We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base to explore NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel New York Times Square
Ranked #135 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 27, 2014

After a long flight and freezing cold transfer from JFK it was nice getting into the warm downstairs lobby where the very friendly door/luggage guys are, had a distinct feel about it with the lighting! You have a short lift ride to get to reception but never waited more than 2 minutes to get up (even though it was thanksgiving week and veryyyy busy!) Had a friendly check in then were straight up to our room on the 28th floor - amazing views! Room was perfect and had everything we needed including a hugeeeee TV :) no complaints atall the whole place is well maintained and well decorated. After exiting the hotel just turn the corner and your pretty much in Times square and empire state/macys is only a short walk one way and central park and museums again not far in the other direction so perfectly placed! Would stay here again for sure if we ever come back!

Room Tip: Go as high as you can for amazing views of the city!
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSternagel, Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. I am so pleased our location was convenient for you. Most importantly, I appreciate your comments regarding our service. I hope you stay in touch with us on Twitter until your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,319 - 2,325 of 5,700 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is a great hotel in an amazing location. The entrance is on 52nd Street and the door is patrolled by the doorman. You then take a lift up to reception on the 8th floor. On this floor you have a two man reception desk along with the bar and restaurant. The bar is very modern in appearance and manned by really friendly and helpful bar staff, and being on the 8th floor, the views of Broadway and Times Square are stunning. There is a wide selection of draught beers, wines and spirits. Prices are higher tahn in bars but this is the case with most hotels. We didn't use the restaurant but it shared the same views. The bar has an outdoor rooftop terrace but it wasn't used when we were there due to snow and freezing temperatures. Wifi is also free in this area but not in the rooms. The lifts to the rooms were quiet and fast and we never had to wait long.
The rooms were really good and quiet. We were on floor 25 and so views were great. The bed was incredibly comfortable and huge. The room had a wall mounted HD TV and good lighting. The bathroom was first class with all soaps and gels provided.
The location couldn't be better, being on Broadway and a stones throw from Times Square and provided a superb base for our long weekend and contributed greatly to our fantastic memories of New York.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkWW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSternagel, Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement and thorough review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Novotel New York Times Square. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is fresh, clean and recently remodeled. The room was tidy and modern, with a great view of Times Square. Well situated to many Broadway venues, the location is great. The staff was universally helpful and lovely, even going so far as surprisingly allowing us a slightly early check-in. The parking is about a 3 minute walk down the street, and was procedurally easy (other than schlepping bags down the street). The rooms are small, but adequate. What lacked in size was overcome by a new, freshly updated room interior. Our room was QUIET - didn't hear a peep from surrounding rooms or the hallway. The doorman held our bags for us after check-out at $1/bag, which was helpful as we continued to enjoy the city after checking out. For the rate and location and cleanliness, I give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CJG_WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSternagel, Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

It was our pleasure to serve you during your recent visit. I am pleased you enjoyed our location and quiet guest rooms! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Got back yesterday from a stay at the Manhattan Times Square, the hotel is in the perfect position for exploring and walkable to most of the main attractions, Times Square being on your doorstep!

When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to a suite as it was my birthday and I was given a bag containing a mug, pen, keyring, magnet and a box of chocolates as a present. The staff could not have been more friendly! The room itself was amazing, it had a lounge dining room, kitchen 2 bathrooms and a bedroom, but most of all it was spotlessly clean.

I cannot thank you enough for the great time we had and with all your help with direction etc! I am already planning my return trip next year to your hotel!

Room Tip: Great views from floor 17!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clon8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSternagel, Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us! It was our pleasure to provide you with an upgrade and I am pleased to see our suite exceeded your expectations. We hope to become a tradition and celebrate many more special occasions with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was our 2nd trip to New York but 1st stay at the Novotel and was very happy that we chose this hotel, from check in to departure the staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were very clean and spacious, and hotel lobby and bar area looks much better when you are there than it looks in the pictures, location couldn't be any better right in the centre of wherever you want to get to, plenty of restaurants close by too, if we return for a 3rd time I would not hesitate in staying at the Novotel again

Room Tip: higher floor for the fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ida_jarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSternagel, Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

I am pleased to read that property photos did not do our architecture and accommodations justice. Thank you for mentioning you would return. It would be our pleasure to serve you during future visits to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Novotel Times Square is in an incredible location, right on Broadway and a few hundred hards from the bright lights of Times Square.

It's not the most glamorous of hotels in Manhattan - no chandeliers or doormen in top hats - but this was to its credit. Once we'd checked in we were left alone to have a relaxing holiday. We never nice felt pestered by staff or treated like dumb tourists.

We stayed in a King room. It was spotless, a good size and with a gorgeous comfy bed and great shower.

Free wifi in the lobby and access to internet via Macs.

Would highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nattorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSternagel, Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for mentioning you would recommend Novotel New York Times Square to others. We are delighted that we met your expectations during your visit and appreciate your comments about our great location. Times Square has so much to explore, we hope you return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Silver A-club member and I always stay at either Sofitel or Novotel due to their constancy in term of services. But this hotel is far behind the expectation. Rooms are decent very limited cupboard space, service is real lagging ! The same goes for breakfast, room service, house keeping and staff !

Bed sheets have not been changed for 3 days, breakfast restaurant crew seemed unhappy and annoyed whenever hot milk is requested !

Converge service is the Worst! I asked for a direction and he just asked me to google it, lol !!

The only good thing is the location !

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvljock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSternagel, Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for your review. Though it is not the kind of review we typically receive, we value your feedback. We do wish we could have addressed some of these issues during your stay, as we always aim to exceed our guest’s expectations. We apologize you were not happy with your stay on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,397 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#105 of 470 in New York City
485 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#200 of 470 in New York City
9,901 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#69 of 470 in New York City
6,659 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#189 of 470 in New York City
8,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel New York Times Square

Address: 226 W 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019-5802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#100 Business Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $174 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its sophisticated styling, the newly-redesigned 4-Star Novotel New York Times Square invites you to experience the electricity of Times Square. Located in the heart of Manhattan, right in the Theater district, our unique Midtown luxury hotel is within walking distance to New York's best attractions, including Times Square, Central Park, and the prestigious 5th Avenue. You'll be captivated by our stunning panoramic views of Times Square at our trendy new restaurant Supernova. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel New York Times Square Hotel New York City
Accor New York City
Novotel New York City
Novotel Times Square
New York City Novotel
Novotel Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing