We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay at Park Central NY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Central Hotel New York
Ranked #270 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I had actually good expectations before staying in this Hotel. I watched the website and I really expected something small and design, with all the characteristic of this type of structures. I was disappointed. The service is nothing, compared to the rate I had to pay. The room was small, old-fashioned equipped. Only the TV was good. The wifi was acceptable. The bathroom absolutely too small. The A/C system also very old-fashioned, noisy and not so performant. The only WOW is connected to the position: very good if somebody would come here to go outside and just walk the Big Apple. It wasn't my case. I don't think I will stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't care about service and you will use the Hotel just a "sleeping base" this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our wonderful location. However, I am so disheartened to hear that we did not meet your expectations. All of your feedback has been shared with our Management Team, so we can work hard to fix our shortcomings. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,845 - 2,851 of 4,923 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

The hotel, despite the millions spent on renovations, is average. The carpet in our room was dated, the fixtures in need of repair, and the wall paper was peeling. On the positive side, the bed was very nice....I slept very well. The windows open and the fresh spring breeze was wonderful. The noise level was ok and the distance to the metro was great (across the street)!!! The staff was wonderful and was fun---they truly made the hotel! The products in the hotel were nice despite the hotel being very "cheap" on giving them out. Overall.....and average hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelcityguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Travelcityguy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, both positive and constructive, as it is an excellent tool to continually improve our processes. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed both our wonderful staff and comfortable beds. Please accept my sincerest apology for the condition of the fixtures and wallpaper in your guestroom, and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our new carpet design. All of your feedback has been shared with our Management Team, so we can work together to quickly correct our shortcomings. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Park Central Hotel is very nice and I would absolutely stay there again. The location is perfect, the staff was excellent and friendly and the hotel is clean. My only complaint is the bathroom is too small and has bad lighting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dking104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Thank you kindly for your rave review and recommendation! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed both our perfect location and friendly Team Members. All of your feedback has shared with our Management Team, so we can celebrate our achievements and work hard to correct our shortcomings. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The problem by "overselling" your hotel is that people get easily disappointed on arrival. As many other reviews I was expecting to be wooed, and I was not. Check-in is very slow, and always a long line of people waiting. Also the first thing that will hit you upon entering the hotel is a strong sense of perfume. I'm not allergic to perfume, but even I found it to irritate me. I can't imagine how it must be for those who are allergic.
Room was on the 17th floor, and no street noise considering its New York. However, the crying baby in the room next door I could hear every morning. Ugh! Annoying! Bathroom is quite small, and very bad airconditioned, it seems the damp after the shower didn't go away and was still there in the afternoon when we returned after seeing the city.

Great location for first time visitors are we were, but I think next time I would prefer to be more downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amelie0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Amelie0512,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, both positive and constructive, as it is an excellent tool to continually improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our great location. Please accept my sincerest apology for all of the challenges you faced during your stay. All of your feedback has been shared with our Management Team, so we can work hard to quickly correct our shortcomings. We hope to the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Tremendous location and friendly staff but the rooms are absolutely pedestrian. The highlight of the room was the bathroom. The rooms are very small with no basic amenities other than a safe. Even the ATM was inoperable all five nights of our stay. In comparison to other 4 star hotels we have stayed in the last year (Liaison - Washington, DC; Omni Parker House - Boston) this was highly disappointing. We were offered a 37% discount on a future stay which would have been the appropriate pricing for this average hotel. Unless location is your only consideration, I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Patti O,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, and are delighted to read you enjoyed both our tremendous location and friendly Team Members. Please accept my sincerest apology for the challenges you faced with the lack of amenities provided in your guestroom, as well as the ATM being out of service. All of your feedback has been shared with our Management Team, so that we may improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Central.

Best regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

The location is so convenient, hotel is recently renovated and serves the purpose. Rooms are sufficient in size considering it is NYC, but do not expect even a small fridge of coffee. Personnel is unfriendly (who cares) but it is somewhat disappointing that they try to sell you attractions or car rides with a great degree of insistence.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Carsonino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our wonderful location and recently renovated décor. Please accept our sincerest apology for the challenges you faced during your stay with us, this is certainly not the high level of service we strive to provide to all of our valued guests. Please be assured we have shared your feedback with our team members so that we may improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. I do hope you will give Park Central another opportunity to show you a truly memorable experience on your next visit to NYC.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

When i've made the reservation for 5 nights at Park Central Hotel in NY I was very happy! The hotel isn't cheap, the price was very high. But t seemed to worth it. The photos of the hotel and its rooms are amazing!!
But when we've arrived, the hotel was just good, not amazing. The location is fantastic, could not be better! But with that the noises from the street were very very loud!
The room is good, the bathroom was small, but the bed is one of the best I've ever slept in.
If there is any special offer for the hotel, it is good. If you have to pay full price, as i've done, think a little bit more.

Room Tip: Be careful about your room. Some rooms are TOO noisy! I've asked to change it once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GustavoDarzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guest’s feedback, and are delighted to read you enjoyed both our fantastic location and comfortable beds. We are sorry to hear the street noise could be heard in your room. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 470 in New York City
11,818 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 470 in New York City
4,478 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#330 of 470 in New York City
7,072 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#184 of 470 in New York City
5,575 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel New York

Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#188 Business Hotel in New York City
#203 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $147 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Park Central Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing