We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smallest hotel rooms I have seen anywhere...EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Ranked #391 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Also my first review on TripAdvisor. I have had a travelling job for 5 years (every week, all year round) and stayed here for one night with a friend whose admin booked the room. He has traveled for work for over 10 years as well. We know hotels and have stayed just about everywhere in the world. THIS IS A RIP OFF. To the degree that seeing the queen sized room made me wonder if it is, in fact, legal to create spaces this small. We complained twice and only then got switched to a king sized room which was bigger in comparison but still very small. After the first complaint we were told there were no free rooms (on a Wednesday in a hotel of that size). Rate was over 300 a night. I checked hotels.com after we were told no rooms were open and, of course, there was availability for 225 plus tax. After i stated i would like to leave, manager told me she would have to charge me. Their website has beautiful and had completely misleading photographs of the rooms. DO NOT STAY HERE. Not only you shouldn't stay in Times Square at all (and pay a premium for it), if you strongly prefer this area, there is a slew of other places that are much better. The Renaissance, for example, is comparably priced and beautiful with nicely furnished reasonably sized rooms. The Westin is older but has bigger rooms, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Please accept my sincerest apologies with regard to your recent stay with us. We strive to create a great experience for all guests, and to see that you did not receive it during your stay is disappointing to hear.

Warm Regards,


Gary Tucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,448)
There are newer reviews for Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,518 - 2,524 of 4,451 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is the FIRST time I have EVER wrote a review on TA, I wish it could have been a positive one. For a trip of a lifetime we were expecting far more from a New York Hotel - Well if you pay £320 dollars per night for what was a very, very small room. It was also a very special occasion that we had saved for. So the high point, the Pizza take-away next door..!!!!

And the low points, no i-pod docking station, no blind,curtains or frosted glass to the bathroom so Manhattan got an eyeful each morning...air-con not working properly, dirty & noisy..bath floor cracked & appeared dirty, chipped & rusty overflow in the bath, a length of coving had been replaced & not painted in the bedroom,most TV channels had no signal & most of the working ones were pix-elated, water pressure very, very low in the shower (called to complain & reception said "its because everyone else is taking a shower"). Very noisy room from the outside & we were on the 19th floor....We have travelled all over & never felt the urge to write a letter to the hotel. I wrote to the Director of Guest Services & although he was very polite we weren't going to get any further than a FREE cocktail for $1280 dollars...!!!! When you have had a long day in the magnificent New York City then you look forward to relaxing in your hotel....we didn't, we stayed out as long as possible. Sorry.

Room Tip: Try & complain about a very small one.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for submitting your feedback on TripAdvisor, as this is the only way we may improve our services in these areas. It is never our intention to disappoint our guest, and we sincerely regret that we have so thoroughly disappointed you. I did inform all of our Department Heads and they were very disappointed as well. We do have a range of rooms, and not all rooms are as limited as the one you experienced.

Warm Regards,


Gary Tucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location with Times Square being literally steps away. The hotel seemed geared more for young adults as it was very cosmopolitan. It was clean and while it was NYC out my window, I didn't have a problem with the noise. We had the 2 bed room which was comfortable. We would stay there again. Price wise, it was high, but not much higher than the other NYC hotels.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Travelbugiam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Paramount Hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your experience is always a positive one! We hope to see you for many years to come.

Warm Regards,


Gary Tucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Do not stay here. My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 2 days (too long). The lobby has a very strong perfume type smell; if you have any allergies or are sensitive to smells you will have issues with it. It is extremely dark and hot - this is the nicest looking part of the hotel. We booked a double room which was very small, the heating vents were dirty and rusty, the washroom taps leaked and the bath tub was in serious need of a refinish. The ceilings were all water stained with the stucco peeling. The room smelled like a moldy basement. It mentioned in the room description that there are ipod docking station/ alarm clocks - which were not. I had called down and they brought one up but it is not compatible with the 5 series iphone. The concierge was rude and gave us the wrong address to a restaurant that we asked him to locate - he sent us to the head office instead of the restaurant. As for the fitness center, two of the three treadmills were not working and the third one sounded as though it was about to stop working and tv did not work on it. Overall it was a horrible experience and the staff was not very accommodating or helpful.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank arc132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

On behalf of the Paramount Hotel Time Square team we would like to sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences you faced while you stayed with us. I did inform all of our Department Heads and they were very disappointed as well. Thank you for submitting your feedback on TripAdvisor, as this is the only way we may improve our services in these areas. It is never our intention to disappoint our guest, and we sincerely regret that we have so thoroughly disappointed you.


Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

First we were in room 840, which had a broken heating system. We got moved into room 1528, where the safe did not work. We mentioned this to front desk and by the time we had checked out no one had dropped by to fix the safe and the safe was still not working. It's not a large issue but its not comforting to be carrying all the cash and valuable belongings with us at all times during our walks or to events.

Saturday night we went to speak with Concierge, when we asked for her to book a nice restaurant for us (given that it was our 5 year anniversary) she mentioned there was a restaurant a few blocks away that was somewhat connected to the hotel (same exec chef or owner, something of that nature). She mentioned that the restaurant did not require reservations. Based on experience, if a restaurant does not need a reservation on a Saturday night, its not likely to be very good. She did not offer any other suggestions.

The concierge rep was also extremely pushy in selling us show tickets to Wicked and another show, something we didn't ask for. In summary, amazing location but by no means they did meet an average standard for customer service. The nicest employee was the hotel driver that took us to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please allow me to apologize for the poor stay you had with us. We strive to create a great experience for all guests, and to see that you did not receive it during your stay is disappointing to hear. We will use your comments as a training tool, and we do hope you will return for a more positive stay.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect for us. It’s within the block after getting off from PATH train, which is also the stop for quite a few subway lines. Koreantown is two blocks away for some delicious Korean food. We walked to Times Square then onto Radio City Music Hall. Even though it’s not a very short walk, but New York City night scenery along the way makes the walk very much manageable and certainly adds to the whole “New York” experience. The room is definitely small compared to typical hotel rooms, but very reasonable for a New York City hotel. The room is clean and the bed is comfortable with a nice comforter. The included breakfast was the highest quality free breakfast I have ever experienced. There was hot cheese omelet, sausage, make-it-yourself waffle along with bagel, toast, cereal, yogurt and fruit. What’s even more surprising is the size of the breakfast area. It should be considered huge, and not just for a hotel in New York City.
Two downside of this hotel: first, the wall seems to be thin that I could hear people in the next room talking. Unfortunately for us, it was a group of 4 young guys next door who seemed to have talked all night long. The second problem is the VERY slow elevator. When we checked out in the morning, we were able to squeeze in from the 8th floor, and people were waiting at every floor going down, but of course there was no room for anyone to get in.

Room Tip: I'm sure the higher the floor, the better the view, but the elevator is VERY slow.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivingForTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for reviewing of the Paramount Hotel. While we are delighted to see that you enjoyed some aspects of the Paramount, we do have a range of rooms, and not all rooms are as limited as the one you experienced. I do hope you give us a second chance on your visit to this area.

Warm Regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Right next to Times Square and Hells Kitchen.
Original decoration with a gorgeous hall. Nice staff. The rooms are a bit small. Breakfast is good but a bit expensive, (there is a Dean and Deluca next door).
The lobby bar is worth it.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Paramount Hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us back in April. We have finished our renovation so next time you’re in NYC please check us out. We now have added Paramount Bar & Grill and a Corso coffee shop that is a great addition to our hotel.

Warm Regards,


Gary Tucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#349 of 468 in New York City
18,912 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#272 of 468 in New York City
4,063 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#310 of 468 in New York City
9,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#363 of 468 in New York City
1,347 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#299 of 468 in New York City
7,484 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#335 of 468 in New York City
4,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Times Square New York

Address: 235 W 46th Street, Between Broadway & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#222 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $149 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Hotel Times Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most fashionable Midtown Manhattan hotels is The Paramount Hotel in New York, centrally located in the heart of bustling Times Square. Completely renovated in 2009, The Paramount remains the consummate modern Times Square New York hotel, with easy access to the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, upscale Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Penn Station, and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The Paramount Hotel NY is located one-half block from Broadway on 46th Street - the perfect location if you are here to enjoy the best Broadway shows in New York City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paramount Hotel Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount New York City
Paramount Hotel Nyc
Paramount Hotel New York City
New York City Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing