiny. However, the room is very clean and you have control over the air conditioner : )

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Thank you for your great review about us on tripadvisor.com.

Being in NYC and understanding that space is limited, we make every effort to maximize the use of our space when designing our rooms. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed it and would love for you to come back again and stay in one of our deluxe rooms.


Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

What an amazing hotel! We spent the weekend and had an amazing staff, thanks in part to the helpful staff. The beautiful hotel and rooms were clean and the lobby was breathtaking. We're looking forward to returning....

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brapp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We are glad to hear that you had such an amazing stay with us. We hope to seen you again soon.


Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews