We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vey small, bad customer service,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Ranked #385 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“Vey small, bad customer service,”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel has not computer rooms, very small rooms, bad customer sericen and employees with bad or nothing respect for customers. 26 dollar per minute to call from the room, no breakfast and so on. i do no think is a good option, the worst I have seen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don F, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I want to apologize if you did not enjoy your stay with us, as we want each guest to have a wonderful experience while visiting the Paramount. We would love to host you again the next time you are in New York City. Please feel free to contact my team and let them know about your last experience so that we can make sure your next stay goes smoothly.

Sincerely,
Don Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    1,398
    1,036
    514
    416
See reviews for
1,052
1,400
289
521
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was our second time at the Paramount. First of all we were very positively surprised about the apperance of the newly renovated lobby. It was nice to see how they transformed the lobby into a very nice and comfortable space which we often used for lounging and sitting at the fireplace. The staff at the Paramount is very friendly, efficient, and helpful with any problem you may have. Our king sized room was pretty roomy for New York City standards. We had some issues with the heating system during our stay which the professional and helpful staff at Paramount took care of right away. I must admit that the main reason why we returned to the Paramount was because of its very close location to Times Square and the Theater District. Since I was so positively surprised about the changes made since my last visit, I will be returning to the Paramount again on my next trip to New York City to be able to marvel at the new coffee shop and the new Paramount boutique.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don F, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you kindly for your awesome feedback for the Paramount! I'm so pleased that you had such a great stay, and that the location is such a plus for you when you visit New York City. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,
Don Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the paramount for a week pn the 8th Dec 2013. The hotel was undergoing renovations to it's main lobby which was a shame because the decor everywhere else was fantastic! So I would love to see it when it's lobby is done up. We originally booked a broadway classic but when we went to check in the receptionist took one look at us, seen we were there for a week and told us a standard room wouldn't be much good...we'll upgrade you for free to Superior Queen. When arriving at our room we understood why we were upgraded. The room wasn't that big and that's with the upgrade (To be honest we pretty much expected this anyway thanks to reviews on here). Didn't really use the restaurant as we were out and about all day/night. But again couldn't be faulted for it's modern decor.

All in all the hotel was good. 2 mins walk from times sq, all the theater round about us and the staff were some of the friendliest I've come across.

Room Tip: I would try and either get a free upgrade or pay for it when going for a week or more. Like the face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don F, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Paramount Hotel on Trip Advisor, and I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be happy to know that our lobby has been completely renovated along with many more amenities. We hope you will return to NYC and the Paramount Hotel soon!

Sincerely,
Don Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

On arrival, welcomed by friendly staff. Hotel is in a perfect location for walking to the main sights of New York. It is a stone's through from Times Square and all the shops and restaurants there. The rooms are small but very clean and comfortable. Had a problem with noisy pipes in our room and after reporting this to the staff we were promptly offered an upgraded room. Would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to friends. Very good value.

Room Tip: Broadway classic room is tiny! we understand space comes at a premium in New York but this was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don F, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review of the Paramount Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff delivered the friendly and outstanding service that the Paramount Hotel is known for. I will share your comment with them, so that they are aware of your kind compliments. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,
Don Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

For theater and dining, you cannot beat staying at the Paramount. Our family group of 13 walked everywhere, enjoying the sights and sounds of the city. The hotel staff was friendly and efficient. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. The hotel lobby provided lots of room for gathering. The elevators were quick and smooth. The cafe, bar and restaurant offered convenient and tasty beverages and food. We took advantage of the special offerings on room rates and complimentary foods. We would return to the Paramount for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gran208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don F, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review of the Paramount Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff delivered the friendly and outstanding service that the Paramount Hotel is known for. I will share your comment with them, so that they are aware of your kind compliments. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,
Don Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Staying for three nights here and the location is fantastic for times square, empire state, broadway, central park etc etc. Rooms are good, not overly exotic but more than adequate. Staff very friendly as well. The fitness centre is actually a gym 4 blocks away and is very busy so best run in Central Park. Lots of restaurants nearby as well. Had a jackhammer outside the room last night pulling up the street, but not much the hotel can do about that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Platman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don F, General Manager at Paramount Hotel Times Square New York, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Paramount Hotel, and while I am happy to see that your overall stay was pleasant, I do apologize for the city jackhammering outside your window. We try to muffle the city noise as much as possible, so I am sorry if it still got through. I hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Don Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 467 in New York City
7,234 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 467 in New York City
18,118 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#308 of 467 in New York City
9,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#269 of 467 in New York City
4,012 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#356 of 467 in New York City
1,261 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#330 of 467 in New York City
4,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel Times Square New York

Property: Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Address: 235 W 46th Street, Between Broadway & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Hotel Times Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most fashionable Midtown Manhattan hotels is The Paramount Hotel in New York, centrally located in the heart of bustling Times Square. Completely renovated in 2009, The Paramount remains the consummate modern Times Square New York hotel, with easy access to the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, upscale Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Penn Station, and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The Paramount Hotel NY is located one-half block from Broadway on 46th Street - the perfect location if you are here to enjoy the best Broadway shows in New York City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount New York City
Paramount Hotel Nyc
Paramount Hotel New York City
New York City Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing