We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home for the Superbowl!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel New York Times Square
Ranked #137 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our home for the Superbowl!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We've stayed at other Times Square hotels but will be returning to the Novotel! The hotel has a great view of Times Square, comfortable rooms, and a friendly, helpful staff that made us feel like their personal guests! The hotel and room had modern décor.
Our second morning there, we had breakfast in the restaurant. The food was great and the wait-staff were very accommodating to me when I stayed for a couple of extra hours to work. They kept my water glass full and my coffee hot long after I was done eating. I finally left when I realized I was in their way though they were happy to work around me.
That night, we were enjoying ourselves at the bar when we met Gilles, the GM for the hotel. What a great host! My husband and I felt like we were his personal guests. He and his bar staff ensured we were well taken care of!
The most important thing to me is having a comfortable bed. We have stayed at other hotels where the beds were so hard that I couldn't sleep. The bed here was comfortable, with fluffy pillows and duvet...I had no trouble sleeping. The towels were soft, and overall it was a clean, comfortable, stylish room.
We'll definitely visit again on all of our future NYC trips.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelbyCobraSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSternagel, Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. I look forward to sharing you compliments regarding our service with the rest of the team. I am so pleased you enjoyed a comfortable stay at Novotel New York Times Square. See you the next time you visit New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,507
    2,000
    475
    123
    72
See reviews for
2,066
1,619
170
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel a couple of days prior to Super Bowl. Hotel is in a perfect location, just far enough away from the hustle of Times Square but close enough to see. Perfect place to explore other areas of the city. Doorman always there to get you a cab if needed. All the staff we encountered were very friendly. Love all the modern amenities in the lobby and room. Quite roomy for New York City. We had the pleasure of meeting the manager and family. He takes great pride in his hotel and it shows. We will definitely be back and will recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorismct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSternagel, Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel New York Times Square. Most importantly, thank you so much for your comments about our service. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope you will stay in touch with us on Facebook and Twitter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of friends. It is a perfect location within walking distance of most attractions and a short walk to the metro to visit Ground Zero and Wall Street.
The hotel has recently been renovated and has a modern , pleasant lobby and restaurant. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. It was freezing in New York and they gave us a room early. The room was a bit dark until we figured out the lighting system. It was a good size,clean and quiet with a fantastic view of Times Square. It had a large, comfy bed, fridge, safe, flat screen TV and a large bathroom with a good shower. I was not so keen on the dark furniture and dark grey sink. It would have been nice to have had tea and coffee in the room. Free wifi is only available in the lobby. It was well priced for New York and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Times Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisetraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSternagel, Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for mentioning you would stay with us again and for providing a review. I am pleased to see our location suited you. Most importantly, I appreciate your kind comments regarding our team. I look forward to sharing your compliments with the rest of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

New York, New York.... nowhere like it and if its your first time on Manhattan Island and you want to get right under the skin of the amazing city quickly but also want a retreat above the noise and mayhem that goes on below 24/7 then the Novotel in the Time Square district is a perfect location. Recently having undergone a programme of investment the Novotel stands well and truly above the brand in other European countries. Its five star. Though you wont get some of the services you might find up the street in the Waldorf but then what do you want? a spa treatment? then go to a spa! This hotel is about getting to know the city and rolls out before you as you descend down several levels via elevator from the lobby on to the street. Your right in the middle of theatre land, a few blocks from Central Park, some of the best shopping in the world and short subway journey to the funky and bohemian SoHo, Tribeca and the lower east side. Don't be offended by the apparent curt manner of the staff. Its New York, what you see is what you get, its big, its brassy and its blousy. I have been staying at this establishment for close on 15 years. I have stayed in the Sheraton, the Hilton and the St Regis too but for sheer convenience its the Novotel every time.

Room Tip: The higher you are the further away you are from noise... not that its a noisy hotel as the lobby is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSternagel, Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read you found our accommodations comfortable and perfect for what you were looking for in NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, Staffs, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I've just returned from a rather chilly break in New York where I celebrated my 30th birthday and I wanted to post this review as in all honesty I couldn't fault much. The hotel is located in a perfect position for most of the main attractions, I must of walked a good 15 miles or so over the 4 day break in order to explore all that New York has to offer.

The recent renovation in my opinion is modern but tasteful, all public areas were clean and the bedroom itself was spacious enough for the two of us, the TV was huge and whilst on some occasions several channels did not produce a sound, for us we weren't in New York to stop in and watch TV anyway! I can't comment on the toiletries as we took our own but the shower worked fine and there was always hot water, I would have liked a bath also to ease the aches and pains in the evening from all the walking but wouldn't mark the hotel down for the lack of such as it appears other rooms offer this. The safe and mini fridge were a welcome bonus and free of charge, the hairdryer was fine too and was powerful enough once you grasped the settings (switch up for low, switch down for high). We were situated on the 20th floor and had a fantastic view of Times Square, despite being in the "thick of it", noise was not an issue and I slept comfortably all 3 nights with no disturbances from other guests or outside.

I didn't dine/ drink at the hotel so again can't comment on service, quality or price but I did see someone order food and it was brought out promptly and smelled delicious!

If or should that be when I got to New York again I will most definitely be staying at this hotel as it was great value for money, centrally located and exceeded my expectations.

Feel free to message me for more information concerning the hotel or indeed New York itself if you are are first time travellers and I will do my best to help.

Kerry

Room Tip: eMail the hotel in advance if you have a preference for a higher floor, their email address can be f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSternagel, Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Happy birthday! I am so thankful we had the opportunity to celebrate with you! Thank you so much for your endorsement and thorough review. I am pleased our location, accommodations, and service suited you. We hope to become a birthday tradition and welcome you back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Just stayed at this hotel and 100% agree with tripadvisor review. Room was lovely large and recently renovated to a high standard and although we overlooked Times Square area we heard no traffic noise. Superb hotel, close to everything even tube links.

Room Tip: Very comfy beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawnbaileygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSternagel, Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your compliments regarding our location. I appreciate your input and hope your travels bring you back our way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Heard this hotel had a great view from the lounge of Time Square. Went into the lobby and was directed to the lounge, while there we saw some fellow fans and started talking about the hotel and service, they went on and on. We were all approached by the GM, he talked with them for a bit and introduced himself, Gilles was his name what a very nice and professional man. He asked my wife and I how our stay was going. We said unfortuantely we are not staying here he commented we need to change that. We said had not heard of this place until we got here, and already had a room. After some discussion and seeing how they treated their patrons. We talked with Gilles and made arragnements to stay. When we return to New York I will be staying at this Hotel. The employees are what drew us in, the accomodations was a bonus.

Room Tip: Great view from higher floors of Time Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcSternagel, Manager at Novotel New York Times Square, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind endorsement. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our views of Times Square, and am so pleased you had the opportunity to stay with us. Your comments are sincerely appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 467 in New York City
6,429 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
2,779 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 467 in New York City
357 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,476 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel New York Times Square

Property: Novotel New York Times Square
Address: 226 W 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019-5802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
#96 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#100 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its sophisticated styling, the newly-redesigned 4-Star Novotel New York Times Square invites you to experience the electricity of Times Square. Located in the heart of Manhattan, right in the Theater district, our unique Midtown luxury hotel is within walking distance to New York's best attractions, including Times Square, Central Park, and the prestigious 5th Avenue. You'll be captivated by our stunning panoramic views of Times Square at our trendy new restaurant Supernova. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel New York Times Square Hotel New York City
Accor New York City
Novotel New York City
Novotel Times Square
New York City Novotel
Novotel Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing