We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #63 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Elkton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Notch Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

First, this is a top notch boutique hotel that offers that unique New York City experience. The rooms are phenomenal and the entire hotel will be phenomenal when they have their grand opening. No, the bar, restaurant, and elevator are not up and running yet, but they are very forthcoming with that information. If the hotel had all of its 4 star amenities running, we would not have stolen the room for $225! Do you all realize how much hotels of this caliber cost, steps from Times Square?? And news flash, the rooms are a great size. I have stayed in boutique hotels in NYC that have cost twice as much and the double bed took up the entire room and the bathroom was a tiny shower stall and toilet. Our room had a queen size bed and a rollaway and we still had room to walk around. You had better be chummy with your roomates, though, because the shower and sink are separated from the rest of the room by a curtain. I felt this was a plus because it allowed for a huge shower. My daughter did have a great idea that the shower should have privacy glass or a two-way mirror, but it was definitely a cool set-up. The toilet was located in its own watercloset. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and very nicely soundproofed. Been there, done that with paper thin New York walls. The bed and linens were dreamy.

I was traveling with my 12 y/o and 10 y/o daughters. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. They allowed us to check-in early and within moments of our entering the room, housekeeping appeared with the rollaway bed we requested via email and a stack of extra towels. The staff always took an interest in the girls and engaged them in conversation about their day. The service was truly of a personal and friendly nature that I have rarely experienced outside of the Caribbean.

This hotel is quite a find. And as they say, timing is everything. I was able to give my girls a unique and clean NYC experience without further breaking our bank. (We had already laid out over $700 for Wicked tickets). I would be hard pressed not to come back here on my next visit even when the price tag does match its scale. Steal it while you can, their grand opening is supposed to be in September. BTW, the guest elevator was up and running when we left.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review about the Sanctuary Hotel.

It brings great joy to our entire staff to read comments such as yours. As we strive to make each guest experience unique and memorable, knowing that our efforts are appreciated truly motivates us to continue with our S.T.A.R service.

A lot of thought was put into the design of our rooms. With the warm color tones, to the luxurious feel, and the comfort of our beds...all combined to leave every guest with an experience the way a luxury lifestyle hotel should be.

We hope that you come back soon when our restaurant/lounge opens up. Along with our soon to come updated amenities, the Sanctuary Hotel New York will truly be a place to remember.

Please let your daughter know that we will keep her idea in mind about our showers and tell them both, that they look absolutely adorable in the picture.

Warm Regards,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Sanctuary Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,528
    1,049
    234
    67
    23
See reviews for
608
1,998
140
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

My husband and I came to New York for our anniversary. There was major construction going on in the lobby BUT other than storing our luggage until our room was ready, it wasn't an issue. We definitely got a good price on room because of the construction. We requested the room in the picture on their website and that's what we got. It was perfect!
The Taxi driver hadn't heard of the Portland Square Hotel, but of course we gave the address.
It was incredible how close we were to Times Square - take a left out of hotel, walk 50 steps, you're there!
We thought the staff was helpful and good.

Room Tip: Call ahead to request the room on website
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suthien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Sanctuary Hotel New York. We love when people appreciate what we have to offer for our guests. However, I must point out that a lot has changed since your last stay with us in December 2010. We would love for you to come back and truly experience what the Sanctuary Hotel has to offer.

If you would like to make a future booking, please email jeremy@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com. I will personally assist you with it.


Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

The rooms are tiny, the remodel not done and yet we were walked in on twice in our room by housekeeping. The first time no knock. The second time we had the "shhh" (do not disturb) sign on the door and it was 1040 am with checkout not required until noon. The hotel had one working elevator and it was the freight elevator. There's no bar, no restaurant and not a concierge to be found. Checkout time was noon and the desk was swamped with only one agent on duty. This is no sanctuary.

A soft opening is roughly defined as the hotel is bleeding money and has no income so they open the doors in hopes of raising money even though the renovations are not complete. What they don't tell you is what's left to do. In addition to the cosmetic and staffing issues, I would be anxious to learn that the fire protection work and testing of the life/safety systems had been done. On second thought, I don't want to know. Buyer be ware!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank jacksondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
We regret to learn of the challenges you experienced during your recent visit with us.

We pride ourselves at The Sanctuary Hotel New York in offering personalized service at the highest standards, and the details which you noted with our Housekeeping department is not the experience which we strive to provide for our guests. Our S.T.A.R. program focuses on "Service Tailored to Any Request", and our staff members take great pride in trying to always achieve this.

I would welcome an opportunity to further discuss these issues with you and can be contacted at jeremy@sancuaryhotelnyc.com or (212) 382-0600.

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Stayed for 5 nights end of June and don't let anyone fool you, was told by construction workers that they would be lucky if done by the end of September. Only major issue with this (if u are made aware beforehand) is that the only elevator is a service one (very very slow) and it is in constant use by staff and construction personnell meaning plan on waiting 10+ minutes every time u want to use it. I would have had staff using the stairs but service as a whole was not good.

Asked on wed for them to fix the safe in room.. Asked again thursday (twice), again on friday. Each time they were appalled that 'no one' had done anything but no individual could be bothered.

Asked for a restaurant reccomendation from concierge and they simply brought up a 2 page zagat print out off the internet and suggested we try phoning some of those to see if any availability.

Was twice woken at midnight by staff knocking on our door when they had in fact been called to a different room.

I would happily forgive the construction if staff did something when requested as opposed to chatting amongst themselves.

Location good and room fine for the px range.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jobinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Thank you for expressing your comments and concerns regarding your stay at the Sanctuary Hotel New York.

Our hotel prides itself on providing S.T.A.R. service, yet in some cases, mistakes can occur. Rest assure, we will take the necessary measures to do an internal follow up with our staff to ensure that issues such as the ones you have mentioned do not happen in the future.

We want to sincerely apologize for the challenges you experienced with the elevator. As we prepare for the finishing touches on our brand new elevator design, we are currently using our service elevator which may take a few minutes longer than usual.

I would love an opportunity to discuss these issues further with you and can be contacted at:

jeremy@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com

(212) 382-0600

Kind Regards,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

My wife and I spent about a week at the Sanctuary in late June. For a position so close to Times Square and the Theatre District, it was an incredibly quiet street - really a perfect combination of location and peace in what is an extremely busy part of the city. Our room, a Deluxe Queen wasn't large, but more than adequate for the both of us. However the design of the room, with its economical and thoughtful use of space, meant it felt much larger than it was. My wife loved the shower and well lit mirror for applying makeup, whilst the local magazines on the desk were a great addition - as unashamed tourists we felt almost like we had a locals' guide to New York!

However the greatest aspect of the hotel is the level of service, dedication and warmness of its staff. Every night we were asked what we did with our day, and felt as if the staff were genuinely interested. Furthermore, they would often pass on their personal experiences related to our daily activities which was not only interesting, but refreshing to connect with staff on such a level. A special thanks to those who made us feel so special: Thomas (a fellow Australian! Felt strange to hear the accent so far from home!) who didn't stop smiling and always welcomed us, Wilson the concierge who put up with our stupid questions and Christine who helped us out with problems without question in a prompt and friendly manner.

Whilst the hotel is ranked lowly on Tripadvisor, I feel this is not reflective of the past and not the present and future reality that is the Sanctuary. It is a great hotel, staffed by genuine individuals who care about the guest.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe room - Queen or King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonniedoonorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Thank you Bonnie for your comments about the Sanctuary Hotel New York.

We are so glad that you had a great time here at the hotel and in New York City. We are happy to know that people appreciate the considerations we take when designing the layout of our rooms. Many others have commented on how much they love our glass encased showers with rain shower heads, along with our Sanctuary beds.

When it comes to the staff, we are so proud of the way that they go above and beyond for our guests. They genuinely love to connect with every individual in efforts to provide a stay with a sense of comfort and services like no other offered elsewhere.

Thank you for your compliments about Thomas, Wilson and Christine. Just knowing that guests such as yourself appreciate their efforts, will bring a smile to their faces.

We hope to see you again soon.


Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I planned a New York City trip spontaneously one Wednesday afternoon to celebrate our anniversary, we googled "boutique hotels NYC" and found The Sanctuary. The next day we boarded a plane and arrived. The Lobby is beautiful, with dark colors and a mix of sleek New York style and the Zen feeling of an upscale spa resort. The front desk staff greeted us with a smile and sent us up to our room, which had a bottle of Veuve, 2 champagne flutes and rose petals on the bed in the shape of a heart with the sweetest welcome message from their star manager, Jennifer. Who also had sent us an email prior to our arrival welcoming us and discovered it was for our anniversary! The room is gorgeous with a leather floor to ceiling headboard and a rain shower that after a long flight feels like heaven. We went downstairs to the lobby to thank her and were presented with a tall-always smiling, true lady that went out of her way to plan our last minute trip to the city. The main lift in the lobby was being re-done but that in no way took away from the beauty and comfort you feel in this place. After we got situated Jennifer sent us to a Broadway singing brunch place that was one of the best NYC experiences I have ever had! She had alerted the manager we were coming so he came to introduce himself and gave us a few extras on the house. Got us tickets to Book of Mormon which my husband was dying to see. She planned a 2 hour night cruise, then day tour on the double decker and suggested we do the NBC studio pass rather than the Empire state so that we got the Top of the Rock and a tour in one. She even had a gentleman named Patrick bring up a bag of ice for my husbands sore knees after a long first day of pounding the NYC streets. On our second day we met Jeremy the GM who could not have been nicer, clearly this hotel knows how to select their staff!! He was very friendly and chatted with us about our stay, such a nice touch and costs nothing for them to make us feel at home.We met Hazel from housekeeping who would dote on us each day to make sure we had everything we needed! I could carry on for days with details but let me end by saying that the last night we were in town Jennifer sent us to an Italian wine bar called Da Marino and had the manager Pasquale send us a champagne toast while the piano man played "Unforgettable" for our anniversary!!!! Truly, this place and all they go out of their way to do for you is phenomenal. Even the security Francisco was always so welcoming upon our return to the hotel each day, he would talk with my husband while I asked Jennifer or the front desk a multitude of questions! So thank you to all of you at The Sanctuary NYC, we will be back. This place is FIRST CLASS and the staff, well they put it over the top! there is no way to rate it except to say that you are all wonderful and you made our trip so memorable we will be back time and time again! Maria, Houston Texas

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
It's moments like these that bring joy to our entire staff. We are so happy that we were able to make your stay so enjoyable.

On behalf of Jennifer, Hazel, Patrick and Francisco, we sincerely thank you for your fantastic comments about the service and the hotel. It's comments such as yours that motivate us to constantly go above and beyond what is expected.

The next time you come into town, please contact myself or Jennifer directly so that we can personally take care of your reservation.

We hope to see you again soon!


Warmest Regards,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We spent four nights at The Sanctuary from June 18 to June 22. It is steps away from Times Square but on a quieter street so you are not kept awake at night (there is also a Starbucks right on the corner). The hotel is still under construction on the main floor but this does not interfere in any way with the guests, it is in the final stages of completion and will be amazing when finished. We informed the hotel that it was our anniversary and we were upgraded to a king size room, with roses on the bed and a bottle of champagne on our arrival. I understand some of the rooms are smaller but it is all brand new with a beautiful rain shower and modern sinks. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were the best we've ever slept on. The doormen were so polite and always there to welcome you back (no matter how late!!). If we return to New York we would definitely stay here again. Excellent value. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priestyeskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryHotel, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you for allowing the Sanctuary Hotel New York to be apart of such a special occasion...your anniversary.

Our S.T.A.R Managers make every effort to leave our guests with a memorable, sincere, and truly personalized experience. They take great pride in creating unique and unforgettable moments, that will instill in each guests mind the need to return to the Sanctuary Hotel when they visit New York CIty.

Warm Wishes,

Jeremy Poon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,113 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,308 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is a boutique luxury lifestyle design hotel conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. A hidden gem with very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Continental Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing