We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service, small rooms even for NY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Ranked #391 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad service, small rooms even for NY”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had a lackluster experience on a 3 night stay here. At check in, after a long train ride, I was helped by the front desk by a woman who was nice enough. However, there were 4 other employees surrounding her carrying on a very loud personal conversation which made it impossible for me to communicate with the woman checking me in-very unprofessional. My blow dryer was broken and I called down twice to get a replacement which was never brought up. The television audio silenced out about every other word. No room to work on a computer in the room other than in the bed--in fact, the room consisted of the bed and a tiny little pathway around it. Because I really couldn't work from there, I tried to check out a day early. Since I missed the 24 hour window before check in by about 5 hours, the manager would not offer any flexibility in the policy and said I would have to be charged for the full next night. I also noticed they don't ask about your stay when you check out (or try to check out early) because they really just don't care.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emc20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
On behalf of the Paramount Hotel Time Square team we would like to sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences you faced while you stayed with us. I did inform all of our Department Heads and they were very disappointed as well. Thank you for submitting your feedback on TripAdvisor, as this is the only way we may improve our services in these areas. It is never our intention to disappoint our guest, and we sincerely regret that we have so thoroughly disappointed you.

Sincerely,


Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    1,428
    1,056
    537
    438
See reviews for
1,096
1,423
306
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The rooms are small, yes, but well designed; best for one person, maybe two if you get along well...perfect location...Ryan at the front desk was great, super helpful and professional...he resolved some issues for us quickly and with aplomb. Congrats. Will stay there again next time in NY.

Room Tip: get the largest room you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ygetmilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review of Paramount Hotel Times Square New York. My team and I are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team, as many travelers have, helpful and friendly. I’ve shared your comments with Ryan and do look forward to welcome you back to our hotel when you travel to this area again.

Sincerely,


Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The pictures online are nicer than the rooms are in real life. The room was clean but not as clean as I would expect for the price and for the rating. We had a room with two double beds and the room was very small! No vanity, no space. For two people it's ok but if you have more than that expect to be crammed. The air conditioning didn't work and when we called for maintenance they arrived promptly to fix it. That's probably the only positive thing I can say about our stay...I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evoncita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
On behalf of the Paramount Hotel Time Square team we would like to sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences you faced while you stayed with us. I did inform all of our Department Heads and they were very disappointed as well. Thank you for submitting your feedback on TripAdvisor, as this is the only way we may improve our services in these areas. It is never our intention to disappoint our guest, and we sincerely regret that we have so thoroughly disappointed you.

Sincerely,


Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Went to New York for the weekend from Boston. The hotel location is absolutely great, however went for a friends birthday had about 12 people in our group and a few rooms. As we are getting ready we use the hotel docking station to play music from the ipod, was not loud at all. We get a rude notice from security about the music being too loud. We now turn it down and have it on the lowest volume possible. Again security comes up, once again very rude, the white security guy spoke, the black one stood behind nodding his head I think to intimidate us. They now said that one more time they come up they will evict us and they will not give us warnings about talking among ourselves just the music. We decide to completely switch the music off. At 4am once we came back and were all in bed, we get a call from some staff member in the hotel that we should get to sleep straight away that we are talking to loudly.

In the morning I went to the front desk and asked for a room move because I couldnt believe that we got a call at 4am about talking when we were clearly sleeping. The manager came and apologised, however the front desk told us for a room move we would have to check out by 12 and then walk around in New York City, come back later on around 4pm and we would have a new room. This is ridiculous after I have paid for the hotel, was now told to walk around which was not our initial plan. However we spoke to security and they said they would monitor the situation. I have had room moves in other hotels and it was done swiftly and in a professional manner, was not told to check out and then check back in and walk around in the city.

The hotel itself is cheaply furnished, the air conditioning in one of our rooms refused to get cold. The rooms were very tiny, no space to walk around at all. Hotel staff not so friendly, had a better stay at the Holiday Inn last time I was in New York with complimentary internet. The location is the only great thing.

It was pouring with rain and also the hotel did not have any umbrellas available for us, the security guard on duty told us to go to times square, in dresses and heels and suits and buy umbrellas.

I think the staff really need to be retrained, they need to open a few more desks at check in because the line was too long and this was at 9pm and need to brighten up the hall ways. The lobby was gorgeous, a lovely fireplace, however did not make up for the rude security or the tiny rooms. The hallways are dingy and also the bathrooms and wardrobe space too small. The water pressure was terrible as well.

DO NOT STAY HERE !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
On behalf of the Paramount Hotel Time Square team we would like to sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences you faced while you stayed with us. I did inform all of our Department Heads and they were very disappointed as well. Thank you for submitting your feedback on TripAdvisor, as this is the only way we may improve our services in these areas. It is never our intention to disappoint our guest, and we sincerely regret that we have so thoroughly disappointed you.

Sincerely,

Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The lobby is awesome, the elevators are nice and it goes downhill from there. ...
The passages seem like a cheap motel, dark and dingy. The rooms are small but thats what you expect at a hotel in Times Square.
The location is the best thing about the hotel. Its a block from Times Square and there is a flea market right next to it. The subways are close enough and you can get a cab right at the curb.

The staff is a bit standoffish, probably to ward off free loaders who would just come and sit in the lobby (God knows why!) Cleaning staff is kind and polite and probably the ones that deserve tips. Dont waste them on the front staff or help desk.

Take the stay here only if you get a killer deal.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inner lane are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antaryami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While we are delighted to see that you enjoyed some aspects of the Paramount, we apologize if the overall aesthetic was displeasing to you. We do offer many sizes of rooms that we would be happy to show you the next time you visit NYC. Thank you for submitting your feedback on TripAdvisor, as this is the only way we may improve our services in these areas. It is never our intention to disappoint our guest.

Sincerely,


Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I would never come back to this hotel. The windows aren't double panned and you can literally hear everything going on outside! The room is like a cell, soooooo small it's ridiculous! The TV isn't HD! The front desk isn't very nice and they do not try to accommodate. Stay far away from this hotel! NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the bottom are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DBerry74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
On behalf of the Paramount Hotel Time Square team we would like to sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences you faced while you stayed with us. Thank you for submitting your feedback on TripAdvisor, as this is the only way we may improve our services in these areas. It is never our intention to disappoint our guest, and we sincerely regret that we have so thoroughly disappointed you. We apologize if the overall aesthetic was displeasing to you. We do offer many sizes of rooms that we would be happy to show you the next time you visit NYC.

Sincerely,


Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our first visit to New York, the Paramount was a great selection. It was located half a block from Times Square so for touring around it was ideal. The hotel was clean,we arrived at 9.00 am and our room was ready, however we had a queen room and it is very small. A family with children would have a difficult time moving around the room. The bathroom was extremely small as well as only having a small shower. The bed was very comfortable and as small as the room was, it was functional.

Room Tip: Upgrading your room may give you a little more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain3816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with our hotel so comprehensively. Your comments are extremely helpful, especially the feedback with regards to families that stay with us. We do have different room types that we can show to accommodate families with children or need more room.

Sincerely,


Gary Tucker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 467 in New York City
7,344 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,452 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#270 of 467 in New York City
4,038 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#365 of 467 in New York City
1,294 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#333 of 467 in New York City
4,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Times Square New York

Property: Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Address: 235 W 46th Street, Between Broadway & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#224 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Hotel Times Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most fashionable Midtown Manhattan hotels is The Paramount Hotel in New York, centrally located in the heart of bustling Times Square. Completely renovated in 2009, The Paramount remains the consummate modern Times Square New York hotel, with easy access to the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, upscale Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Penn Station, and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The Paramount Hotel NY is located one-half block from Broadway on 46th Street - the perfect location if you are here to enjoy the best Broadway shows in New York City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount New York City
Paramount Hotel Nyc
Paramount Hotel New York City
New York City Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing