We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Central Hotel New York
Ranked #262 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Lovely hotel , easy checking and checkout , clean rooms , great central location to walk to Central Park and time square or get on a train , close to all shops and restaurants . The only thing I wasn't happy with is I would have loved to be able to make a cup of tea or coffee in the room .

Room Tip: Try to get one with a view for our window looked into middle of hotel inside square so privacy was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Sally K,

Thank you for your fantastic review! I am so sorry that we did not accommodate a coffee maker during your stay. We offer coffee makers complimentary based upon availability. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    1,747
    674
    270
    213
See reviews for
1,521
1,366
174
560
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel doesn't have any advantages despite its location and even the neighborhood is too noisy that you can't sleep at night. The staff literally treat you like animals. Breakfast is a total rip off. The rooms are small and dirty. Avoid this hotel if you can!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mehmet I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Mehmet I,

I am so sorry to read of your disappointing stay with us. We strive to create an environment where our guests can honestly state they received unparalleled service and to see we failed to meet both of our expectations is extremely troubling. Please be assured we have shared your feedback with our team members so that we may improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. I do hope you will give Park Central another opportunity to show you a truly memorable experience on your next visit to NYC.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Very nice hotel, location excellent both for shopping, Central Park and Times Square.

No coffee facilities in room, I was put on the wait list for a coffee machine, but after 4 days I still didn't get one. Staff helpful and apologetic re the coffee machine

Room Tip: Ask for coffee making facilities when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IreneN65HW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear IreneN65HW,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, as it is an excellent tool to continually improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our perfect location. Please accept my sincerest apology that we did not provide a coffee maker during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2014

I have traveled quite a bit around the world and never experiences hospitality as wonderful as what i received at Park Central, NY. From the moment I arrived I was greeted by a wonderfully energetic and engaged Guest Engagement Director, named Quimby. I could tell he truly cared about the guest experience and wanted to ensure everyone felt at home. His personality and demeanor was infectious and resonated through the entire staff. I know myself, after a long day of draining meeting, his attitude lifted my spirits immediately! And on top of all that the atmosphere was beautiful and the rooms were perfectly maintained and very clean. kudos to the staff and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Lo M,

Thank you for your amazing review. I am thrilled to hear that your escape with us was a memorable one; your feedback gives us a chance to celebrate our team members, and we will not neglect to put Quimby in the spotlight! We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Central again soon!

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2014

got a great deal to stay here on priceline saying it was their top tier hotel. at the time the hotel was undergoing renovations. check-in was so slow. they put us in an unrenovated floor. I immediately called priceline and said we'll stay somewhere else. the hotel called and upgraded our room to a renovated floor (same room type).

this was better but the experience wasnt great.

Room Tip: request a newer room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank run4ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear run4ace,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We have completed our multimillion dollar renovation, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Despite being charged $20 /day facility fees, in-room WiFi was extremely unstable and signal poor. Our devices were unable to connect in several instances and most of the time, we had to be in common areas such as the hotel lobby and floor lobby to access the internet. We had raised the issue with front desk but no remedy was offered. (NB. we were misled by the ad in Expedia that the hotel provide free wi-fi and was only advised of the mandatory facility fees after booking was made)

When we first entered the room, only one of the beds was made, the other had its pillows stacked on the made bed, the iron was missing and coffee-maker was not provided.

The shower was installed incorrectly. Hot water came out when the tap said cold, and cold when the tap said hot.

There was always long line for the elevator. On the day of our departure, it had taken us ~ 20 minutes to be able to get into the elevators with our luggages.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Mon K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, both positive and constructive, as it is an excellent tool to continually improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. Please accept my sincerest apology for all of the challenges you encountered during your stay with us. All of these issues will be immediately addressed with our Management Team, so that we can work together to correct our shortcomings. I do hope you will give Park Central another opportunity to show you a truly memorable experience on your next visit to NYC.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed at the Park Central hotel with our family of 4 including 2 kids, 16 and 14. Although the rooms were small we requested 2 queen beds and slept comfortably. The room was clean and well decorated. Park Central is a well priced 4+ star hotel centrally located and definitely worth consideration. The only negatives, the elevators are slow and there seems to always be a line, and the gym equipment is lacking somewhat.

Room Tip: Request a room with queen beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Jeff W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our newly renovated decor. I am so sorry to hear that you experienced long wait times at our elevators and that you found our Fitness Center to be lacking in equipment. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your Family back soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,211 reviews
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#259 of 467 in New York City
6,186 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#101 of 467 in New York City
4,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 467 in New York City
6,826 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,027 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel New York

Property: Park Central Hotel New York
Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
#206 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#236 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Central Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing