We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Ranked #382 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Adelaide
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Recommended !!!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Excellent location.Room very small, no wardrobe to speak off, no- where to really put our cases. The bathroom was the size of a cupboard. Our booking said we would have bathrobes and a Shower/bath combination - neither existed. The water pressure in the shower was very poor. Only two elevators working on the Sat .morning. Was bedlam with people trying to get to the ground floor. People were having to go up, just to be able to go down .However , despite these minor details , the location to all "things New York" made this hotel a great choice.You don't go to New York to sit in your room all day, you just want a bed at the end of a day. We were fortunate to be given a room upon arrival instead of having to wait until 3pm- which we really appreciated.Would stay there again.Look for deals to save on room costs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpnGo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our hotel. While we are delighted to see that you enjoyed some aspects of the Paramount, we do offer rooms with shower/bath combinations and bathrobes when requested. On your next visit please contact my Guest Experience Manager Oscar Vela at ovela@paramount-nyc.com so he can block a great room for you.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    1,354
    995
    478
    373
See reviews for
972
1,363
271
493
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

The paramount could not be in a better location! It's literally 1 minute if that away from Times Square!! Perfect! There was 3 of us travelled together 2 females and 1 male all friends and we booked a room with 2 double beds, we had read lots of reviews that the rooms were very small so we called the hotel a week before our arrival and asked of possible as there was 3 of us if we could be allocated a bigger room, we were told that a note had been adde to our booking and we would be allocated a corner room as these were abit bigger. On arrival we were given room 921 which was right opposite the lifts and when we walked in we could hardly believe it!! It was tiny! There was 2 beds but they were maybe 1 inch bigger than singles! Nowhere near big enough for 2 adults to share!! So after a trip back to reception we were then allocated room 935 this was much better! We also asked about the phonecall we'd made and actually given a reference number for but they just looked at us like they had no idea what we were talking about! Anyway we left it at that as this room was fine!!

Room was very quiet considering how close to Times Square it is, we never heard a thing at night except for the air con/heating in the room!! The fan can be quite loud but didn't bother us!! Hotel is lobby is beautiful but is very dark as is a lot of the hotel!!

If there is 2 of you then a double double room would be fabulous!! Only a couple of niggles and didn't find the reception staff very helpful which I was disappointed in but other than that I would stay again and will recommend!!

New York itself is absolutly amazing!! 4 nights is not enough! I would say go for 1 week!! There is sooo much to do and so many places to eat and drink we just didn't get enough time for them all!! We ate at bubba gump on our second night and would definatly reccommend! The food was fab and very reasonable priced and the atmosphere in the restaurant is brill!! We had to wait at the bar for half an hour for a table and the barmen were shouting out questions from forest gump and if you answered right you got a free shot! Was fab!!

Really wanted to eat at carmines on 44th street but couldn't get it it was so busy! Would reccommend for anyone that likes Italian to pre book this restaurant before you go!!

All in all a amazing holiday and I can't wait to go back! Wether it will be to the paramount I'm not sure depends which hotels are on offer but must be in Times Square!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rach T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, and I appreciate your thoughts on your experience. We hope to see you for many years to come.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Hotel foyer is very stylish - cool music, roaring fire and dim lighting. Front desk staff were very efficient and helpful. They are obviously very used to a mass influx of "clients". The restaurant is good but pretty expensive (as is New York) and staff were very attentive. The only criticism we have is the room was very small - functional but very small. Location is great. It is a stones throw from Times Square and you can walk to nearest subway in minutes. Fab. Would go back in an instant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DON6837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Greetings from NYC. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your comments with regards to the rooms, yes we are a renovated hotel, and sometimes that does leave some of our rooms with limitations. We do offer many sizes of rooms that we would be happy to show you the next time you visit NYC.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

the |Paramount hotel is literally 1 minute walk from times square. a beautiful hotel, previous reviews didnt like the darkness, but we loved it. the massive lobby is dimmed lights with huge fire in centre, and enourmous coaches to lounge in with free wifi. staff were amazingly helpful, and the little diner on the ground floor serves coffee to die for! we paid extra for two beds in our room and it was worth it. if there was a complaint it would be minor, the lighting in the bathroom was very dim to apply makeup etc.this is the only hotel i would ever stay in when we go back !!

Room Tip: might seem little more expensive, trust me its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vera d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you very much for such a great review! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your continued loyalty. Happy to hear you loved our lobby, fire place and the free wifi. Corso's Coffee is great, I agree with you!

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights at the end of November and it's very hard to find fault with the hotel at all!
Location - within a 2 minute walk from Times Square, and easy access to the subway and all of NYC's tourist destinations. Also right next to Hells Kitchen which has an abundance of bars and restaurants within walking distance
Room - we were fortunate to be upgraded upon arrival and the room was excellent, bed was huge, comfortable and the room was just what was required for a holiday where you spend very little time actually in the room anyway!
Staff - all we spoke to were really helpful and polite, special thanks to Carlos (I think) on the front desk who had some birthday cake put in my room on the 1st evening!
In response to any criticisms of the hotel, in my opinion people need to remember that it is a very old hotel, and some of the rooms I imagine might be smaller than that of a more modern hotel, but this shouldn't be a surprise to anyone! For me the character and charm of the hotel are what makes it, and if you spend so much time in your room when you're in NYC then you are wasting your time being there!
Overall, I would thoroughly recommend the Paramount to anyone and everyone thinking of visiting NYC, we will definitely stay here again when we come back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BenDCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
I appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our location in the heart of New York City Time Square, as you stated we are only minutes from the tourist destinations and dining at walking distance. Thank you for your comments with regards to our staff and I will share your comments with Carlos.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is a great hotel for long weekend visitors. The reception area is great as is the service you get from the service desk and concierge. The rooms are somewhat small but if you are in New York you will only use them to shower and sleep! The place is clean and presentable and the location is excellent for Time square and the metro.

Room Tip: Dont worry about the room, you are only going to sleep and shower there. New York is too big and exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TelfordPaulSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
I appreciate the time you took to review your long weekend stay at our hotel. Thank you for acknowledging our team of staff, who we are very proud of. We look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Spent 5 nights at the Paramount recently and recommend it highly. This was my second visit. Previously April 2011.

A few changes since then. The spectacular but rather pointless statement staircase has gone from the foyer (which is even cosier with large gas fire and scented candles and huge sofas) and the upstairs bar has now relocated to the side of the lobby and includes a Grill with small but good menu. Great breakfast buffet too.

I was upgraded to a corner room which are the biggest on each floor and def recommend those. Huge bed plus two sofas and desk. Small typical NY hotel bathroom but glad they have kept the funky Starke fittings from an earlier 90s refit. But even standard rooms are fine.

I was on a theater trip and this hotel is the best location with no Broadway house further than a 7 min walk and many just a minute or two away. Very close but thankfully not on Times Square.

Fantastic friendly staff. No queue to check in. Shout out to Oscar, Manager, who was so helpful and super charming. Rare in my 25 year NY hotel experience.

I really LOVE this hotel and will def be back. It ticks all the boxes for me. Stylish but not precious. Theater District. Not boutique but not business/tourist mass hotel either. Sensible rates. Great staff and good bar. Nice Italian coffee shop as well.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjbLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for the excellent comments! I am glad that you had such a great experience, for I am very proud of our wonderful team and the fantastic service they provide. A great experience such as yours is what makes all our team efforts worthwhile, and I have shared your positive comments with them. I hope to see you stay with us again in the future and look forward to the opportunity to provide you excellence in service again very soon.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 468 in New York City
7,115 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 468 in New York City
17,471 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#310 of 468 in New York City
9,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#361 of 468 in New York City
1,216 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#274 of 468 in New York City
3,970 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#331 of 468 in New York City
4,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Times Square New York

Property: Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Address: 235 W 46th Street, Between Broadway & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Hotel Times Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most fashionable Midtown Manhattan hotels is The Paramount Hotel in New York, centrally located in the heart of bustling Times Square. Completely renovated in 2009, The Paramount remains the consummate modern Times Square New York hotel, with easy access to the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, upscale Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Penn Station, and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The Paramount Hotel NY is located one-half block from Broadway on 46th Street - the perfect location if you are here to enjoy the best Broadway shows in New York City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Paramount Hotel Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount New York City
Paramount Hotel Nyc
Paramount Hotel New York City
New York City Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing