We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$169
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$161
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$161
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$167
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$309
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (5,258)
Filter reviews
5,258 results
Traveler rating
1,033
1,628
1,254
688
655
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,033
1,628
1,254
688
655
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimes squarerooms are smallthe theater districtfantastic locationcentral parknycbroadwaysubwayhipavenue
Filter
Updating list...
3,223 - 3,228 of 5,258 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a recently remodeled hotel with some quirks. The interior of the hotel is quite modern, although the facade and the lobby elevator doors were left in their attractive original states.

After reading the TripAdvisor reviews, we upgraded to a queen room before we arrived and are glad we did. The upcharge was reasonable.

Check-in was fast and efficient, but the lobby is not a relaxing place — the furniture is comfortable, but the noise from the rock music playing over the poor quality sound system was very annoying. The lobby even has a deejay during some evenings.

Finding the correct elevator floor button to push is an issue. The interior lighting is very dim and it's hard to read the labels. I wished that I could read Braille...

The upgraded room has a comfortable queen bed, a tiny plexiglass desk with no drawers, two deep drawers in the closet for storing clothes etc. and a safe, which means that there's hardly any space to hang a long coat or dress in the closet.

The in-room air conditioner is noisy, but the weather was good enough that we could turn it off.

We received a password for complimentary in-room wi-fi, but the speed was rather slow. I used my own cellular hot spot instead.

Housekeeping was very thorough and extremely polite, as were all of the staff members with whom we interacted.

Ice and ice buckets are not in the room — they're available on the fourth floor. Surprisingly, there are no plastic filler bags for the buckets, so I requested and received a laundry bag from the front desk (these are also not in the room), which I put in the ice bucket. The buckets may be clean when they're put in the ice room, but I've no way of knowing that they still are clean when I get them.

Others have commented on the location a half-block from Times Square in the middle of the Theater District, which is ideal. Our 18th floor room was quiet.

Would I stay here again? If I could get an upgraded room, definitely.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room on a high floor -- ours was very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garrym42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While we are delighted to see that you enjoyed some aspects of the Paramount, we apologize for not having plastic bags for the ice and that is something we will looking into having at the Paramount. Thank you for submitting your feedback on TripAdvisor, as this is the only way we may improve our services in these areas.

Sincerely,


General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Excellent hotel location. Although the room size is small but certainly provides those who come just to shower and sleep. However, it does not make sense to the hotel in the millennium not be free in-room Wi Fi only in the lobby. And the lobby is so dark, you could barely read and concentrate. Actually, the whole hotel is designed in such a dark, just not good!

Room Tip: Always find out what the size of the room, and if there is free Wi Fi
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, Guest Relations Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for submitting your feedback on TripAdvisor, as this is the only way we may improve our services in these areas.

Best regards,

Oscar Vela
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed in Jan 2011 for 5 nights with a group of friends. We asked for an upgrade and got one free of charge which gave us a much larger corner room on the 8th floor. I was happy with the size I wouldn't have been in the small rooms that all my friends stayed in, although you do only sleep in it. The rooms were clean as was the communal areas and I found the staff very helpful. The best thing about the hotel is the location and for the price you pay I would stay every time.

Room Tip: High floor as road noise can disturb your sleep if your a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trispen2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for your review of Paramount Hotel Times Square New York. My team and I are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team, as many travelers have, helpful and friendly. I’ve shared your comments with the staff and do look forward to welcome you back to our hotel when you travel to this area again.

Sincerely,

Gary Tucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

First impressions were great - this hotel is a stone's throw from Times Square and the lobby is buzzing and beautifully decorated, albeit way too heavily scented with sickly incense. But its location is also its downfall - being on one of the side streets feeding into Times Square, there is an almost constant procession of trucks, buses and most annoyingly police, fire engines and ambulances with sirens blaring day and night. And the room was right on level with the air-con plants on the roof next door. It is an older building so there was no real sound proofing. Asked staff at reception about the noise, they just said it goes with the location so put up with it. But we also stayed at Grand Central Hyatt nearby and there was absolutely no similar level of noise. Room itself was very small and nothing exciting. I would not recommend this place - Times Square is good for a visit but you are better off staying f somewhere further afield where it is quieter.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for submitting your feedback on TripAdvisor, as this is the only way we may improve our services in these areas.

Best regards,

Gary Tucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hotel was clean and we found it to be a decent stay. Our room was quiet and comfortable. Having to go to the lobby for free wifi was a little annoying, but we rolled with it. We got a free upgrade because of maintenance issues in the next room requiring room which worked out alright.

Reason for the average rating is simply based on location. I would not stay at Times Square if visiting New York again. way too busy. Stay away, but close to a subway station a few stops away and you will be much happier.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seif58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for submitting your feedback on TripAdvisor, as this is the only way we may improve our services in these areas.

Best regards,


Gary Tucker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews