We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, better hotels in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Ranked #389 of 467 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Small rooms, better hotels in NYC”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The rooms here are small, typical of NYC hotel rooms but it was more the dark, dingy alpearance of the whole hotel that bothered me. I was there for maybe 12 hours so it wasn't a huge deal. The lobby is chaotic. Lots of people just hanging around and the time i had to wait to get luggage the lobby stored for me was ridiculous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADesai90024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie V, Social Media Ambassador at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Please allow me to sincerely apologize if you did not enjoy your stay with us. Guest comfort is a key concern of ours, and to hear that you did not receive quick and immediate attention is troubling to hear. Please be assured that we will discuss your concern with our staff so that issues such as these do not occur again. I do thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Natalie Vachon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    1,423
    1,054
    536
    438
See reviews for
1,094
1,421
306
531
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We traveled here in March 2012 and stayed in the Paramount hotel for 8 nights. The hotel is in a great location and is right on the door step of the red steps in Times Square. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. When we walked into the hotel it is very dark and they were pumping out a nice smell. Our room was nice, small but the bed was comfy and the room was clean and whilst we were out most the time this was all that mattered to us. We could hear traffic noise from our room as we were at the front of the hotel but this is expected when you visit New York. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie V, Social Media Ambassador at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking the time to review the Paramount Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the room was comfortable and to your liking. We hope you will return to stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Natalie Vachon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We originally planned to stay 2 nights at this hotel but had to check out to another hotel next day once we saw the quality of the rooms. While I must appreciate the quality of the interiors, it's quite modern keeping in line with the location, right from the DJ consoled in the center of the lobby to smart weather clock on the full size mirror on the floor. Looks fab.

But that's it. The rooms are so tiny that even 2 people cannot walk around without bumping into each other. The distance between the bed and the bathroom is such that you easily jump inside direct from the bed. No kidding. I have stayed at other hotels at Times Square but this was the smallest of the lot.

There is no free wifi except in the lobby and that's why its always crowded there.

Keeping in line with service standards in Manhattan, its consistently poor. They help you unload the baggage from the car when you check in but not when when checking out. The bell desk guy who cam to leave the luggage continued to stare post putting the luggage in the room till we tip him. Not that I don't want to give but they make you feel as if its a service you have to pay for separately, not included in the hotel rate.

Even the room service menu is heavily priced. One of those hotels who reduce the room rates enough to make it look attractive against their competition but then go silly charging for the smallest stuff. I would rather pay $20 extra upfront and be happy with more free stuff.

The good part is that it is next to the times square so you can walk around and see a lot of things. Great location. And probably thats the only reason why people will keep coming back to it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikas101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie V, Social Media Ambassador at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. While I am happy to see that you enjoyed the location, please allow me to sincerely apologize if you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. We will share your comments with our team as a training tool, and I do thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Natalie Vachon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The lobby was really nice and the rooms are average. However, what really turned me off about this hotel was the rude, unfriendly, and unhelpful staff. They're customer service was very poor and for that reason I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: The standard double rooms are extremely tiny.. I would only recommend them if you are travelling alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie V, Social Media Ambassador at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Please allow me to sincerely apologize if you did not enjoy your stay. Guest comfort is a key concern of ours, and to hear that you did not receive quick and immediate attention is troubling to hear. Please be assured that we will discuss your concern with our staff so that issues such as these do not occur again. I do thank you for your feedback.It was a great pleasure welcoming you here and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Natalie Vachon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I booked their “Exclusive Twitter Rate” as noted on their Twitter profile page. My room rate varied each night from $305.15 to $160.65. Average nightly rate was $264.25, including taxes.

As I was about to leave on my trip a couple of very negative reviews popped up on TripAdvisor. The kind of reviews that warn you to --- stay away.

The hotel was fine. The room was small but not too small. The closet/drawer space was minimal but was enough for me. There was a problem with the cooling in my room. I reported it and they sent up a guy to fix it. (Thank you!) Simple as that.

I like to stay within walking distance of the theaters that I visit and the Paramount’s location offered me that. There was a parking lot across the street from the hotel that I could walk through and reach 45th street in seconds.

I wouldn’t mind staying at the Paramount again.

Twitter @nycparamount

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie V, Social Media Ambassador at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review of the Paramount. We're delighted you took advantage of the Twitter rate, and that your stay was a success!

Sincerely,
Natalie Vachon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great location but…don't get fooled by the great lobby. It is just a facade! The rooms don't look anything like the cool lobby. They are small, basic and the walls paper thin. It could be so much better!

Room Tip: Small rooms so make sure you upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmadvisory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie V, Social Media Ambassador at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Please allow me to sincerely apologize if you did not enjoy your room. Guest comfort is a key concern of ours, and to hear that you did not receive quick and immediate attention is troubling to hear, and we would be happy to show you other rooms in the future. I do thank you for your feedback.It was a great pleasure welcoming you here and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Natalie Vachon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lookout Mountain, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed staying here to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. The rate was reasonable compared to other hotels in the Times Square area. Their rates do change, so keep checking for a lower rate if you are planning in advance.

The hotel was in a safe area. A doorman was always present to greet us. Yes, as other reviewers stated, the lobby is black and quite dark. We felt like it gave us a calm, peaceful feeling after being in the busy city.

The room was well laid out for the small space. The pictures on their website were a fair representation of the actual room. We did not feel crammed, but we also travelled light. We were able to unload our suitcases into the closet, which contained 2 drawers, so we weren't tripping over suitcases. I was amazed at how quiet the room was. In three nights, we were never disturbed by noise.

Because I noted our anniversary, they gave us a free room upgrade. :)

I reported a leaky faucet, and it was fixed while we were out the same day. I did not expect that but thought they should be aware of the problem. I give credit for their immediate attention to this.

The only bad thing I can report is that when I called with questions, whoever answered stated that there was no free internet in the lobby. That contradicted what I had read on Tripadvisor reviews, and it turned out that there was free internet in the lobby. This suited our purposes to review email each day to see if we had anything important to deal with. We could have paid $14.95/day for in-room internet.

If I were to return to NYC, I would definitely try to get a room here. I'm very price conscious, so I would try to book well in advance to secure a good rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetonLookout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie V, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review of the Paramount Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff delivered the friendly and outstanding service that the Paramount Hotel is known for. I will share your comment with them, so that they are aware of your kind compliments. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,
Natalie Vachon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 467 in New York City
7,333 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,437 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#268 of 467 in New York City
4,037 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#364 of 467 in New York City
1,287 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#331 of 467 in New York City
4,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Times Square New York

Property: Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Address: 235 W 46th Street, Between Broadway & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#221 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Hotel Times Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most fashionable Midtown Manhattan hotels is The Paramount Hotel in New York, centrally located in the heart of bustling Times Square. Completely renovated in 2009, The Paramount remains the consummate modern Times Square New York hotel, with easy access to the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, upscale Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Penn Station, and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The Paramount Hotel NY is located one-half block from Broadway on 46th Street - the perfect location if you are here to enjoy the best Broadway shows in New York City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount New York City
Paramount Hotel Nyc
Paramount Hotel New York City
New York City Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing