We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Central Hotel New York
Ranked #266 of 468 Hotels in New York City
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

my family and I were booked and prepaid for 2 rooms for 5 days. flight from vegas was cancelled and as such we arrived at the hotel at midnight. we arrived with luggage and a tired 7 year old in tow only to be told that our rooms were given away! what?!?!?! supposedly a big group had their flight cancelled and had kids and thus were given our rooms. wait, it gets better..."don't worry, we have two rooms for you..in new jersey..." again, what - we find out later on it was their sister hotel??? no rooms in new York supposedly as the night manager stated with confidence. we made a total of three calls and found two rooms five blocks away which was supposed to be paid by them. we get to the other hotel and the manager says "this letter is not even signed nor has the letterhead of park central". after thirty minutes of trying to get in touch with the night manager (who "wasn't at her desk" - 130 in the morning????). we paid for the rooms and sent a letter stating exactly what happened to the GM. he NEVER replied. but thanks to booking.com, we got our refund (yes, we refused to go back to the hotel and booked at the intercontinental). lesson learned - hotel chains are better for those that are untried and untested. the staff were too self-serving and not accommodating at all (with the exception of the bellman - good guy) and this policy of giving away PREPAID rooms is just outright ridiculous.

Room Tip: use hotel chains when in doubt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank raul105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
I’m so sorry to read of your disappointing experience with us regarding your arrival and rooms were unavailable. This is an unfortunate situation for both you as our valued guests and as our team and I do apologize that this situation wasn't handled with the best of care for you and your family. Please be assured we have shared your feedback with our team members so that we may improve our processes and afford a better experience for our future guests. I do hope you will give Park Central another opportunity to show you a truly memorable experience on your next visit to NYC.

Best Regards,
Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,610
    1,718
    664
    267
    209
See reviews for
1,482
1,353
170
554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

i had a great deal on Booking. otherwise i think this hotel is really expensive. BUT it's worth your money to. like the guy at the front desk told me when i asked if i had a good view from my room. 'it's not the view, but the location' and he was right. close to central park. close to times square. everything you want to have when you spending some time in a big city. you can use the subway but it's really easy to walk to a lot of tourist attractions!

Subway (sandwich) across the street for breakfast. but it's nyc when you walk 10 min you have 50 options to do breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m-town2185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guests feedback and we are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,

Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Excellent location and a good dining room are positives for this hotel, but I question whether a hotel which does not offer room service can really qualify for a 4 star/diamond rating. Rooms are adequate with regard to fittings but the room we occupied was on the small size. And no coffee making facilities in the room! It’s a pity that porters/doormen/security don’t go out of their way to open doors for guests; at least you would feel welcome. Often experienced longish waits for elevator. So maybe other hotels in the area would be better option.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinclaired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon!

Best Regards,

Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel is very reasonably priced for New York. It's clean and well maintained. It can be somewhat busy when it's hosting tour groups. The lobby bar is very good and comfortable. The rooms are spacious but could use another chair. the elevator service is divided by zone and they really need more elevators to serve the Floor 3 to 9 zone. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The concierge is great and can get tickets to just about anything. There are lots of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 58313Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guests feedback and are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon!

Best Regards,

Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

I spent 8 night in this hotel and I can say that there isn't a better place to stay if you want visit The city. All The subways lines have a stop around here, so it' s very easy to get everywhere. Moreover you are 3 blocks far from central park and 5th avenue. The rooms are quite big and clean, the bed is very comfortable. There are just 2 things that I have to say : 1 there is no mini bar in the room and I don' understand Why. 2 the wifi fee is not included in the room cost, but they Will charge it in any case.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dadema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guests feedback and are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and our central location! Our Wi-fi service for our guests is included in the facilities fee at the time of booking.
The Facilities Fee of $20 plus tax per room per night provides guests with the following amenities:
· Wireless (WIFI) High Speed Internet Access through the hotel's guest rooms and public spaces for up to
5 devices
· Unlimited Local and Domestic Long Distance calls
· Luggage storage upon arrival and/or departure up until 9:00 PM.
· Unlimited use of the 24-hour state-of-the-art Fitness Center
· An alcoholic (house wine or signature cocktail) or non-alcoholic beverage with the purchase of an entrée
during lunch or dinner service in Park Kitchen, our new Restaurant and Bar, open seven days a week.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My brother and I made a last minute trip from AZ to the City, and decided to book this hotel last minute. While all the amenities were nice, the customer service provided was fantastic! Upon check out we stored our bags with the concierge so we could wander around and not have to lug our bags. When we came back to the hotel we stumbled upon a Loooooooooong line of guests waiting to pick up their bags. Not expecting that this was going to be the case and we were going to be late trying to get to the airport and our ride was waiting for us, Elizabeth stepped in and saved our day, and quickly retrieved our bags so that we could get on our way. She was very polite and helpful, and because of her I will make this my first choice when I visit again!

Thanks Elizabeth for all your help!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your kind words about our team members and especially to recognize Elizabeth for going above and beyond to make your stay a memorable one. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon!

Best Regards,

Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed at Park Central in April 2012 and had such a great experience that I returned in April 2013. I was amazed at the stylish refurbished room which I got for a great rate. The location is unmatchable and the service excellent. It is April once again and I yearn to return to this wonderful NYC hotel but unfortunately it is not possible this year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruvanthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH870, General Manager at Park Central Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and your continued patronage here at Park Central Hotel! We are delighted to be your home away from home each April visit to NYC. We look forward to welcoming you back April 2015, if not sooner!

Best Regards,

Don Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 468 in New York City
11,093 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 468 in New York City
4,243 reviews
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#260 of 468 in New York City
6,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#324 of 468 in New York City
6,781 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,552 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel New York

Property: Park Central Hotel New York
Address: 870 Seventh Avenue at 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Business Hotel in New York City
#207 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#238 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Central Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Central hotel New York in the world's greatest city, steps from Central Park, Rockefeller Center & Times Square. The Park Central is at the top of the list of Midtown Manhattan hotels for business and leisure travel. Surround yourself with the classic attractions of the Big Apple, museums, dining, & beyond. With spacious accommodations this Midtown New York City hotel invites you to discover the convenience of our landmark setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Park Central Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Hotel New York City
Park Central New York Hotel
Park Central New York City
Park Central Ny Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing