We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not recommended” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Hotel Times Square New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Ranked #367 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not recommended”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic location but don't let the smart lobby fool you, the rooms are very small and basic, no lighting over the shower! Staff weren't overly helpful, didn't know where the bus to JFK airport went from (4 blocks away!) and charged $4 to store luggage after check out.
Overall a disappointing experience unfortunately.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemfromgsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Please allow me to apologize that you were not fully satisfied with your recent stay. We have several room types/ sizes available throughout our hotel and our team is always available to assist in making sure you are well accommodated throughout your stay. We appreciate you sharing your feedback which we have shared with our team in order to improve and provide better service to each of our guests. We hope you will give us a second chance the next time your travels find you back in New York City.

Best Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    1,132
    774
    356
    255
See reviews for
714
1,078
205
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Spent three nights on a quick getaway, and couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel. Location is ideal for theater goers, and close to Times Square to enjoy the atmosphere. Room was small yet efficiently appointed, which I would expect in the heart of the city. Attendants at the Concierge desk were tremendously helpful and pleasant, as were all of the employees that we encountered. I would definitely return, and would recommend to friends and family.
Great hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your 5 star feedback with us! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay and would look forward to recommending us to your friends and family. We hope to welcome your back the next time you visit New York City.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel! Fabulous location near Times Square, walking distance to many things. The room was small, but very modern and clean.....no complaints at all. The lobby of the hotel was incredible, with comfortable seating and a DJ playing music.....what a lovely and inviting entrance! Helpful and friendly hotel staff. I would stay here again on another NYC visit...

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DSpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our fabulous location. Our lobby atmosphere is meant to provide all of our guests with a warm and inviting feel so they can start their vacation or business trip as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Glad to hear you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time your visit New York City.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

the roomis to small and he is not feet to 4 people he is very small and the shower and toilet are to tied.
as a famiily we did not enjot the hotel.
the excelent location not satisfied the expensive rate
a lot of noice from the air conditioning system

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mordehai E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

At a recent visit to the Paramount, I was presented with a bar bill that included a 18% gratuity for two drinks ($28 for two drinks at the bar, and $5.04 included gratuity). It is not normal to charge gratuity to these types of transactions, but okay, I'll admit that I should have paid attention. My problem is that now I have paid another $5 of tips making the gratuity 35%.
When trying to get this resolved (my company will not accept a receipt with a 35% gratuity--I wouldn't either), I was given the run around by the front desk, concierge, etc.
Ok, it's only $5 and I don't want to spend more time on this, but what I can do, is make sure I make as much negative publicity to this hotel. And yes, I know it's in time square, so they don't care. That's good, because me neither.

Room Tip: avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G0urmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Please allow me to apologize that your recent experience at our bar did not live up to your expectations. Please be advised that all food and beverage charges in the hotel note gratuity is included in the bill. Adding required gratuity is not unusual for many bars and restaurants throughout the city. We apologize if you were not provided the assistance you required in understanding your bill. This is not the standard of service we provide at our hotel. If you have any questions you would like to have answered or would like to better understand your bill I would be more than happy to discuss this with you. Please feel free to contact me at erodriguez-febles@paramount-nyc.com. I hope I can assist in easing your mind and showing that we hold a high standard in assisting all of our guests to the best of our ability.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here this Easter weekend for 4 nights, this was the first time I have ever been to NYC so the location was prefect, Abigail at front desk was very helpful in sort tickets to a recommended show and our room was an ok size and clean. However the bathroom was very tired looking and there is no free wifi also the heating pipes are quiet noisy when trying to sleep. Having said all that for the money and location I would stay here again

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Capitolabarmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Spent 4 nights there in the week before Easter. From the moment we arrived we got That Wow Factor. Ok Lobby seemed Dark at first, but one soon got used to it. Check in was fast & efficient, Our Room 528 overlooking Main Street, was clean, 2 Double Beds, plenty of room for our 3 Cases etc. Bathroom was clean etc. Beds were really comfortable. Yes if you left Window open at night was bit noisy from Street. AS we mentioned it was My Birthday we were given Free Wi Fi for the 4 Days & Cake & Card delivered to our Room from Reception & also more Cake & Card when my Son Called from Toronto. Concierge & Reception Staff were so helpful to us. Special mention to Catherine. We cant wait to return again. Thanks so much to everyone.

Room Tip: Our Room was good size & in perfect order, lots of Storage Space & nice View of Main Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coleen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCPHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as you celebrated your birthday. We are so happy that we could assist in making it a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#321 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 12,195 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#294 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,664 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#325 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#303 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 8,157 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#345 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Times Square New York

Property: Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Address: 235 W 46th Street, Between Broadway & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Hotel Times Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most fashionable Midtown Manhattan hotels is The Paramount Hotel in New York, centrally located in the heart of bustling Times Square. Completely renovated in 2009, The Paramount remains the consummate modern Times Square New York hotel, with easy access to the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, upscale Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Penn Station, and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The Paramount Hotel NY is located one-half block from Broadway on 46th Street - the perfect location if you are here to enjoy the best Broadway shows in New York City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Paramount Hotel Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount New York City
Paramount Hotel Nyc
Paramount Hotel New York City
New York City Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing